1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Bypass - shut off - disable

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by 737fixer, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. Sep 2, 2019 at 9:59 AM
    #1
    737fixer

    737fixer [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2018
    Member:
    #17209
    Messages:
    478
    Gender:
    Male
    I've been searching for how to disable, shut-off the TPMS light on my 2005 Tundra Doublecab. Seems even when searching in the 1st gen section I'm only getting 07 and 08 Tundra's. Does anyone have the old instructions on this project. Many thanks as usual.
     
    Desrat and because_wumbo-truck like this.
  2. Sep 2, 2019 at 10:05 AM
    #2
    Kerch71

    Kerch71 Surgical Precision

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Member:
    #14195
    Messages:
    1,711
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Mechanicsville VA
    Vehicle:
    2015 CM SC TRD Pro/ICON/Total Chaos Build
    CM TRD Pro glass panels, Icon 2.5, TC long travel UCA/LCA, Toyota supercharger, Airlift rear suspension, Warn winch, custom front and rear bumper, Coachbuilder roof rack, lengthened chassis 12", 37" Nitto Grapplers, custom graphics, Magnaflow Flowmaster 4" SS Exhaust
    Does yours have the TPMS button underneath the driver side dash, above the accelerator? If so, start the truck and hold it down for 6 seconds, then let the truck run for 3 minutes or so. This will initialize and should turn the light off. Not sure what to do if you don't have the button.
     
    because_wumbo-truck likes this.
  3. Sep 2, 2019 at 10:25 AM
    #3
    Scuba

    Scuba Sober member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #20508
    Messages:
    1,243
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    2012 Texas Edition CM.
    That will only work if the system is functioning 100%. If one or more of the sensors are bad then the light will come right back on.
    Due to the age of the vehicle I would bet one or more of the sensors in the tires are bad hence, the light stays on.
     
  4. Sep 2, 2019 at 11:01 AM
    #4
    Kerch71

    Kerch71 Surgical Precision

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Member:
    #14195
    Messages:
    1,711
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Mechanicsville VA
    Vehicle:
    2015 CM SC TRD Pro/ICON/Total Chaos Build
    CM TRD Pro glass panels, Icon 2.5, TC long travel UCA/LCA, Toyota supercharger, Airlift rear suspension, Warn winch, custom front and rear bumper, Coachbuilder roof rack, lengthened chassis 12", 37" Nitto Grapplers, custom graphics, Magnaflow Flowmaster 4" SS Exhaust
    Good point
     
  5. Sep 2, 2019 at 12:23 PM
    #5
    mscribellito

    mscribellito New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2019
    Member:
    #33724
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Vehicle:
    2006 White Regular Cab Tundra
    Here ya go...

    I attached a pic of how I did mine. Just have to ground out a wire from the module behind the radio. I removed the dash panel around radio and radio itself to access it more easily. 67809943_130745488149979_5461667926274352974_n.jpg
     
  6. Sep 2, 2019 at 12:30 PM
    #6
    empty_lord

    empty_lord They see me rollin'

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Member:
    #25441
    Messages:
    10,065
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Indiana, Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    05 rollover special
    custom body work, Billies with taco ARB springs, Icon AAL, TRD FJ trail team wheels, 2019 Toyota 86 radio, Blacked out interior, Added factory power everything, heater mirrors, ETC
    i cleared the TPMS codes with my scan tool and the light never came back on.. and im missing all the sensors
     
  7. Sep 20, 2019 at 2:25 PM
    #7
    Daq_daddy

    Daq_daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Member:
    #34534
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2005 SR5 Doublecab
    What scan tool you using?
     
    because_wumbo-truck likes this.
  8. Sep 20, 2019 at 9:10 PM
    #8
    3.4Tundra

    3.4Tundra New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Member:
    #24616
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    So. California
    Vehicle:
    2006 V8 Tundra 2wd
    Bilstein 5100
    Just did this mod. I couldn't get my fat hand in far enough to unclip the plug from the glove box area so I pulled the radio bezel off, 5 Phillips screws (1 behind each AC knob, and 1 at top of each vent).

    Once that is off, there is one nut holding the tpms module bracket on(silver), once unscrewed, piece of cake!! It's a 10mm nut and you will need an extension to reach it.

    Like others, the wire on mine was solid pink.

    Thanks for the tips everyone!

    IMG_20190920_170306209.jpg
     
    mcharfauros likes this.
  9. Sep 20, 2019 at 9:42 PM
    #9
    TheBeast

    TheBeast The Beach

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    12,492
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012
    i think I saw that button on my 2012, does it work on gen 2s ?
     
  10. Sep 20, 2019 at 9:53 PM
    #10
    Scuba

    Scuba Sober member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #20508
    Messages:
    1,243
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    2012 Texas Edition CM.
    It should as long as your tire pressure is correct and the system is working fine (sensors all responding etc..).
     
    TheBeast[QUOTED] and Kerch71 like this.
  11. Sep 21, 2019 at 4:45 AM
    #11
    Kerch71

    Kerch71 Surgical Precision

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Member:
    #14195
    Messages:
    1,711
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Mechanicsville VA
    Vehicle:
    2015 CM SC TRD Pro/ICON/Total Chaos Build
    CM TRD Pro glass panels, Icon 2.5, TC long travel UCA/LCA, Toyota supercharger, Airlift rear suspension, Warn winch, custom front and rear bumper, Coachbuilder roof rack, lengthened chassis 12", 37" Nitto Grapplers, custom graphics, Magnaflow Flowmaster 4" SS Exhaust
    Agreed
     
    TheBeast likes this.
  12. Sep 21, 2019 at 10:15 AM
    #12
    empty_lord

    empty_lord They see me rollin'

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Member:
    #25441
    Messages:
    10,065
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Indiana, Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    05 rollover special
    custom body work, Billies with taco ARB springs, Icon AAL, TRD FJ trail team wheels, 2019 Toyota 86 radio, Blacked out interior, Added factory power everything, heater mirrors, ETC
    Snap on modis
     
    TomGreen and Tundra2 like this.
  13. Sep 21, 2019 at 11:50 AM
    #13
    TheBeast

    TheBeast The Beach

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    12,492
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012
    yes it does but thinking of switching wheels set and not getting tpms in my "off road "set
     
  14. Sep 21, 2019 at 3:14 PM
    #14
    Scuba

    Scuba Sober member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #20508
    Messages:
    1,243
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    2012 Texas Edition CM.
    If you switch to wheels without sensors then your sensor light will always be on.
     
  15. May 27, 2020 at 5:40 AM
    #15
    Fishin

    Fishin New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Member:
    #15170
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Anyone have the procedure for a 15 Tundra?
     
  16. May 27, 2020 at 11:55 AM
    #16
    bmf4069

    bmf4069 Yup, that's a whole ass truck in a dishwasher

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Member:
    #18880
    Messages:
    7,886
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Beau
    TX
    Vehicle:
    02 AC sr5 4wd v8
    All the bass
  17. Aug 30, 2020 at 10:16 AM
    #17
    LASurf

    LASurf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Member:
    #27680
    Messages:
    187
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    300k+mi 06 AC4x4
    Just did this the grounding way. If anyone has questions, shoot.
     
  18. May 16, 2021 at 2:11 PM
    #18
    redfishnc

    redfishnc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Member:
    #34573
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Vehicle:
    wanted
    4WD
    I cut the solid pink wire going to the TPMS and grounded the wire on the wiring side, not from the TPMS module side. Is this correct?
     
  19. May 17, 2021 at 10:06 AM
    #19
    LASurf

    LASurf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Member:
    #27680
    Messages:
    187
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    300k+mi 06 AC4x4
    Cut the pink and silver before the connector. See photo...

    Someone else asked about this and I sent the below links via PM.

    Pictures: Thread I used: Getting your hands in there gets real tight, good luck!

    tpms.jpg
     
    bmf4069, tdrich7 and BubbaW like this.
  20. Nov 26, 2022 at 12:07 PM
    #20
    KnotOnCall

    KnotOnCall New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2022
    Member:
    #83636
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Is this behind the radio or under the steering wheel?
     
  21. Nov 26, 2022 at 12:46 PM
    #21
    shifty`

    shifty` The masses of humanity have always had to suffer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    22,063
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Neither. It's behind the glove box. Notice the ECU in the background behind the box with the words DO NOT CUT, with all the connectors going into it.
     
    CodyP likes this.
  22. Dec 19, 2022 at 9:57 AM
    #22
    wegner44

    wegner44 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2022
    Member:
    #87156
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2005 Gold Tundra DoubleCab SR5
    I was able to accomplish this mod, no more flashing TPMS light!!!

    For those needing to do this, here are some pictures to help point you to the module and wire needed to jump to ground.

    566A5452-74E9-4406-ACC1-DC10097CF31C.jpg
    0255E455-DE82-4072-AD6A-BB72551C2F05.jpg
    CC43D5CE-6945-4C42-A85D-9EC3C2285999.jpg
    C1A41BA0-0792-4BC3-B33A-5F336FF27576.jpg
    36232525-133C-4183-9410-3AA35D1B8225.jpg
     
    abcinv likes this.
  23. Dec 19, 2022 at 1:19 PM
    #23
    growit

    growit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Member:
    #22305
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Dbcb SR5
    Is that white wire with the black stipe a ground wire?
     
  24. Dec 19, 2022 at 1:21 PM
    #24
    wegner44

    wegner44 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2022
    Member:
    #87156
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2005 Gold Tundra DoubleCab SR5
    I am not sure, I didn’t put a meter to it. The pink wire with silver is the one you want. Run that to chassis ground.
     
  25. Dec 19, 2022 at 1:26 PM
    #25
    growit

    growit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Member:
    #22305
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Dbcb SR5
    Thanks
     
  26. Dec 19, 2022 at 1:34 PM
    #26
    shifty`

    shifty` The masses of humanity have always had to suffer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    22,063
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Yes. Toyota uses white with black stripe for ground almost universally through the truck. So the proper, easy fix could possibly be jumpering white/blk stripe to pink on the backside of the connector. But don't quote me on that - quote me on the wire color, it's all over the EWDs, but I don't know what the pink dumps into, or if it would be impacted negatively from jumping it to ground while connected.
     
    Jackson Smith likes this.
  27. Dec 19, 2022 at 2:57 PM
    #27
    sflips

    sflips New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Member:
    #23839
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Middle Tn.
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC XSP
    I did this mod a year ago. It worked perfect, no more light. I'm OCD about dash lights
     
  28. Jan 28, 2024 at 7:50 AM
    #28
    Valkron8

    Valkron8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2024
    Member:
    #110997
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Which wire side do you connect to ground? The side that comes from the plug or the side that goes to the TPMS module?
     
  29. Jan 28, 2024 at 8:18 AM
    #29
    GODZILLA

    GODZILLA Hail to the King, Baby.

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35514
    Messages:
    28,950
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2023 TRD Pro TACOMA, 2019 Super Tenere
    Trying not to mod it
    There are literally pictures showing it... :facepalm:
     
  30. Jan 28, 2024 at 9:48 AM
    #30
    FishNinja

    FishNinja HIDE YOUR DAUGHTERS

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2024
    Member:
    #109562
    Messages:
    1,430
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    TEXAN....big surprise
    Vehicle:
    06DC2wd
    that pink wire. You need to add some sort of extension to it so it can get grounded somewhere.
    Here’s the rig I made up. Just put the pink/silver wire in the slot on the splitter and clamp it down. Plug it back in. And ground the connector to a screw or blot that’s attached to the frame.

    IMG_4180.jpg
     

Products Discussed in

To Top