1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ultra gauge Gear position programming

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014+)' started by TTund16, Oct 6, 2020.

  1. Oct 6, 2020 at 6:58 PM
    #1
    TTund16

    TTund16 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #5798
    Messages:
    795
    Gender:
    Male
    Has anyone with Ultra gauge been able to program and read the Gear position for 2014+ or later models?

    I think the Gear and Lock/Unlock indication come back in the same ODBII response packet.

    I am helping my friend to program his ultra gauge. I may then try it with my scan gauge. Thank you.
     
    ATHiker likes this.
  2. Oct 7, 2020 at 1:52 PM
    #2
    endagon

    endagon New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Member:
    #30978
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    16 Tundra SR5 5.7
    TRD velocity stack, dirtydeeds resonator on stock exhaust, E85
    subd, in case someone has figured it out and I get off the wallet to buy a UG MX or SGII. A gear indicator could be nice when towing + seeing the trans temps.

    For a cheap $59 Chynese widget my UG has lasted 11 summers and winters with nary a hitch
     
    TTund16 [OP] and HulkSmurf14 like this.
  3. Oct 16, 2020 at 5:23 PM
    #3
    TTund16

    TTund16 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #5798
    Messages:
    795
    Gender:
    Male
  4. Nov 23, 2020 at 1:29 PM
    #4
    TTund16

    TTund16 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #5798
    Messages:
    795
    Gender:
    Male
    One of the odbii Bluetooth gadgets can read the gear position so the code is available and working with ECU.
    Need to find the code and program the Ultra gauge or scan gauge.
     
  5. Nov 23, 2020 at 2:53 PM
    #5
    JohnLakeman

    JohnLakeman Burning Internet Daylight

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Member:
    #26430
    Messages:
    2,493
    Gender:
    Male
    Outside of Weird, TX
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DC TSS 4.6L
    TRD Pro grille, 2018 LED Headlights, Undercover Flex bed cover, Neoprene seat covers, Bed/tailgate mats, Power tailgate lock, auto headlights, illuminated key switch
    I own a Ultra-Gauge Blue Adapter that I used today to monitor transmission fluid temps with my iphone. For ATF temps, rpm, coolant temp, and other standard manufacturer gauges, it works fine.

    Ultra-Gauge advertises that whatever manufacturer gauges they haven't built-in as "Custom Gauges" (Settings gear icon) can be programmed in using ScanGuage's Toyota-specific X Guages parameter coding. That's bs...I haven't found a X Gauge code that works on Ultra-Gauge yet. Virtually all of ScanGuage's X Gauge parameter coding is for the 3.5L V6. ScanGauge has coding for TPMS that is supposed to work on a long list of Toyota, Lexus, and Scion products; neither I, nor other members, could ever get any of those codes (Method #1, Method #2) to work for Tundra on Ultra-Gauge.

    My opinion: Before you waste a lot of time, do yourself a favor and scrap the Ultra-Gauge/ScanGauge plan if you want ANYTHING beyond transmission fluid temperatures . If you want more than that basic capability, you'll be better off going with the Torque Pro or OBD Fusion apps. There are threads here by members that can tell you how to code for gear selected, converter lock/unlocked, engine oil temperature, etc. I have come to believe it's impossible to do that with Ultra-Gauge or ScanGauge. JMHO...an Ultra-Gauge Blue Adapter owner.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2020
    TTund16 [OP] likes this.
  6. Nov 24, 2020 at 1:06 AM
    #6
    TTund16

    TTund16 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #5798
    Messages:
    795
    Gender:
    Male
    @JohnLakeman
    I think you maybe right. It's hard to find the exact code and/or program the Ultra gauge for gear position and tire pressure/tempetature. I was helping a friend but after several tries gave up.

    I told my friend to call Ultra Gauge and see if they know the code. You would think if they want to compete with the rest of products on the market, they would try to help and publish the code.

    Btw, I can disconnect my scangauge and hide it somewhere since the cable on the back of the unit is a plug in.
    Ultra Gauge cable is hard wired to the back and my friend wants to cut the wire close to the unit and add a plug so he can quickly unplug and hide the unit. I don't think there will be any issues doing that. What is your opinion?
     
  7. Nov 24, 2020 at 5:44 AM
    #7
    JohnLakeman

    JohnLakeman Burning Internet Daylight

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Member:
    #26430
    Messages:
    2,493
    Gender:
    Male
    Outside of Weird, TX
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DC TSS 4.6L
    TRD Pro grille, 2018 LED Headlights, Undercover Flex bed cover, Neoprene seat covers, Bed/tailgate mats, Power tailgate lock, auto headlights, illuminated key switch
    I am unfamiliar with the corded instruments since my Ultra-Gauge Blue Adapter is Blue Tooth. He has to have at least the Ultra-Gauge MX V1.4 to read non-standard manufacturer-specific gauges (Toyota transmission temps). The earlier EM or the EMPlus will not read transmission temperatures.

    My opinion: I don't know your friend, but there are as many as eleven 22 gage stranded wires in that cord. I doubt that adding a cord plug connection on the back of the Ultra-Gauge corded instrument is feasible for an average person, even if he has located such a connector.
     
    TTund16 [OP] likes this.
  8. Nov 24, 2020 at 6:03 PM
    #8
    TTund16

    TTund16 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #5798
    Messages:
    795
    Gender:
    Male
    He must have the latest Ultra gauge or the one with M-gauge. I already programmed the trans pan & TC temps for him and it reads same as my Scan gauge. I test drove it in my car and compared them so He is happy with that.

    He then asked me to program the gear podition, TC lock/unlock and tire pressure/temp for him. He is a very good mechanic (relative to me lol) but not very handy with playing with electronics and programming ...
    I said no problem since I can use the Ultra gauge code and tweak it to program my scan gauge as well .... But so far no success!!
     
  9. Nov 24, 2020 at 6:21 PM
    #9
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    1,380
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM TRD Off Road
    TRD Pro suspension, Falken AT3w's, wireless CarPlay, sub/amp, front camera, remote start w/ phone app, DIY pop-n-lock, footwell lighting, USB chargers, center console wireless charger, debadged, stickers and stuff
    I second what @JohnLakeman said. I’ve tried a lot of hackaround BS with Torque Pro and some other devices before biting the bullet with OBD Fusion. Their $10 expansion pack is worth every penny. I bought a cheap Carista OBD2 adapter to go with it. For the adapter, app and expansion pack, I was all in at $50 and it works great. It’s the only way I could get current gear and TC lock to show correctly. Plus you can use the Carista app to customize other stuff, so that’s nice.
     
    JohnLakeman and TTund16 [OP] like this.
  10. Nov 24, 2020 at 6:30 PM
    #10
    TTund16

    TTund16 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #5798
    Messages:
    795
    Gender:
    Male
    I have the old torque pro (Bluetooth) and using it with my cell phone in another car and like it but I have a Scan Gauge in Tundra. My friend has the Ultra gauge.

    what I like about scan gauge or ultra gauge is that I don't have to deal with my cell phone and battery issues ... Just plug it in and leave it in the car permanently and don't have to mess with my cell phone.
     
  11. Nov 30, 2020 at 7:24 PM
    #11
    endagon

    endagon New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Member:
    #30978
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    16 Tundra SR5 5.7
    TRD velocity stack, dirtydeeds resonator on stock exhaust, E85
    I gotta wonder if the torque app just calculates it. Using rpm, mph, and a conversion table you can figure out what gear the truck is in (at least on stock rear gear ratio).

    The new subaru manual transmission cars do this. It shows the gear you're in on the dash. Not sure why it's needed but it's kinda neat.
     
    TTund16 [OP] likes this.
  12. Jan 12, 2021 at 7:13 PM
    #12
    TRD-tv

    TRD-tv Menace2Ohio

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Member:
    #18768
    Messages:
    881
    Gender:
    Male
    Cleveland OH
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM Tundra TRD
    The UG is jusf such a clean setupFCB2205F-D4F9-4069-8CBD-9ACB61895655.jpg
     

Products Discussed in

To Top