1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Upgrading base radio question...

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by kwats1928, Jun 26, 2016.

  1. Jun 26, 2016 at 8:44 AM
    #1
    kwats1928

    kwats1928 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Member:
    #3698
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra SR5
    I have a 2010 SR5 with the base low bottom stereo system. I was curious if the wiring is in place where I could upgrade this to the stock JBL or maybe even the version with NAV etc?? I assume no, but thought it worth a shot.
     
  2. Jun 26, 2016 at 9:25 AM
    #2
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,106
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Most likely the wires and harnesses are there. 99% sure they are.
     
  3. Jun 26, 2016 at 11:26 AM
    #3
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Probably not..

    The jbl has a amp that is in the dash.. so wires go from head unit to amp to speakers.

    Yours goes head unit to speakers..

    I really doubt Toyota rewired it if they did you would get lucky.. if you did get lucky you have to have head unit,amp and amp bracket..

    IMO go aftermarket and be done..
     
  4. Jun 26, 2016 at 1:29 PM
    #4
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,106
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    All the wiring to hook up a factory navigation was in place in my truck... not sure on the amp hook up, because i didn't take apart my console. But the hook up for the factory sub was even there behind the rear seat plastic. It's just like trucks that don't come with the information buttons. The wiring and harnesses for them are already there. I could be wrong, but in my truck, a 2013, these things were in place. The only plugs I didn't find were in the doors for lights at the bottom of the door.

    But I agree, aftermarket is really the way to go. Toyota stereo signal quality, even in the jbl stuff, is pretty bad.
     
  5. Jun 26, 2016 at 1:32 PM
    #5
    kwats1928

    kwats1928 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Member:
    #3698
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra SR5

    Good to know, I will for sure go aftermarket. I noticed you mentioned the information system, which mine also does not have. If I got the buttons and the instrument cluster with the proper display I wonder if it would work????
     
  6. Jun 26, 2016 at 5:28 PM
    #6
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,106
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    There is always the off chance, it's not wired, but every truck I've seen where people added them, it was pre wired. There's one way to know for sure... just pop the panel out and check. If the wiring and harness is there, it will work.
     
To Top