1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Sensors

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Bluedevils4life, Jun 1, 2020.

  1. Jun 1, 2020 at 5:29 PM
    #1
    Bluedevils4life

    Bluedevils4life [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Member:
    #44809
    Messages:
    91
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    2020 Toyota Tundra
    RBP Running Boards, 20% Window Tint, TRD Exhaust
    So after I had my lift install the shop keeps having problems syncing the TPMS sensors with the truck. This is the second time now that the shop can not sync the TPMS sensors. The shop told me that Toyota's are really pain to sync in general. Any help is appreciated!
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
    Tundra209ers likes this.
  2. Jun 1, 2020 at 7:01 PM
    #2
    JcGc

    JcGc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Member:
    #45366
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 Crewmax 4x4
    4/2 Ready lift Kenda Klever 35 x 12.50 x 20 XF Off road wheels
    Are you using your stock Toyota Tpms? If you are and the shop can't sync them, find another shop.
     
  3. Jun 2, 2020 at 1:05 AM
    #3
    Bluedevils4life

    Bluedevils4life [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Member:
    #44809
    Messages:
    91
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    2020 Toyota Tundra
    RBP Running Boards, 20% Window Tint, TRD Exhaust
    No they are using aftermarket ones. I do not know the brand. I was thinking about putting the Toyota ones back on the truck....
     
  4. Jun 2, 2020 at 3:15 AM
    #4
    StoneyWV

    StoneyWV New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Member:
    #46595
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Calvin
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra TRD Sport
    Rough Country Level,
    I purchased aftermarket ones when I got my wheels and they ended up just putting the factory in the wheels because they couldn't even find them on the machine to sync them:confused:. What is up with tire shops now days. I would pay twice what they ask for in balancing cost to get a reliable one in my area that can actually make a tire and wheel drive properly. I have to travel over an hour today to an off road shop to have my truck rebalanced again.
     
    AzureNightmare likes this.
  5. Jun 2, 2020 at 5:24 AM
    #5
    Bluedevils4life

    Bluedevils4life [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Member:
    #44809
    Messages:
    91
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    2020 Toyota Tundra
    RBP Running Boards, 20% Window Tint, TRD Exhaust
    Thanks for the info! Luckily for me I still have my stock wheels and tires, so I will call the shop and ask them to use the stock sensors! I hope this takes care of the problem!
     
  6. Jun 2, 2020 at 5:55 AM
    #6
    No Limit

    No Limit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Member:
    #33356
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra TRD PRO 4” Readylift
    I used the OEM sensors in my aftermarket wheels...I purchased 4 new OEM TPMS from Toyota Parts that listed as correct for my 2020 Truck, I was keeping the original tires wheels as is so I didn't want to take out the stock TPMS. I put them in my new Fuel wheels and they would not work. Ended up having to put in the ones that came with my truck to get them to work. Toyota changes which TPMS it uses, so even though the parts guy saw that the part number for the TPMS said it will work with a 2020 it in fact did not.
    Safest to install the ones that came with the truck or at least look at the part number from them to get another set with the same part number.
     
    Bluedevils4life [OP] likes this.
  7. Jun 2, 2020 at 9:07 AM
    #7
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC

    Do you remember the part # for the sensors you ordered that didn't work? I'm looking to put new sensors in a set of 18" wheels and don't want to end up in the same boat
     
  8. Jun 2, 2020 at 9:48 AM
    #8
    No Limit

    No Limit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Member:
    #33356
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra TRD PRO 4” Readylift
    No I don’t remember what the part number was. But that part number came up for a 2020 as well so that was the confusion. My dealer tried to get the right part number from Toyota but we just gave up and took the stock ones out and put them in.
     
  9. Jun 2, 2020 at 9:59 AM
    #9
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I found another post from back in December ......

    Per the Toyota Parts Department at my local dealership, at the time of this writing (12/2019), it appears there is an error, or incomplete information, listed in the Toyota parts catalog when referencing the proper TPMS sensors for 2020 Tundra TRD Pro CrewMax with keyless entry and push-button start.

    After building a set of wheels (with winter tires) and new OEM Toyota TPMS sensors (Toyota part # 42607-0C091), the sensors would not register with the 2020 Tundra TRD Pro ECU as per the instructions described in the owners manual. As a result the TPMS light on the dash would not extinguish and the psi of each tire would not be displayed.

    Problem solved:
    Dealership installed new TPMS sensors (Toyota part # 42607-06030) and these sensors registered properly, with psi of each tire properly displayed in the instrument cluster.


    I'm going to give these a try because after Google searching this new part number I noticed they look identical to the tech info on TIS

    upload_2020-6-2_12-58-11.jpg

    and the number also shows up on TPMS.com as a listing for 2020 Tundra.
     
    rebmo likes this.
  10. Jun 2, 2020 at 10:17 AM
    #10
    Kanobi13

    Kanobi13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Member:
    #13944
    Messages:
    911
    Gender:
    Male
    Have you tried to re sync with the button inside the truck ?
     
  11. Jun 2, 2020 at 12:20 PM
    #11
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I know I’m going to try this method first when it comes time. It worked on my 19 Camry XSE and these are the same sensors, so we shall see
     
  12. Jun 2, 2020 at 4:50 PM
    #12
    Bluedevils4life

    Bluedevils4life [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Member:
    #44809
    Messages:
    91
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    2020 Toyota Tundra
    RBP Running Boards, 20% Window Tint, TRD Exhaust
    So I dropped by discount tire and see if the y could sync the sensors. They did not have any luck, but did say that they have trouble with Tundras from 2018 and up. The salesmen told me to bring the OEM wheels back tmrw and they would install the factory sensors at no cost. :) Hopefully this works to eliminate the error code!
     
  13. Jun 6, 2020 at 3:25 PM
    #13
    Bluedevils4life

    Bluedevils4life [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Member:
    #44809
    Messages:
    91
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    2020 Toyota Tundra
    RBP Running Boards, 20% Window Tint, TRD Exhaust
    Well long story short but putting back on the stock sensors from Toyota finally worked! I did have to take it to Toyota and they told me to put 50 miles on the truck and it should display in your truck. It displayed on the way home! Thanks for all the tips guys!
     
  14. Jun 7, 2020 at 5:55 PM
    #14
    JcGc

    JcGc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Member:
    #45366
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 Crewmax 4x4
    4/2 Ready lift Kenda Klever 35 x 12.50 x 20 XF Off road wheels
    Good deal, I had to do the same thing. Glad you got it fixed.
     
  15. Jun 7, 2020 at 7:04 PM
    #15
    rebmo

    rebmo 2020 Crewmax Limited 4wd Silver/Black

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Member:
    #827
    Messages:
    375
    Gender:
    Male
    Rural SE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2020 CM LImited 5.7L V8 4WD
    Unfortunately that's a workaround but not a fix. You should be able to have a correct second set of TPMS sensors that you can register with the 2018-2020 Tundra. The correct sensor and method to register is still not solved here.
     
    TechWrench likes this.
  16. Jun 7, 2020 at 7:09 PM
    #16
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I’m still waiting on my BeadBuster tool to arrive to test my theory, but I’m thinking that the 06030 sensor listed above is going to be our answer. It shows up as a part number for the 20 Sequoia and is listed on TPMS.com as a listing for the 20 Tundra as well
     
  17. Jun 9, 2020 at 6:24 AM
    #17
    Bakershack

    Bakershack Critical of Noncritical Thinkers

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Member:
    #46846
    Messages:
    1,884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kelly
    Spanish Fort, AL
    Vehicle:
    2020 SSM 1794 4x4
    I'm planning to get some black wheels for my 2020 1794 (20"). Will the TPMS sensors in my stock wheels fit pretty much any wheel? If not, how do I filter out the ones that they will not fit? I'd like to avoid this TPMS synching issue if possible.
     
  18. Jun 9, 2020 at 8:44 AM
    #18
    TechWrench

    TechWrench New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2020
    Member:
    #43134
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Hawley, PA
    Vehicle:
    '08 Tundra White, DC SR5 5.7, TRD Off Road Pkg
    Toyota Bedliner, Under Cover Bed cover, Oem back-up camera system.
    I can't say if they will fit the new wheels, but if they do, and you have them installed on the new wheels, try to make sure you ID which sensors were in which position on the vehicle. If you move a sensor to a new position on the vehicle, you will need to do the relearn procedure for the TPMS system to recognize them properly.
     
  19. Jun 10, 2020 at 1:27 PM
    #19
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    So I swapped the new sensors yesterday and tried recalibrating with the small reset button. That process didn't work. Now I need to wait for my friend with techstream
     
  20. Jun 11, 2020 at 12:33 PM
    #20
    Tundra209ers

    Tundra209ers New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Member:
    #47830
    Messages:
    1
    Did toyota had to resync your oem sensors or they just told you to drive it for 50 miles?
     
  21. Jun 11, 2020 at 4:40 PM
    #21
    Bluedevils4life

    Bluedevils4life [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Member:
    #44809
    Messages:
    91
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    2020 Toyota Tundra
    RBP Running Boards, 20% Window Tint, TRD Exhaust
    Toyota told me to drive it 50 miles and that they could see all the air pressure on their computers. They told me if it does not display in 50 miles to bring the trackback to the dealership. When I was on the way home the error displayed on the instrument cluster went away. I check the pressure and they were displayed on the cluster.
     
  22. Jun 15, 2020 at 12:02 PM
    #22
    Pepperonipizzzza

    Pepperonipizzzza New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Member:
    #46073
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
  23. Jun 15, 2020 at 12:39 PM
    #23
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    Do you remember the part numbers of the sensors that you removed from the steel wheels? I'm guessing that you don't have the push to start/smart key entry. I think the group with the issues with TPMS sensors are the ones with the push start. I noticed that even TireRack.com lists a different sensor for the 20 Push start models
     
    Drifthopper and Pepperonipizzzza like this.
  24. Jun 15, 2020 at 1:02 PM
    #24
    Pepperonipizzzza

    Pepperonipizzzza New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Member:
    #46073
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Interesting... no I’m regular old key start. Maybe I should try just the regular tpms on 2019’s alloys. No I don’t have the part number for the old ones
     
  25. Jun 17, 2020 at 9:35 PM
    #25
    Xr0ckstar

    Xr0ckstar New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2020
    Member:
    #46587
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 quicksand
    From the research ive done only toyota dealers can sync them... i havent got wheels for this truck yet so i dont know lol
     
  26. Jun 17, 2020 at 9:57 PM
    #26
    Pepperonipizzzza

    Pepperonipizzzza New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Member:
    #46073
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    I really hope not
     
  27. Jun 18, 2020 at 8:28 AM
    #27
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    My buddy and I went in half's on a Mongoose Toyota cable, should be here soon. We'll see if we can successfully program the sensors to my 2020 with techstream.The older mini vci cable was giving us ECU errors on my 20 Tundra and 19 Camry
     
    Xr0ckstar likes this.
  28. Jun 19, 2020 at 5:16 PM
    #28
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    So with the correct Mongoose Toyota adapter And Techstream we were successful in programming the 06030 sensors into the 2020 Tundra with push start/smart key. After the new codes were registered the dash display showed the — lines for each wheel, took it for a spin around the block and after about 5 minutes the sensors were picked up and displaying the correct air pressures
     
    Drifthopper and Xr0ckstar like this.
  29. Jun 19, 2020 at 5:45 PM
    #29
    CamaroSsToTundra

    CamaroSsToTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Member:
    #14516
    Messages:
    331
    Gender:
    Male
    Ohio
    Forgot about that it’s not gonna fixed I tried everything and now I am used to yellow light:rofl:
     
  30. Jun 19, 2020 at 5:46 PM
    #30
    CamaroSsToTundra

    CamaroSsToTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Member:
    #14516
    Messages:
    331
    Gender:
    Male
    Ohio
    I have the same issue since I lifted my truck. You can fix it temporarily by resetting it from discount tire for free.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top