1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

1st Gen Tire Pressure Sensors

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by wingnutted, Feb 10, 2020.

  1. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:36 AM
    #1
    wingnutted

    wingnutted [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Member:
    #28010
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    2006 Black Tundra TRD Double Cab
    I’m replacing rims / tires on my 2006 DC, and have a fundamental question that I have been unsuccessful in finding a conclusive answer to….


    Specific for 1st gens, is there a consistent issue with the trucks and failure of the tire pressure monitoring system?


    I’m going to be using 17” rims from a TRD Off-Road 4Runner, which do not currently have the tire pressure monitoring components. Should I have the tire shop add them when they are mounting the new tires onto the rims? Or am I just wasting my money?


    As much as I dislike seeing the low tire pressure light on my dash, I keep an eye on the tire pressures frequently enough that I’m not reliant on the system itself.
     
  2. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:41 AM
    #2
    Sunnier

    Sunnier “DO it!”

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Member:
    #9171
    Messages:
    9,437
    First Name:
    Sunny
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno Tundra DC TRD & Longtravel 1st Gen, Banner/ HulkSmash build
    Until I read your post, I didn’t know first gens had pressure sensor monitors. :notsure:

    I’ve never seen a dash indicator for it on my 2002 Limited, nor read anything on here....
     
  3. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:45 AM
    #3
    SoCalPaul

    SoCalPaul New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Member:
    #29401
    Messages:
    956
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    San Fernando Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Access Cab Limited 4wd.
    Front Bilstein 6112 shocks & Bilstein springs. Rear Bilstein 5160 remote Reservoir shocks, Wheeler’s Off-road add-a-leafs. LED lighting. Pioneer Avic 7200NEX Nav Head unit. Borla cat back exhaust.
    I ordered Denso replacements. Don't forget your spare, it probably has one too.
     
  4. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:46 AM
    #4
    SoCalPaul

    SoCalPaul New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Member:
    #29401
    Messages:
    956
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    San Fernando Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Access Cab Limited 4wd.
    Front Bilstein 6112 shocks & Bilstein springs. Rear Bilstein 5160 remote Reservoir shocks, Wheeler’s Off-road add-a-leafs. LED lighting. Pioneer Avic 7200NEX Nav Head unit. Borla cat back exhaust.
    Former owner may have pulled the bulb. Both my 2001 Limited & my current 2006 Limited have TPMS
     
    Sunnier likes this.
  5. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:48 AM
    #5
    Sunnier

    Sunnier “DO it!”

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Member:
    #9171
    Messages:
    9,437
    First Name:
    Sunny
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno Tundra DC TRD & Longtravel 1st Gen, Banner/ HulkSmash build
    Cool.
     
  6. Feb 10, 2020 at 11:25 AM
    #6
    BubbaW

    BubbaW Saw it right off

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Member:
    #34845
    Messages:
    1,705
    First Name:
    Bubba
    Vehicle:
    04 DC LTD 4X4 4.7 V8 DOHC
    T150 Fan
    Fortunately, my 2004 DC Limited does not have TPMS. Having only been here about 6 months, I've only seen threads about disabling, pros and con comments of even having TPMS but not about failure.

    1st Gen Forum search for TPMS threads
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2020
  7. Feb 10, 2020 at 11:35 AM
    #7
    wingnutted

    wingnutted [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Member:
    #28010
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    2006 Black Tundra TRD Double Cab
    @Sunnier That's interesting, but in a good way...the guy I bought the truck from indicated it was a consistent and known issue, and three of my friends who've had 1st gens have also had the same problem.

    Not exactly a statistically significant sample size, so that's awesome to hear that it doesn't seem to be a broader issue.
     
  8. Feb 10, 2020 at 11:51 AM
    #8
    Sunnier

    Sunnier “DO it!”

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Member:
    #9171
    Messages:
    9,437
    First Name:
    Sunny
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno Tundra DC TRD & Longtravel 1st Gen, Banner/ HulkSmash build
    It may be. I’m the third owner and never realized I have it and it’s not working. I keep an eye on my tire pressure because I use this 1st gen for off-roading, so I let out air pressure every time I go play on dirt then air up after. I have 33” mud tires on now, so it’s probably just as well that I don’t have an indicator telling me my tires aren’t normal. Until this morning I didn’t know what I was missing. It may be there’s not much chatter about this because, 20 years ago, none of us relied as much on dash gauges for stuff like this...?
     
  9. Feb 10, 2020 at 12:55 PM
    #9
    speedtre

    speedtre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Member:
    #24808
    Messages:
    1,644
    Dirty South
    Vehicle:
    2006 BSM Toyota Tundra DC TRD 4x4
    Rumor has it that if you remove the TPMS sensors and clear the code in the system (not sure if you can do it with something like Torque Pro connected to OBDII or need Techstream...maybe @empty_lord knows?) that if it does not see any TPMS sensors at all the light will stay out. The typical problem is that one of the 5 TPMS batteries goes dead and then the system is useless until you replace all 5. I was going to replace my 5 (Almost $200 on Amazon using Densos) when I replaced my wheels and tires, but I'm installing an Android 9.0 based H/U that has an available TPMS monitoring system that will let me see details like actual PSI per tire, and it only costs $80, so I'm going to try that.

    One thing to keep in mind...if you are running e-rated tires then the stock TPMS system does not really tell you when you are under-inflated since what is considered correct inflation on stock p-rated tires doesn't apply to LT e-rated tires.
     
    Volt92 likes this.
  10. Feb 10, 2020 at 12:59 PM
    #10
    empty_lord

    empty_lord They see me rollin'

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Member:
    #25441
    Messages:
    7,342
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Indiana, Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    05 rollover special
    custom body work, Billies with taco ARB springs, Icon AAL, TRD FJ trail team wheels, 2019 Toyota 86 radio, Blacked out interior, Added factory power everything, heater mirrors, ETC
    Tpms can be adjusted to change pressure to turn on.
    If you clear the codes the light will stay off for a little bit
     
    speedtre likes this.
  11. Feb 10, 2020 at 1:01 PM
    #11
    speedtre

    speedtre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Member:
    #24808
    Messages:
    1,644
    Dirty South
    Vehicle:
    2006 BSM Toyota Tundra DC TRD 4x4
    Ah, that's good to know for those with stock TPMS and e-rated tires...thanks!
     
  12. Feb 14, 2020 at 2:36 PM
    #12
    BDinTC

    BDinTC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Member:
    #42049
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 double
    Leveled
    I just bought a 2006 double cab, seller pointed out the black tape he covered the light with. He got advice from a Toyota dealer to ignore the light and I have received the same advice. I plan to go behind the dash to change some burned out bulbs and may try to disconnect the pressure light then. But i don’t mind the tape for now.
     
  13. Feb 15, 2020 at 10:04 AM
    #13
    noahrexion

    noahrexion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Member:
    #42020
    Messages:
    64
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tundra 4WD DC
    I pulled the bulb on my 05' when I got it. I check pressures regularly as I have on all my rigs.

    If you are going to a bigger chain tire shop they will most likely force new sensors on you since your rig came with them originally or neglect to install them. THey're mandated by policy to do this. Smaller shops don't seem to care and follow common sense. My work around this was to drop wheels off and have my tires mounted and balanced.
     
  14. Feb 15, 2020 at 10:14 AM
    #14
    SouthWestGA

    SouthWestGA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Member:
    #20074
    Messages:
    1,027
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra CrewMAX and 2008 Sequoia
  15. Feb 29, 2020 at 11:08 PM
    #15
    Volt92

    Volt92 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Member:
    #38574
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2005 Silver Tundra TrD
    Spot on. Common issue, but nothing difficult. It’s usually from tpms sensors dying and needing replacement. I bypassed mine like a lot do then had a tire shop put in new tires without them. If you want it working properly then replace them(all tire shops can tell you which ones are dead if thats why your lights on) and you’re good to go. To answer your question/statement The light will go on without tpms sensors and most tire shops will not install tires without the sensors in.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top