1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Trying to install 2 more horns along with original horn without blowing out fuse

Discussion in 'General Tundra Discussion' started by Jt32404, Mar 27, 2016.

  1. Mar 27, 2016 at 4:35 AM
    #1
    Jt32404

    Jt32404 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3015
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 toyota tundra crewmax
    I have just bought the wolo model 308-2t sound blaster horn, and i already have the wolo model 200 and along with the original horns to my tundra im trying to hooked up at same time, its loud now but also i blow the 10amp fuse after 1 push of the button, so how could i have my new loud horn system work all the time without blowing out the fuse? Can any help out with a remedy for what I'm trying to accomplish?
     
  2. Mar 27, 2016 at 4:47 AM
    #2
    Jt32404

    Jt32404 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3015
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 toyota tundra crewmax
    Im thinking i may need to install 2 10amp inline fuse holders to the other 2 horns, would that work?
     
  3. Mar 27, 2016 at 6:46 AM
    #3
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    17,264
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Sport CM 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Might want to do a relay and pull the power from the battery with a fuse rated for the wire size.
     
    AZ Pete likes this.
  4. Mar 27, 2016 at 7:58 AM
    #4
    Jt32404

    Jt32404 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3015
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 toyota tundra crewmax
    When i did the wolo model 200 in my geo tracker with its original horn i never had the issue of blowing a fuse but i guess since im trying to do pretty much 6 horns all together ill get some relays and inline fuses thanks guys ill see if that does it, if not ill just try to just get and hook up 1 set of horns that would be the same loudness
     
  5. Mar 27, 2016 at 11:58 AM
    #5
    mdavis

    mdavis I need a beer.

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Member:
    #966
    Messages:
    3,357
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Rock Hill, SC
    What the hell do you need 6 horns for?
     
    rons23 likes this.
  6. Mar 27, 2016 at 5:14 PM
    #6
    LOTSOFTOYS

    LOTSOFTOYS Toyota Whisperer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Member:
    #1396
    Messages:
    1,246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jace
    Mile high
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tundra DBL cab
    Curious as well^^^^
    But yes you are overloading the stock circuit of 10 amps. Which btw is alot.... your horns are pulling some serious current. Find out how much they draw and run a seperate circuit using a big fuse, bigger wire and a nice relay. Similar to an aftermarket offroad light circuit....
     

Products Discussed in

To Top