1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

The Great HU Install of 2023

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by RainMan_PNW, Aug 19, 2023.

?

Did you get in on the recent Best Buy clearance frenzy? What did you get?

  1. Alpine ILX-F511

    35 vote(s)
    31.3%
  2. Alpine ILX-F509

    3 vote(s)
    2.7%
  3. Alpine ILX-F507

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Kenwood DMX-1037S

    16 vote(s)
    14.3%
  5. Something else (let us know in the thread)

    3 vote(s)
    2.7%
  6. I bought enough to start my own car stereo franchise

    2 vote(s)
    1.8%
  7. No - I was late to the party

    42 vote(s)
    37.5%
  8. No - I didn't need a new head unit

    15 vote(s)
    13.4%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Feb 28, 2024 at 8:53 AM
    #931
    AZBoatHauler

    AZBoatHauler SSEM#140/ASCM#3/2ndGenNaysayer/BAF140

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Member:
    #34576
    Messages:
    7,029
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    So.Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2017 CrewMax 4x4, 2017 LandCruiser, 2005 Sequoia 4x4
    Demello / SOB Fab Bumpers, SuperWinch, WKOR sliders, RCI skids, Baja Designs lighting, Billy 6112 and 5160 w/ CB +2, JL Audio with Alpine HU, DD 10" Exhaust, LED headlights, Rago fab mounts, 35” BFG, HAM radio
    When is the last time the battery was disconnected for more than a minute or two? I’d try disconnecting the battery and either waiting an hour or touch the + and - terminals together to discharge the system resetting your ECUs.
     
  2. Feb 28, 2024 at 8:57 AM
    #932
    RainMan_PNW

    RainMan_PNW [OP] SSEM #82 RGBA #4 “That Guy” Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2020
    Member:
    #54134
    Messages:
    14,952
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Casey
    Clark County, WA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Lunar Rock TRD Pro CM
    Check the build link in my signature.
    On my truck the ODB connector was not used at all (or tapped). But I think in 2018+ that data is accessed by the RR2 directly through the CANBUS.
     
  3. Feb 28, 2024 at 8:59 AM
    #933
    AZBoatHauler

    AZBoatHauler SSEM#140/ASCM#3/2ndGenNaysayer/BAF140

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Member:
    #34576
    Messages:
    7,029
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    So.Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2017 CrewMax 4x4, 2017 LandCruiser, 2005 Sequoia 4x4
    Demello / SOB Fab Bumpers, SuperWinch, WKOR sliders, RCI skids, Baja Designs lighting, Billy 6112 and 5160 w/ CB +2, JL Audio with Alpine HU, DD 10" Exhaust, LED headlights, Rago fab mounts, 35” BFG, HAM radio
    One more thought - you’ve verified you have OBD comm enabled on the head unit?
     
  4. Feb 28, 2024 at 11:14 AM
    #934
    azTony

    azTony member since sept, 2017 and over 1,600 messages

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Member:
    #9693
    Messages:
    2,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Sun Lakes, AZ
    Vehicle:
    *** OV Tune Order #4481 *** ECU 0CN21 ***
    2018 Tundra Platinum with Icon Stage 9 w/3.0 and billet UCA, Harrop Elockers, 5.29 on 37’s
    I was all for buying new speakers but I hit a brick wall... my wife. Then talking to James from Hard Wired he told me there is nothing wrong with the speakers it is just the restraint the JBL amp restricts the signal to. He swapped out my amp and put a under seat sub and all I can say is HOLY SHIT!!! I was in the house and thought WTF is that. Walked into the garage and he was tuning it and I just stood there looking and said "Is that mine?" I had no clue it would sound like that. I have all 11 (disconnected the one center speaker on the dash) connected and using since the upgrade
     
  5. Feb 28, 2024 at 12:12 PM
    #935
    cooper4x4

    cooper4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #10494
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR5
    Where is this? It says "Maestro Module" is connected
     
  6. Feb 28, 2024 at 12:19 PM
    #936
    cooper4x4

    cooper4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #10494
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR5
    upload_2024-2-28_14-18-55.png
    Found this in settings
     
  7. Feb 28, 2024 at 12:36 PM
    #937
    cooper4x4

    cooper4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #10494
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR5
    I found where to enable OBD communications, but still nothing on the home screen. I'll reset the battery shortly, then if that doesn't work I'll reset the RR2 and reflash.

    Weird things is that I can see it detecting when the foot and parking break is on (maestro detection), so I know it's communicating.
     
  8. Feb 28, 2024 at 1:33 PM
    #938
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson SSEM #99/RGBA #8-ish?/It’s a funny name.

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    9,229
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Southeast Greater Basin, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM CrüeMax
    Those two signals are separate from the OBD port. Can you snap pics of how you tapped the OBD and which pin location?
     
  9. Feb 28, 2024 at 2:20 PM
    #939
    cooper4x4

    cooper4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #10494
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR5
    No picture, but I snipped the OEM wire and used a butt connector in a 2 to 1 configuration. The port still works, so it's getting signal. All my gauges in the OBD Fusion app are still functional.

    Pin 2:
    upload_2024-2-28_16-18-17.png
     
    bulldog93 likes this.
  10. Feb 28, 2024 at 4:40 PM
    #940
    TaquitoBandito

    TaquitoBandito SSEM #91, KitKat Aficionado, A Dancer for Money Exotic Dancer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9976
    Messages:
    7,562
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joel (AKA Bif)
    Vehicle:
    2020 Army Green TRD Pro Crewmax
    Retrax Pro XR, Desert Eagle Plate, Seat Jackers, Kenwood DMX1037S
    What amp did you get?
     
    azTony[QUOTED] likes this.
  11. Feb 28, 2024 at 5:00 PM
    #941
    cooper4x4

    cooper4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #10494
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR5
    Battery disconnect fixed it.
     
    bulldog93 likes this.
  12. Feb 29, 2024 at 2:13 PM
    #942
    azTony

    azTony member since sept, 2017 and over 1,600 messages

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Member:
    #9693
    Messages:
    2,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Sun Lakes, AZ
    Vehicle:
    *** OV Tune Order #4481 *** ECU 0CN21 ***
    2018 Tundra Platinum with Icon Stage 9 w/3.0 and billet UCA, Harrop Elockers, 5.29 on 37’s
    The Sony 6/5-channel Class D Amplifier with DSP
     
  13. Feb 29, 2024 at 2:51 PM
    #943
    AZTundra

    AZTundra No Longer a New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Member:
    #12894
    Messages:
    4,188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Crewmax Limited 5.7 FFV
    Magnuson Supercharger, TRD Goodies (Pro Suspension, Pro Grille, Exhaust, CAI, Rear Sway Bar, Oil Cap). Weather Tech Floormats, BakFlip MX4, Spray In Bedliner, AMP Research Bed Extender and Bed Step, Side Steps, B&W Adjustable Drop Hitch, AJT Designs Battery Hold Down, SDHQ Sliders.
    I really need to start looking at components for a full system upgrade. Aside from the Alpine head unit everything else is stock JBL. Not looking for a high end, high dollar build, but something that definitely sounds much better than what I've got right now.
     
    TaquitoBandito and azTony like this.
  14. Feb 29, 2024 at 3:13 PM
    #944
    azTony

    azTony member since sept, 2017 and over 1,600 messages

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Member:
    #9693
    Messages:
    2,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Sun Lakes, AZ
    Vehicle:
    *** OV Tune Order #4481 *** ECU 0CN21 ***
    2018 Tundra Platinum with Icon Stage 9 w/3.0 and billet UCA, Harrop Elockers, 5.29 on 37’s
    That is all I wanted. I have sat in front row seats and very close to it for so many years, shooting for practice/fun/hunting and listening to my headphones at work for 43 years. I like what I have, is there better,? Hell yeah! Do I need it? Hello, probably would not hear everything.

    My JBL crap I would play songs from my iPod and I know there are parts I love and I cannot even hear the singing or most of the music takes but I know they are there because I hear it on my iPod. Well now I can hear everything... but I changed everything "except" the factory speakers.
     
  15. Mar 3, 2024 at 11:46 AM
    #945
    cooper4x4

    cooper4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #10494
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR5
    I was the opposite. I already had an Amp, components and subs. After installing the Alpine, the system has a much better sound...likely from the higher HU output combined with the RCA connections. I'll likely pay someone to tune it this week.
     
  16. Mar 8, 2024 at 2:51 PM
    #946
    TreeCat

    TreeCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2023
    Member:
    #98290
    Messages:
    69
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Limited 4x4
    Been about 3 months with the Alpine installed. The quirks I've noticed are mainly in CarPlay and with the steering wheel buttons. Rarely, the voice button on the steering wheel to bring up Siri won't work, but the Siri button on the far left of the screen will. Or Maps/Waze will be blank like it isn't getting any data. Again this has only happened a couple of times. Everything else thankfully seems to be working well.

    My natika front camera died mid-January. Don't know exactly what happened, but it was historically cold then so my guess is it froze. Thankfully Natika quickly sent me a free replacement and I didn't have to redo any of the wiring, just swap the camera.

    At some point I might reflash the maestro for diff shortcuts. Now that I've driven with it I know what I use the most.

    Lastly, not sure if everyone got this, but through Best Buy I got an offer for 4 months of Sirius. I didn't have it before so I didn't install the Sirius antenna adapter. The offer turned out to be for their app-based subscription, not the car-specific one, so you can listen at home via phone etc. AND, the Sirius app shows up in CarPlay so it is just like getting it through your truck. Just wanted to share in case anyone else didn't install the sirius antenna. I'm more of a podcast guy these days but I am enjoying all the 90s, early 00s hip hop on Rock The Bells ch.43. Reliving my high school days:D
     
    bulldog93, TaquitoBandito and WFD473 like this.
  17. Mar 8, 2024 at 3:38 PM
    #947
    RainMan_PNW

    RainMan_PNW [OP] SSEM #82 RGBA #4 “That Guy” Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2020
    Member:
    #54134
    Messages:
    14,952
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Casey
    Clark County, WA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Lunar Rock TRD Pro CM
    Check the build link in my signature.
    I've encountered the maps/waze thing on-and-off for years with various CarPlay versions and devices. Pretty sure it's a Google/CarPlay thing. Usually requires force-killing the application on the phone and then it wakes up.
    Your voice button issue would be more likely caused by the Maestro than the Alpine - since it is what is actually handling the steering wheel controls to the head unit.
     
    bulldog93 and TaquitoBandito like this.
  18. Mar 8, 2024 at 5:05 PM
    #948
    azTony

    azTony member since sept, 2017 and over 1,600 messages

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Member:
    #9693
    Messages:
    2,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Sun Lakes, AZ
    Vehicle:
    *** OV Tune Order #4481 *** ECU 0CN21 ***
    2018 Tundra Platinum with Icon Stage 9 w/3.0 and billet UCA, Harrop Elockers, 5.29 on 37’s
    I have noticed my wife’s Alpine does not work with the steering wheel or Siri until you do something on the Alpine first. For example, if you get in start it and take off then try to turn the volume up or change the station or talk to Siri through the steering wheel buttons nothing happens. Then try it on the HU and then back to the steering wheel control and try again. Every time after I do that in her 4Runner it works until the car shuts off. Weird quirk
     
    TRDFerguson and bulldog93 like this.
  19. Mar 17, 2024 at 12:41 PM
    #949
    cooper4x4

    cooper4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #10494
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR5
    A few questions using Google Maps with Android Auto on the Alpine.

    1. Why doesn't my current speed show? In my wife's Honda, Google maps shows my current speed and speed limit.

    2. Any way to change the default so I can see more of what's ahead on the route, rather than what I just drove? See pic...my current location is on the far right. When driving through the mountains this past week, I wanted to see approaching switchbacks, but had to zoom out each time or move the map to see.

    3. Any way to change the zoom level when using Google maps for routing? After zooming out, it always zooms back in when "re-centering".


     
  20. Mar 17, 2024 at 2:41 PM
    #950
    RainMan_PNW

    RainMan_PNW [OP] SSEM #82 RGBA #4 “That Guy” Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2020
    Member:
    #54134
    Messages:
    14,952
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Casey
    Clark County, WA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Lunar Rock TRD Pro CM
    Check the build link in my signature.
    If you tap the “north” icon, it’ll switch it to heads up/3D view where it shows the route in front of you.

    You can also hit the gear icon and check the settings there. Also, I have noticed that SOME settings (on the iPhone version) you have to be in navigation mode but NOT connected to the car to be able to set them, but once set they will apply to the car too. One example is the “alerts only” audio setting.

    No idea on your speed vs speed limit - on the iPhone it only shows the limit, and only when navigating. I’ve been messing around with Waze - things I prefer in both
     
    cooper4x4[QUOTED] and bulldog93 like this.

Products Discussed in

To Top