1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Torque Pro on Android Auto

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by TRDFerguson, Nov 13, 2019.

  1. Nov 13, 2019 at 10:47 AM
    #1
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson [OP] Proud 2.5nd Gen Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    2,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM TRD Off Road
    TRD Pro suspension, Falken AT3w's, wireless CarPlay, sub/amp, front camera, remote start w/ phone app, DIY pop-n-lock, footwell lighting, USB chargers, center console wireless charger, debadged, stickers and stuff
    Here's some info on how to get Torque Pro working on Android Auto (AA) head units. I had been messing with this for a few weeks with flaky results, but one of the application devs finally figured out a workaround for newer versions of AA and things tested good today.

    Things you'll need
    The setup is pretty straightforward now. I'm just going to brush past the OBD2 and Torque Pro setup, as that will be dependent on whichever adapter you pick up.

    For the OBD2 for Android Auto plugin, the developer's directions worked for me. It's a little janky to install, as you have to download a third-party app store (here) and then purchase, download and install the plugin after that... sorta. Here's the steps from the plugin dev's forum thread:
    Once that is all set, you can go into the plugin app and set up your display settings. I was able to launch the ODB2 for AA app from the head unit display and everything worked as expected.
     
  2. Nov 13, 2019 at 2:24 PM
    #2
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson [OP] Proud 2.5nd Gen Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    2,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM TRD Off Road
    TRD Pro suspension, Falken AT3w's, wireless CarPlay, sub/amp, front camera, remote start w/ phone app, DIY pop-n-lock, footwell lighting, USB chargers, center console wireless charger, debadged, stickers and stuff
    Pic of the display in action:
    IMG_20191113_150638.jpg

    I'm still messing around with this to see what sensors are relevant and/or accurate. Horsepower is trash and transmission temp isn't read by the adapter, so I'll be replacing those two at least.
     
    TX210Tundra likes this.
  3. Nov 13, 2019 at 2:32 PM
    #3
    YotaMan

    YotaMan 5.7 MPG

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Member:
    #28872
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    Brighton Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2018 Limited (Cement)
    Interesting...my alpine halo9 does this without the OBD2 adapter.

    However, I do have the carista adapter. I bought it to change vehicle settings through the carista app but cannot get my 18 Limited to connect to view/change settings.

    For 1, the app only goes up to 17 year model tundras and it does connect in regards to view any codes that may show up. It does read, however I cannot access the menu to change vehicle settings (door locks, chimes, etc...)

    I see you have an 18, have you tried the carista app with any luck?

    Edit: Actually my headunit will get the vehicle information but not accessible through android auto, so I will be doing what you suggested
     
  4. Nov 13, 2019 at 2:42 PM
    #4
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson [OP] Proud 2.5nd Gen Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    2,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM TRD Off Road
    TRD Pro suspension, Falken AT3w's, wireless CarPlay, sub/amp, front camera, remote start w/ phone app, DIY pop-n-lock, footwell lighting, USB chargers, center console wireless charger, debadged, stickers and stuff
    I do have an 18, and I was able to change settings with no issue, though the process was pretty slow and I did that a couple months ago when I was still using an iPhone... not sure if that would have made any difference.

    Maybe the Halo9 uses the stock ECU/"OBD2" connection from the stock head unit to poll the data and doesn't let the Carista adapter do its thing? :notsure:
     
  5. Nov 14, 2019 at 12:38 PM
    #5
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson [OP] Proud 2.5nd Gen Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    2,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM TRD Off Road
    TRD Pro suspension, Falken AT3w's, wireless CarPlay, sub/amp, front camera, remote start w/ phone app, DIY pop-n-lock, footwell lighting, USB chargers, center console wireless charger, debadged, stickers and stuff
  6. Oct 15, 2020 at 6:01 AM
    #6
    purplenova

    purplenova Not a new member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Member:
    #21513
    Messages:
    696
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra Crewmax SR5
    Pillar Tape, Bullet Liner, 20% Tint, Tyger Star Armor Kenwood amp & AudioControl LC7i Tech12volts JL Tweeters
  7. May 27, 2021 at 12:45 PM
    #7
    onesojourner

    onesojourner Here, let me derail that for you

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2020
    Member:
    #52951
    Messages:
    1,200
    SW MO
    Vehicle:
    06 DBLcab LTD 4x4
    Does any one know what options there are for displaying some torque pro settings while using other apps?
    Can anything be displaying in the notification bar?
     
To Top