1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Sensors

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Bluedevils4life, Jun 1, 2020.

  1. Jun 19, 2020 at 8:12 PM
    #31
    Xr0ckstar

    Xr0ckstar New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2020
    Member:
    #46587
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 quicksand
    Can you link the sensors you were using ? That is great news !
     
  2. Jun 20, 2020 at 7:18 AM
    #32
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    The correct sensors for the 2020 with push start/smart key are 42607-06030. I just installed a set into my old 18” TRD off-road wheels. I programmed them in with Techstream, because I tried the reset button on the dash and it didn’t work for me. However, after reading another thread post and reviewing the owners manual again I think I discovered my error. Apparently the reset button serves two purposes depending on how you push it. I’m not certain, but when I tried it I’m pretty sure I was “initializing” it and not “ registering ID’s. I might have to swap my stock wheels back on and try it again to see if the id’s on the 20 can be swapped without Techstream. If that’s the case, I bought a Techstream cable for nothing.

     
  3. Jun 20, 2020 at 7:34 AM
    #33
    AzureNightmare

    AzureNightmare ASCM#1 Douchebag formerly known as 50 Buck

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35514
    Messages:
    10,137
    First Name:
    Adam
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cavalry Blue SR5 Crewmax
    I could be wrong, but as I understand it the button in the cab is only for calibrating the sensors. It is used when you are doing something that requires a change in tire pressure, like new tires(not new sensors) or airing down for terrain. It doesn't sync anything new up to the truck. That has to be done at a tire shop or dealership and the sensor numbers have to be programmed into the TPMS of the truck. Only after they have been registered with it can you use the button to get it to read new pressures.
     
    ElNopal likes this.
  4. Jun 20, 2020 at 7:44 AM
    #34
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    That's what I thought too, but then I re -read the manual and found the info posted above. I'm going to test it out later. According to the 2020 manual- Push and hold the button until the light blinks 3 times is for re-syncing. Press and release the button 3 times until the light blinks slowly 3 times is for registering new ID's. This may only be on the 2020's, Idk, but this is how it was done on my 19 Camry that used the same 06030 sensors
     
  5. Jun 20, 2020 at 7:46 AM
    #35
    AzureNightmare

    AzureNightmare ASCM#1 Douchebag formerly known as 50 Buck

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35514
    Messages:
    10,137
    First Name:
    Adam
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cavalry Blue SR5 Crewmax
    I'll go grab my manual from my 2019 and see what it says.
     
  6. Jun 20, 2020 at 7:56 AM
    #36
    AzureNightmare

    AzureNightmare ASCM#1 Douchebag formerly known as 50 Buck

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35514
    Messages:
    10,137
    First Name:
    Adam
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cavalry Blue SR5 Crewmax
    Well, my 2019 has the same info in it's manual, so I may have been lied to by the dealership. I'm shocked. :rofl:

    More than likely, the tech I talked to didn't know a burro from a burrow.
     
  7. Jun 20, 2020 at 8:01 AM
    #37
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I just checked the other manuals online and it appears this feature was added in on the 2018+ models
     
    AzureNightmare likes this.
  8. Jun 20, 2020 at 9:47 AM
    #38
    danz75

    danz75 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Member:
    #15788
    Messages:
    248
    Gender:
    Male
    Everett, WA
    Vehicle:
    18' Cement SR5
    OEM LED headlights/foglights, Go Rhino RB10 running boards, Extang Solid fold 2.0
    I've done it on my 2018 when i switched from steelies to alloys(different TPMS). It took longer than the 10-30 mins stated in step 2 because i could not keep at 40mph the entire time.
     
  9. Jun 20, 2020 at 11:23 PM
    #39
    Pepperonipizzzza

    Pepperonipizzzza New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Member:
    #46073
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    I ended up buying 42607-0C091 sensors and hopefully these work, putting them on next week. I have 42607-06030 on right now and have the light still on, I don’t have the push start so that’s probably why these aren’t working.
     
    ElNopal likes this.
  10. Jun 23, 2020 at 6:49 PM
    #40
    Drifthopper

    Drifthopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Member:
    #47055
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '20 Limited Double Cab Silver Sky
    337.... Can the truck be programmed to read a total of 8 sensors...?
    I got a 2020 Limited with push button start and want to get a set of winter tires and rims, but do not want the hassle of swapping the trucks original sensors from rim to rim every fall and spring.
    It would be great if i could get those sensors you listed above in another set of rims and not have the light on for winter tires.
     
  11. Jun 23, 2020 at 7:03 PM
    #41
    ZPhilip

    ZPhilip New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Member:
    #36383
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Philip
    West Chester, PA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Platinum Super White Crewmax
    I have a set of 4 TPMS from a 2020 TRD Pro for sale. Only had 2800 miles on them. If anyone is interested, PM me.
     
  12. Jun 23, 2020 at 7:05 PM
    #42
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I’ll have a better answer in a few days. I’m going to put my original tire/wheels back on the truck and try the push “reset button “ three times ID register method listed in the owners manual. It’s worked for others and it worked that way on my 19 Camry with the same sensors, I think I just did the wrong sequence last time without the Techstream and confused the truck. If they can be registered through the button on the dash, then you could simply remove the all seasons, mount up the snows with new sensors and hit the button and drive around a bit and the truck should pick up the new id’s
     
    Drifthopper likes this.
  13. Jun 23, 2020 at 7:06 PM
    #43
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC

    When you have a minute, could you snap a pic of these sensors to share. I just want to verify a code that should be on there
     
  14. Jun 23, 2020 at 8:42 PM
    #44
    bensky

    bensky PlatinumPro

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Member:
    #21634
    Messages:
    318
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2018 Red Platinum Tundra
    Okay okay! Everyone is making this WAY too complicated. I’ve done this twice on an ‘18 with no problems. Just use a brand of TPMS THAT CAN BE CLONED. I personally like Autel. The sensors work great and swapping wheels between winter and summer are so easy. No programming every time. As far as the truck computer is concerned, they’re the same sensors.
     
    Ellis_McPickle and TechWrench like this.
  15. Jun 24, 2020 at 5:09 AM
    #45
    Drifthopper

    Drifthopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Member:
    #47055
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '20 Limited Double Cab Silver Sky
    337..great..let me know.

    Bensky....i hope it is that easy...! I'd just would like to get a 2nd set of rims for snows and not have to do to the dealer for a re-program every 6 months when swapping from summer tires to winter tires.
     
  16. Jun 24, 2020 at 1:55 PM
    #46
    ZPhilip

    ZPhilip New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Member:
    #36383
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Philip
    West Chester, PA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Platinum Super White Crewmax
    CE5BAE02-838A-4F13-A8BA-A65744A98BFC.jpg 0D43484F-6C4B-4649-9BC5-A888E65C8D0A.jpg
     
  17. Jun 24, 2020 at 2:02 PM
    #47
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    Awesome, Thank you.. That indeed is the 42607-06030 sensor. A note worth mentioning, if anyone is purchasing these 42607-06030 on eBay, make sure that the sensors are labeled PMV-C015. I purchased a set and they must have been knock off's, the listing was for 42607-06030 and that is what was listed on the box, but I rec'd PMV-C010, which wouldn't have worked.
     
    Drifthopper likes this.
  18. Jul 2, 2020 at 8:24 PM
    #48
    rebmo

    rebmo 2020 Crewmax Limited 4wd Silver/Black

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Member:
    #827
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Rural SE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2020 CM LImited 5.7L V8 4WD
    I just recieved some ordered 42607-06030s from Ebay and the pictured parts had PMV-C015 on them but what came was labelled 42607-06030 on the box, but PMV-C010 on the TPMS Sensors? Are PMV-C010s not 42607-06030s? I'm returning based on wrong parts sent and was given a return lablel. Shame they didn't send the parts pictured clearly with PMV-C015 on them.
     
  19. Jul 3, 2020 at 4:24 AM
    #49
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    Correct, the C010’s are a 06020 and won’t work. I was in the same boat, I had to argue with the eBay seller before they would do a refund.
     
  20. Jul 3, 2020 at 4:37 AM
    #50
    rebmo

    rebmo 2020 Crewmax Limited 4wd Silver/Black

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Member:
    #827
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Rural SE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2020 CM LImited 5.7L V8 4WD
    Thank you, that’s some very important information. I’d hate to have installed, balanced, and tried to get the tpms system to recognize the sensors not knowing they would not work. Luckily the eBay seller accepted a return immediately in my case.

    Any decent price reliable source for the C015s?
     
  21. Jul 3, 2020 at 5:38 AM
    #51
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I myself would not have noticed the discrepancy if I hadn’t already ordered the 06030 sensors from Toyota last year for my Camry. TPMS.com has them listed as well as the tirerack.com but make sure you reference the smart key/push button model
     
  22. Jul 7, 2020 at 6:04 PM
    #52
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    34B940D4-E1FA-43BD-8A83-4F932A7FCCC9.jpg So I put these on the truck today with a new set of sensors. I registered the ID’s using the reset button instructions in the manual, and after driving for about 8 minutes the truck picked up the new sensor ID’s no Techstream needed
     
    a_double, Drifthopper and rebmo like this.
  23. Jul 16, 2020 at 7:09 PM
    #53
    Drifthopper

    Drifthopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Member:
    #47055
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '20 Limited Double Cab Silver Sky
    thomasbus337... can you post the link to where you bought your sensors..?
     
  24. Jul 16, 2020 at 7:22 PM
    #54
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I bought this set from a fellow forum member, but here’s the part listing 43C942B4-83CF-41C5-9DBB-4C38CA5186AE.jpg
     
    Drifthopper likes this.
  25. Aug 5, 2020 at 8:19 PM
    #55
    Mitral

    Mitral New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2020
    Member:
    #49703
    Messages:
    6
    French Avocado likes this.
  26. Oct 7, 2020 at 5:14 PM
    #56
    TICO

    TICO New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2020
    Member:
    #53280
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    BILL
    Vehicle:
    2020 TUNDRA
    CARVEN CAT BACK EXHAUST,K&N AIR CLEANER,DRIVERS SIDE HANDLE-PILAR,PUSH BAR
    My 2020 tundra had steel wheels,I bought a set of 2019 pro rims and wheels.Had toyota put new tpms in rims and they wouldnt read so I took my steels to them and had the stock tpms swapped to rims.Worked for 3 days and tpms system crashed,took back and lasted 108 miles,next time 54 miles,took it back today so they can talk with engineers why original tpms wont last beyond 100 miles.
     
  27. May 17, 2021 at 10:17 AM
    #57
    BenSan

    BenSan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2020
    Member:
    #52419
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD PRO
    I got 2020 trd pro. Looking for a set of tpms. I search for the numbers on Amazon with co15. The reviews is really bad, anyone got a links so I can order a set ? Thanks
     
  28. May 17, 2021 at 10:20 AM
    #58
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
  29. Sep 5, 2021 at 10:00 PM
    #59
    CorpsTundra

    CorpsTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2021
    Member:
    #65597
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2021 Tundra CrewMax SR5-TRD OR - Cement
    UPDATE-See link below for remedy:
    https://www.tundras.com/threads/tpms-sensors.68314/page-3#post-2396146

    Have you found out anymore info about the syncing issue? If you will, please read my issue below and offer any advice you see fit.

    I recently installed a set of 2021 BBS Forged Pro takeoffs on my 2021 SR5. I purchased the tires and rims together and the original tpms sensors are still in the tires.

    I tried several times and failed to get the truck to recognize the sensors on the new wheels using the button inside the cab.

    A few weeks ago I attempted to get an appointment to have the tpms sensors programmed at a dealership that isn’t local while I was in that area. I could not get an appointment, but he quoted me $77 to program them to the truck.

    When I was dropping the truck off at my local dealership for a free oil change Thursday, I asked them to program the tpms sensors to the truck. First I was told that it would be 1 hour of labor. He then asked the service manager and he said it would be 2-1/2 hours of labor, because they will need to break down the tires to be able to look at the numbers on the sensors themselves. I told them never mind as the cost and the process doesn’t seem right, especially given that a different dealership quoted me at $77.

    -Do they actually need to break down the tires to see the tpms numbers? I thought there was a scanning process that is done with the tires still aired up on the rims.

    -Is 2-1/2 hours of labor standard just to register the tpms sensors to a different vehicle? I can’t imagine that is right.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2021
  30. Sep 5, 2021 at 10:37 PM
    #60
    a_double

    a_double New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2019
    Member:
    #32625
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    How can I confirm 42607-0C101 is correct for the 2021 TRD Pro? The reason I ask is, these came up as a "fit" on the Lewis Toyota online parts store. But there are others listed that "fit."

    Why does this TPMS business have to be so esoteric? =\
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2021

Products Discussed in

To Top