1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What Head Unit should I get?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by lawcdav1, Jun 30, 2018.

  1. Jun 30, 2018 at 7:58 AM
    #1
    lawcdav1

    lawcdav1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Member:
    #15774
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    Tundra 4x4
    Hello,
    Just bought a new 2018 Tundra CM. I'm thinking I may need to get a new head unit. My current set up is as follows:
    JL Audio Fix 86
    Infinity Reference amp 4555A
    Infinity 6.5 mids and tweeters all around
    2 Rockford Fosgate 10's in the rear.

    I still have a weird buzzing sound from time to time and I really need to fix the issue. Hopefully I'll get some spare time today and take back to the installer.
     
  2. Jun 30, 2018 at 8:12 AM
    #2
    Tundra Fan

    Tundra Fan Paper Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Member:
    #4489
    Messages:
    1,723
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Toby
    Nor Cal (Placer Co.)
    Vehicle:
    2013 Platinum, Silver Sky Metallic
    I'm looking at the Kenwood Excelon DDX9904S. There are a few members on here who already have it.
     
  3. Jun 30, 2018 at 8:46 AM
    #3
    831Tun

    831Tun IMA BasTRD

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3549
    Messages:
    6,597
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Warren
    Santa Cruz
    Vehicle:
    '16 CM limited
    ADS C/O w/clickers, ADS bypass rear, Icon UCAs, Toytech shackles, chrome delete, Pro grille, TRD dual exhaust dumped, de-badged, black LED tail lights. BHLM w/projectors, 295 70 18 Cooper STT pro on stock rims w/1.25" Spider Tracks. N_Fab bumper w/Baja Design fogs and ditch lights, 13" antenna x, RCI skid, All Pro sliders, ARB compressor
  4. Jun 30, 2018 at 8:59 AM
    #4
    Juanjoolio007

    Juanjoolio007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Member:
    #6618
    Messages:
    535
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 MGM DC TRD
    6" Lift, 35" ProComp tires, 18" Fuel Wheels, GTR Lighting Led's-Headlights,Fog, Switchback blinkers, Reverse lights, Dome lights, Stereo- Focal door speakers w crossovers & tweeters, Jl Audio 900.5 amp, 12" subs, wires, and Factory integration unit, Tons of Dynomat
    x2. I almost pulled the trigger on this head unit last month...but my tires needed to get replaced first.

    There have been people that have had success getting rid of the static. It requires some time tuning and best I can tell the addition of the TWK. I have gotten rid of the majority of mine at low volume but its basically a band aide on the problem and a bit annoying for the situation but if you add the DRC knob to the fix you can control the output percentage of the fix to the amp....Its basically a second volume knob. JL would like you to calibrate the fix at the 75% mark then leave your stock head unit volume knob alone and use the Fix DRC knob to control stereo volume. One day I will replace my stock head unit but thats for other reasons then the static.

    There are a couple great threads in the stereo section.
     
    lawcdav1 [OP] likes this.
  5. Jun 30, 2018 at 9:04 AM
    #5
    Juanjoolio007

    Juanjoolio007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Member:
    #6618
    Messages:
    535
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 MGM DC TRD
    6" Lift, 35" ProComp tires, 18" Fuel Wheels, GTR Lighting Led's-Headlights,Fog, Switchback blinkers, Reverse lights, Dome lights, Stereo- Focal door speakers w crossovers & tweeters, Jl Audio 900.5 amp, 12" subs, wires, and Factory integration unit, Tons of Dynomat
    Also if you want a quick check to see what the DRC knob will do for you try this:
    Go to JL website and download the TUN software(need windows based pc)
    Grab a USB type B to USB type A cable...usually the same cable used to hook up your printer to a computer
    follow instructions on JL website to hook up to the Fix. once thats done and your in on the right side is two volume sliders....take those down to about 50-60%. your static should be gone.
    The issue will be once you close the Tun program or disconnect your laptop the Fix automatically goes back to 100%. The DRC knob will force it to hold to whatever position you leave the knob in.
     
  6. Jun 30, 2018 at 9:15 AM
    #6
    lawcdav1

    lawcdav1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Member:
    #15774
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    Tundra 4x4
    Thank you for the advice!
     
  7. Jun 30, 2018 at 9:17 AM
    #7
    lawcdav1

    lawcdav1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Member:
    #15774
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    Tundra 4x4
    Will do! I'll check out the website today and download. I was hoping the installer would be able to help but I'm getting frustrated at this point. I was thinking the head unit was the cause.
     
  8. Jun 30, 2018 at 9:57 AM
    #8
    B737

    B737 Throbbing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Member:
    #976
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Jersey Shore
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab Limited
    DDX9904S owner here. first "non-nav" headunit for me as ive always bought navi.

    - there is no whine, hiss, static or other noises, at any volume, it is perfectly clear. First of many reasons to change out stock HU

    - I'm not sure I would buy the unit today, only because I think there is a Pioneer model with wireless apple carplay, this feature is being rolled out now. (wireless androidauto is easier to find i think)

    - it's a great headunit, with waze (hopefully) coming to iOS 12 will put waze / google maps right on the display. I actually like the option to either plug in your phone to use carplay or just use bluetooth. When using applecar play the HU kind of takes over the phone, good for longer drives. Sometimes for regular around town stuff i prefer to just use bluetooth, or charge from a non-interactive USB. Overall the HU doesnt require much interaction for day to day stuff. When the phone is plugged into it, you have a full navi headunit with a very clean interface and high quality display.

    - Metra dash kit is meh.

    - there is a small warning on screen when backing up, its annoying. you have to tap the display to make it go away.

    there are some other guys here with 9904 who hopefully will chime in. overall im glad i swapped the headunit, you wont lose any factory settings or features, only gain new features and sound.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2018
  9. Jun 30, 2018 at 9:59 AM
    #9
    Juanjoolio007

    Juanjoolio007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Member:
    #6618
    Messages:
    535
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 MGM DC TRD
    6" Lift, 35" ProComp tires, 18" Fuel Wheels, GTR Lighting Led's-Headlights,Fog, Switchback blinkers, Reverse lights, Dome lights, Stereo- Focal door speakers w crossovers & tweeters, Jl Audio 900.5 amp, 12" subs, wires, and Factory integration unit, Tons of Dynomat
    It is the head unit causing the issue. The fix does a good job fixing the static but it doesn't get rid of it completely. If you add the TWK and the DRC-200 knob you should be good. My issue with this is unless you are completely in love with the stock head unit you are paying roughly $900 bucks on the FIX, TWK, DRC knob and whatever else you need to have an excellent sounding stereo...or you go aftermarket for like an extra couple hundred bucks and you get way more functionality out of your new head unit.
     
    B737 likes this.
  10. Jun 30, 2018 at 10:04 AM
    #10
    B737

    B737 Throbbing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Member:
    #976
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Jersey Shore
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab Limited
    misread your post. I understand now the static issue was regarding stock HU. OP ditch that thing.
     
    lawcdav1 [OP] and Juanjoolio007 like this.
  11. Jun 30, 2018 at 10:08 AM
    #11
    GNTundra

    GNTundra The Notorious Troll Sniper

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Member:
    #4536
    Messages:
    19,055
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gino
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2013 CrewMax SR5 Louisiana Edition
    Procomp Stage 2 6" 20x12 Fuel Mavericks 35x12.50x20 Nittos
    Change the ground on the stock HU! Ground it elsewhere. Its free and it just might fix the issue. :thumbsup:
     
    lawcdav1 [OP] and B737 like this.

Products Discussed in

To Top