1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tire pressure monitor system question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by tctundra, Feb 26, 2014.

  1. Feb 26, 2014 at 9:33 AM
    #1
    tctundra

    tctundra [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #238
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Vehicle:
    2014 metallic grey Tundra
    New 2014 tundra. It came with the stock 18" steel wheels and want to put on a set of after-market wheels. I read the manual that stated I would need to take the truck back to the dealer to have the sensors "coded". Surprise, they get $150 to do that. If I ignored the tpms warning system would it cause the vehicle to malfunction and stop running. I was in a friends Mercedes, when his tpms system malfunctioned, the car wouldn't start. Had to have a mechanic come out and reset the computer. Don't know if this is true with all brands.
     
  2. Feb 26, 2014 at 10:45 AM
    #2
    jberry813

    jberry813 The Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #68
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum and 04 Tacoma
    Metric shit ton of parts
    In most cases you can remove your sensors from the factory wheels and put them in the aftermark wheels. No recoding needed for that. If you were to buy new sensors, than the TPMS would have to be recoded with the new sensors.
    That said, you can run a Toyota all day long with no sensors and just ignore the light.
     
  3. Feb 26, 2014 at 11:20 AM
    #3
    Jack Burton

    Jack Burton Jorts Rule!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #49
    Messages:
    341
    Gender:
    Male
    Little China
    Vehicle:
    2013 DC 5.7L TRD/OR
    Tires, Diamondback HD Tonneau w/ ATV Carrier
    If you're buying the new wheels from a dealer, see if they can do it for you. Your stock sensors may or may not work with the new wheels. I swapped the stock sensors on my '11 Taco from steelies to aftermarket alloys and they worked fine. The shop where I bought the new tires/wheels (Les Schwab) was able to reprogram my computer and they even tossed in a 5th sensor for my spare (I did 5-tire rotations) for free.
     
  4. Feb 26, 2014 at 11:49 AM
    #4
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    What the two above you did.
     
  5. Feb 26, 2014 at 7:29 PM
    #5
    tctundra

    tctundra [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #238
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Vehicle:
    2014 metallic grey Tundra
    Thanks guys! I was looking at an on-line dealer for a complete wheel/tire package. I'm thinking going to a shop like Les Schwab in my area if I can find one. May be the best way to go. Might cost a little more money but will probably work out better in the long run.
     
  6. Feb 26, 2014 at 7:33 PM
    #6
    BamaToy1997

    BamaToy1997 25 years ASE Master Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #67
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    50 miles past BFE, 13th trailer park on the right.
    Vehicle:
    1997 Tacoma
    3 inch mixed component lift. Front locker, rear e-locker, 33 inch tires, custom dual batteries, 140A alternator, custom paint, many other mods to come!
    You do NOT have to take the truck back to the dealership to change out the wheels and sensors. Actually, if you can get the shop to pay careful attention they can swap the sensors and tires from each wheel to a corresponding wheel and then install them back on the truck without having to reset or recode anything!
     
    jtav2002 likes this.
  7. Feb 27, 2014 at 4:56 PM
    #7
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #65
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra Dbl Cab 4x4 TRD 5.7L
    Corsa Exhaust, Line-X'd bed, 15% tint, Backflip trifold, Weathertech mats
    Exactly what the tire shop did when I swapped out wheels/tires when I had the Taco.
     
  8. Feb 28, 2014 at 8:19 PM
    #8
    imowlawns

    imowlawns New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Member:
    #276
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Sensors unnecessary really I bout wheels and tires online doesn't bother the truck. If you don't like the light on then leave the stocks in the bed light stays off lmaoo
     
  9. Mar 1, 2014 at 7:51 AM
    #9
    tctundra

    tctundra [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #238
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Vehicle:
    2014 metallic grey Tundra
    Like that idea. I did something similar when the ignition switch went bad on my Solara. A new switch from the dealer with the "chip" plus new keys would have been expensive. Went to the junkyard and got a swith and keys out of a "non chip" vehicle and installed that. To fool the computer I left the old chip ignition under the dash and kept the keys with the chip on my key ring to fool the computer.
     
  10. Mar 1, 2014 at 8:07 AM
    #10
    imowlawns

    imowlawns New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Member:
    #276
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
  11. Mar 2, 2014 at 9:23 AM
    #11
    BamaToy1997

    BamaToy1997 25 years ASE Master Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #67
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    50 miles past BFE, 13th trailer park on the right.
    Vehicle:
    1997 Tacoma
    3 inch mixed component lift. Front locker, rear e-locker, 33 inch tires, custom dual batteries, 140A alternator, custom paint, many other mods to come!
    There are a lot of tricks out there to save money, but I don't like the increased risk that some of them pose.
     
  12. Mar 14, 2014 at 10:34 AM
    #12
    tctundra

    tctundra [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #238
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Vehicle:
    2014 metallic grey Tundra
    What I really want to do is take off the stock tires and rims for the summer and put on the custom wheels and tires. I would need to put in new tpms on the new rims and tires anyway. Tirerack will do the whole package with new monitors. Just read on another forum that on a new Ford the warning light comes on every once in a while and screws up his entire monitoring system in all ways. Don't know if 2014 Tundra would do the same thing. Another guy rotates his wheels like I would like to do and takes his truck back to the dealer every time he swaps them out and is charged $60. I don't dare to ask the dealer, they will probable say it does just to nail you for a service charge.
     
  13. Mar 14, 2014 at 12:07 PM
    #13
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Don't compare a Toyota to a Ford.
    Just have them relocate the sensors to the new wheels. Simple as that.
     
To Top