1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire Pressure Sensor System for 5 wheels?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by gosolo, Feb 24, 2017.

  1. Feb 24, 2017 at 7:20 AM
    #1
    gosolo

    gosolo [OP] “The .com stands for communist”, Dale Gribble

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    6,518
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    NW Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super Fine Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 46g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Alcan leaf springs and got rid of the interior chrome
    Can the Tire pressure sensor system be programmed to work on 5 wheels? If a sensor is added to the spare, for instance, can it be added to the system and monitored as are the other 4?
     
  2. Feb 24, 2017 at 8:52 AM
    #2
    gosolo

    gosolo [OP] “The .com stands for communist”, Dale Gribble

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    6,518
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    NW Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super Fine Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 46g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Alcan leaf springs and got rid of the interior chrome
    @LOTSOFTOYS maybe I should have asked you first, I didn't think about posting this in the "mechanic" thread
     
  3. Feb 24, 2017 at 10:06 AM
    #3
    joonbug

    joonbug bacon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    16,298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    NorCal - Dublin
    Vehicle:
    2020 Limited DoubleCab
    I'm pretty confused about TPMS too. When I got my new wheels, Americas tire said I didn't have one in my stock spare. Now I bought a matching full size spare with TPMS but haven't programmed it yet. I put that new wheel on the front and put the old front into the spare but the light hasn't gone off. Not sure if the computer is reading the one in the spare? So does that mean I have to reprogram every time I rotate my tires? Anyways, I'm going to try airing down this weekend and see if the light goes off. Hopefully I'll have an answer.
     
  4. Feb 24, 2017 at 10:16 AM
    #4
    Agitated1

    Agitated1 Newish Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Member:
    #5240
    Messages:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra Crewmax TRD 4x4 Quicksand
    TRD Pro Grill King Coilovers with compression adjuster Tint 5% Rear, 30% front and 70% windshield Husky X-Act Floor liners BA Muffler 8in standard system Truck Covers USA retractable bed cover Yakima bed rails
    On my 2005 Tundra my spare had TPMS. Im not sure if Toyota took that out of the spare.
     
  5. Feb 24, 2017 at 10:30 AM
    #5
    joonbug

    joonbug bacon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    16,298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    NorCal - Dublin
    Vehicle:
    2020 Limited DoubleCab
    My Jeep used to read each individual wheel and display the PSI on the dash. But since the system on the Tundra doesn't seem to read each individual wheel, I'm hoping it just senses all programmed units and just lights up if any of them get low. So hopefully all 5 will work.
     
  6. Feb 24, 2017 at 10:34 AM
    #6
    gosolo

    gosolo [OP] “The .com stands for communist”, Dale Gribble

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    6,518
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    NW Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super Fine Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 46g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Alcan leaf springs and got rid of the interior chrome
    If this doesn't work I am not sure I want to go with a 5 wheel rotation. I'm curious to know how it works out
     
  7. Feb 24, 2017 at 10:52 AM
    #7
    landphil

    landphil A bottom line is a butt crack. Don’t prove it.

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Member:
    #4814
    Messages:
    3,696
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    ‘08 TRD doublecab
    On my '08, the only option with Techstream is for a 4 sensor system, the 5 sensor option is "greyed out". Not sure if it's the same for you 3rd gen guys.

    Joon, your light stays out since the TPMS module still reads the four sensors it is programmed for, even though one of those is the spare. If you left your spare at home, you'd get a blinking light before long.
     
  8. Feb 24, 2017 at 11:03 AM
    #8
    joonbug

    joonbug bacon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    16,298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    NorCal - Dublin
    Vehicle:
    2020 Limited DoubleCab
    I guess I have to hook up the techstream and see if I have a 5 sensor option. Then go back to Americas Tire and programming the new wheel. Then try removing the spare and driving around. Then swapping the spare again. Then go from there. Holy shit, way too much work.
     
    040Tundra likes this.
  9. Feb 24, 2017 at 1:41 PM
    #9
    gosolo

    gosolo [OP] “The .com stands for communist”, Dale Gribble

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    6,518
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    NW Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super Fine Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 46g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Alcan leaf springs and got rid of the interior chrome
    @joonbug you are ahead of me on this learning curve, l also have a '15 so what's in your rig will probably be a match for mine. I'm anxious to know what you learn.
     
    joonbug likes this.
  10. Feb 24, 2017 at 1:50 PM
    #10
    joonbug

    joonbug bacon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    16,298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    NorCal - Dublin
    Vehicle:
    2020 Limited DoubleCab
    I'll see what I can find out... if it doesn't rain tomorrow.
     
  11. Feb 25, 2017 at 11:24 AM
    #11
    LOTSOFTOYS

    LOTSOFTOYS Toyota Whisperer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Member:
    #1396
    Messages:
    1,246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jace
    Mile high
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tundra DBL cab
    No. If it's a 4 tire system, it's a 4 tire system...
     
  12. Feb 25, 2017 at 11:42 AM
    #12
    joonbug

    joonbug bacon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    16,298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    NorCal - Dublin
    Vehicle:
    2020 Limited DoubleCab
    So I hooked up Techstream and it seems to have 5 wheels detected but won't read the fifth wheel. I went to Americas Tire and had the new wheel programmed but it would only do 4 wheels. So apparently I have to redo TPMS programming every time I rotate. I'm sure Toyota will do it. Otherwise it only takes 5 minutes at AT.
     
  13. Feb 25, 2017 at 3:58 PM
    #13
    gosolo

    gosolo [OP] “The .com stands for communist”, Dale Gribble

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    6,518
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    NW Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super Fine Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 46g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Alcan leaf springs and got rid of the interior chrome
    Thanks for the info @LOTSOFTOYS , Looks like I'm changing my plans a little bit. I want to be able to do rotations by myself so having to reprogram every time isn't in the cards. I'll probably get a lightly worn used tire in a matching size for the spare and just do 4 wheel rotations.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top