1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Transferring TPMS sensor to new wheel?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by idahowiseguy, Oct 9, 2018.

  1. Oct 9, 2018 at 4:24 PM
    #1
    idahowiseguy

    idahowiseguy [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Member:
    #11522
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kent
    Coeur d Alene, Idaho
    Still kind of new to the Tundra world so not sure how the TPMS system on our Tundras works; is the sensor part of the rim or part of the axle/wheel assembly? If the sensor is part of the rim, what is involved in putting a different wheel on the truck?

    Scanning the local CL postings one can pick up a nearly new set of TRD rims with Michelin OE tires for less than it would cost to replace the tires. So thinking maybe pick up a set of 4 as I have like the Michelin tires that came on my Tundra.

    Thanks in advance for any replies/advice. Not sure my profile lists my truck model year but it is a 2018.
     
  2. Oct 9, 2018 at 4:49 PM
    #2
    polymerhead

    polymerhead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17248
    Messages:
    332
    Gender:
    Male
    I actually have nothing but speculation here, but in the Tacoma the TPMS is part of the valve. It was generally transferable from one aluminum wheel to another, but not from steel to aluminum or v.v.

    Standing by for educated answers.
     
  3. Oct 9, 2018 at 5:07 PM
    #3
    ChrisTRDPro

    ChrisTRDPro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Member:
    #9672
    Messages:
    303
    Gender:
    Male
    MT
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TRD Pro CM
    Yes, it's attached to the valve stem. So if you want to transfer the TPMS from one wheel to the other, you need to break the bead by the valve stem, and pull them both through.
    [​IMG]
    If the new wheels have sensors in them, and you want the truck to recognize them so you don't have TPMS light on all the time, the truck will need to be re-programmed to look for the new sensor IDs.
    I have 2 sets of wheels for all my vehicles, mainly for summer/winter and I bought a set of re-programmable TPMS sensors and cloned the IDs from the original set to the new set, so I don't have reprogram the vehicle every time I switch wheels as the IDs are now the same between the wheels.
     
    JH5370, Lindenwood, driverdog and 3 others like this.
  4. Oct 9, 2018 at 5:16 PM
    #4
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I've got a total of three different sets of wheels/tires, each with their own sets of TPMS sensors. I also have cheap laptop setup with techstream software to reprogram the truck when I swap them around.
     
    driverdog, Pudge and TheBeast like this.
  5. Oct 9, 2018 at 6:23 PM
    #5
    Pudge

    Pudge Super Secret Elite Member #7

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Member:
    #5136
    Messages:
    9,481
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    CT
    Vehicle:
    2015 Blue Ribbon Platinum
    TRD PRO grille, OCD consol organizers, DIY wireless phone charger, 33" Michelin Defender LTX MS, Bak revolver X2 tonneau, weathertech liners, 20% tints. DIY pop n lock, 2018 LED headlights, morimoto fogs, TRD shift knob, DirtyDeeds 8"BAM exhaust, kenwood HU,JL amp, Tech12volts Tundra full speaker upgrade w/sub, Swing case, and lots of fluid film
    What did the techstream and cable run ya? Idk if I really need it but think it would be cool to have it
     
  6. Oct 12, 2018 at 5:26 PM
    #6
    idahowiseguy

    idahowiseguy [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Member:
    #11522
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kent
    Coeur d Alene, Idaho
    Thanks for the feedback. Have found a good set that seller says does have the sensors, any way to verify this just by visually looking at the wheel with tire already mounted?
     
  7. Oct 12, 2018 at 6:06 PM
    #7
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    The TPMS valve stems will look just like the pic in post #3
     
  8. Oct 12, 2018 at 6:07 PM
    #8
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    It was around $25 on Amazon.
     
    Lindenwood and Pudge like this.
  9. Nov 13, 2018 at 11:27 AM
    #9
    fj40dave

    fj40dave '16 Tundra CrewMax

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Member:
    #17415
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra stock
    Rear view camera on truck & trailer, back-up lights, Firestone air bags.
    I just ordered the cable and CD set-up to program my '16 Tundra....Amazon.

    I'm getting identical rims/tires (Michelin) next weekend and this will cure my TPMS issue I hope

    Yueku Mini VCI J2534 Toyota TIS Techstream Cable Car OBD2 Diangostic Cable (1.4.1)
     
  10. Nov 21, 2018 at 1:50 PM
    #10
    tundracrazy

    tundracrazy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Member:
    #21727
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    What brand re-programmable sensors are best? What hardware / software are you using to program? Thanks
     
  11. Nov 21, 2018 at 2:47 PM
    #11
    TOYOTRD8

    TOYOTRD8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Member:
    #10236
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2017 TUNDRA SR5 TRD OFF-ROAD
    TRD Pro Grilled, Color match bumper end caps, OEM LED headlights, MX4 Bed cover, GoRhino RB20,TRS LED Fog Lights, Camburg leveling kits, SR8 wheels, STT Pro tires 295/70/18 and heritage decal.
    @Roman he’s an expert when it comes to Toyota parts.
    @Roman. Do you by chance have parts numbers for tpms? I have a 2017 SR5 And planning to buy a set of tpms for my new wheels. SR8 from Stealth custom Series and I believed they’re alloys. Hopefully it’s on the Black Friday deals. Thanks in advance!
     
    Roman likes this.
  12. Nov 23, 2018 at 6:44 AM
    #12
    Roman

    Roman Toyota Parts Master Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #876
    Messages:
    2,843
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roman
    Franklin, TN
    Here are the sensors and fit kitsfor the 2017:

    https://parts.toyotaofcoolsprings.com/oem-parts/toyota-tire-pressure-sensor-426070c070
    https://parts.toyotaofcoolsprings.com/oem-parts/toyota-tpms-fit-kit-044230c170
     
  13. Nov 23, 2018 at 6:45 AM
    #13
    TOYOTRD8

    TOYOTRD8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Member:
    #10236
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2017 TUNDRA SR5 TRD OFF-ROAD
    TRD Pro Grilled, Color match bumper end caps, OEM LED headlights, MX4 Bed cover, GoRhino RB20,TRS LED Fog Lights, Camburg leveling kits, SR8 wheels, STT Pro tires 295/70/18 and heritage decal.
    Thanks Roman!
     
    Roman likes this.
  14. Nov 24, 2018 at 8:22 AM
    #14
    robbb38

    robbb38 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Member:
    #18142
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Vehicle:
    18 limited crewmax
  15. Nov 24, 2018 at 9:14 AM
    #15
    tundracrazy

    tundracrazy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Member:
    #21727
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    What sensors will work on a 2019?
     
  16. Nov 26, 2018 at 7:22 AM
    #16
    Roman

    Roman Toyota Parts Master Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #876
    Messages:
    2,843
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roman
    Franklin, TN
  17. Nov 26, 2018 at 7:56 AM
    #17
    tundracrazy

    tundracrazy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Member:
    #21727
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    Why is there a different part number from 18' (42607-OC1011) to 19' (42607-OC091)? Do different sensors work on multiple model year vehicles?
     
  18. Nov 26, 2018 at 7:59 AM
    #18
    Roman

    Roman Toyota Parts Master Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #876
    Messages:
    2,843
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roman
    Franklin, TN
    Both part numbers work for all 2018+ Tundras.
     
  19. Nov 26, 2018 at 8:51 AM
    #19
    tundracrazy

    tundracrazy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Member:
    #21727
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    Thanks. I assume the sensor comes with the fit kit? Everything needed to mount it on a wheel?
     
  20. Nov 26, 2018 at 9:00 AM
    #20
    Roman

    Roman Toyota Parts Master Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #876
    Messages:
    2,843
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roman
    Franklin, TN
    No problem. The sensors do not come with fit kits. They are separate.
     
  21. Nov 26, 2018 at 9:33 AM
    #21
    tundracrazy

    tundracrazy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Member:
    #21727
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    Ok, odd that they show the fit kit parts in the sensor illustration.
     
  22. Nov 26, 2018 at 10:43 AM
    #22
    atl1glf

    atl1glf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2018
    Member:
    #22027
    Messages:
    150
    Vehicle:
    ‘07 SR5 CM, ‘12 SR5 DC Supercharged, ‘19 Limited CM
    Too many TRD parts
    @Roman i have the 18 in trd wheels that come with the trd package for a ‘19 limited. I am changing my wheels and tires, I should be able to take sensor off my stock and put on my aftermarket. Would, I still need a fit kit?
     
  23. Nov 26, 2018 at 12:36 PM
    #23
    Roman

    Roman Toyota Parts Master Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #876
    Messages:
    2,843
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roman
    Franklin, TN
    Yes, you should be able swap over the sensors, and reuse the parts from the fit kit as well. You'd only need the fit kits if you were buying new sensors.
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  24. Dec 13, 2018 at 4:38 PM
    #24
    tundracrazy

    tundracrazy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Member:
    #21727
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    Can Techstream software be used to program new oem sensors if you do not have the sensor serial numbers?
     
  25. Dec 13, 2018 at 5:01 PM
    #25
    Uhhhh....

    Uhhhh.... New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Member:
    #21938
    Messages:
    722
    First Name:
    Dave
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Silver Tundra Limited DC
    7” BDS lift, 37s
    Have my stock sensors in aftermarket 37s. I plan on getting a full size spare & want to put a sensor in it (want to do a 5 wheel rotation). Anyone know if you can have have 5 working sensors?

    If 5 working sensors is doable: if I don’t have the spare with me at any given time (cause I’d prob have to keep it in the bed & wont leave it in there all the time), would the tpms alarm go off if it only sees 4 of the 5 sensors?
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2018
  26. Dec 13, 2018 at 8:27 PM
    #26
    JayPee

    JayPee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Member:
    #13064
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Chandler, Az or San Gabriel, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2017 Toyota Tundra Sr5 TRD 4x4
    in my dreams
    Awesome question
     
  27. Dec 14, 2018 at 7:28 AM
    #27
    Roman

    Roman Toyota Parts Master Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #876
    Messages:
    2,843
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roman
    Franklin, TN
    The serial numbers should be on the sensor, but if they're illegible or something, no you can not program them.

    Yes, it will. If the computer does not see all of the sensors that are programmed to it, the light will come on.
     
  28. Dec 16, 2018 at 10:15 AM
    #28
    tundracrazy

    tundracrazy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Member:
    #21727
    Messages:
    78
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    That sucks that you have to have the numbers. Are there other tools that can program new sensors without the serial numbers?
     
  29. Dec 17, 2018 at 12:18 PM
    #29
    Roman

    Roman Toyota Parts Master Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #876
    Messages:
    2,843
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roman
    Franklin, TN
    Not that I'm aware of.
     
  30. Dec 17, 2018 at 12:38 PM
    #30
    Rsnake69

    Rsnake69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Member:
    #12459
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Randleman, NC
    Vehicle:
    2007 tundra sr5 trd
    If you buy a set of wheels with the sensors in them, you will have to break the wheel down and get the serial # off the sensor to program them with techstream.
     
To Top