1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

SwitchPros mounting in engine bay?

Discussion in '2.5 Gen Tundras (2014-2021)' started by smslavin, Jul 24, 2017.

  1. Jul 24, 2017 at 2:07 PM
    #1
    smslavin

    smslavin [OP] Behind a lens...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Member:
    #8578
    Messages:
    7,169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Hudson Valley
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    Some stuff
    Anyone using the SwitchPros setup? If so, how and where did you mount the "brain" in the engine bay? Looking for a few ideas.
     
    Rica25 and dcsleeper408 like this.
  2. Jul 24, 2017 at 2:10 PM
    #2
    computeruser6

    computeruser6 Climate heretic

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Member:
    #2216
    Messages:
    1,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dirk
    Escondido
    Vehicle:
    2008 Regular Cab Tundra
    King 2.5 coilovers Nitto Exo Grapplers
    I mounted my Blue Sea Systems fuse block with some double-sided 3M tape to the fuse box. I think that some people here have made custom brackets to hold fuse and relay blocks though.

    Edit: Not quite as clean, but I have a lot of switch blanks in my truck so I opted to use mechanical switches instead.

    dscf1206.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2017
  3. Jul 24, 2017 at 2:12 PM
    #3
    Backslider

    Backslider Thirsty...

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3553
    Messages:
    2,601
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Tooele, UT
    Vehicle:
    2022 F350 Lariat Tremor 7.3l Gasser - 2017 4runner SR5p Trailpig
    I don't have SwitchPros, but I have an sPOD and mounted the "source" on top of the fusebox lid. Simple to do and in my opinion makes for a clean looking install. 20170528_110909.jpg 20170528_110914.jpg 20170528_110920.jpg
     
    CJ21, Baja Mike, MIG and 5 others like this.
  4. Jul 24, 2017 at 2:58 PM
    #4
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle not a PRO

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    5,084
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    See fine print
    Sub'd. I'd like to see mounting ideas also as I will end up with one one day.
     
  5. Jul 24, 2017 at 3:03 PM
    #5
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle not a PRO

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    5,084
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    See fine print
    Oh and I want this ... hope @sdhq_offroad comes through and make it!
    IMG_2436.jpg
     
  6. Jul 24, 2017 at 3:28 PM
    #6
    dcsleeper408

    dcsleeper408 BASTRDS

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #2081
    Messages:
    4,943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mark
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO
    I have mine here. At first I mounted too high it hit the shock. So brought it lower just a bit to clear fuse box
    IMG_3348.jpg
    Plan to relocate bc it's a pain to quickly access the fuse box. For now it works.

    I want a L bracket that lets it float over the fuse box. Or possibly hard mount it on the fuse box cover just as @Backslider and @computeruser6 has their system mounted.
     
  7. Jul 24, 2017 at 3:42 PM
    #7
    smslavin

    smslavin [OP] Behind a lens...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Member:
    #8578
    Messages:
    7,169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Hudson Valley
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    Some stuff
    I asked about that. Super clean and I really like it as well. Response was that they may turn it into a production item. I'm putting my switches into the center console. If they make that mount, I'll modify to fit the faceplate to a HAM radio.

    Hmm. When you drilled the holes for the bolts, does it go all the way through to the wheel well or is there a gap inside the fender? If there's a gap, how do you get your hand in there to fasten the bolts?
     
  8. Jul 24, 2017 at 3:44 PM
    #8
    Backslider

    Backslider Thirsty...

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3553
    Messages:
    2,601
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Tooele, UT
    Vehicle:
    2022 F350 Lariat Tremor 7.3l Gasser - 2017 4runner SR5p Trailpig
    I would imagine you use a self-tapping screw, but I'm not positive that's what he did.
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  9. Jul 24, 2017 at 3:46 PM
    #9
    smslavin

    smslavin [OP] Behind a lens...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Member:
    #8578
    Messages:
    7,169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Hudson Valley
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    Some stuff
    I was thinking that but would that be stable enough? Wouldn't it eventually, after enough off-road miles, start coming loose?
     
  10. Jul 24, 2017 at 3:49 PM
    #10
    sdhq_offroad

    sdhq_offroad New Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Member:
    #3253
    Messages:
    1,162
    GILBERT, AZ
    We are working on production mounts for them as well as it holding two relays on the mount.

    As of right now, we are finishing our Tacoma Switch Pros products with a few revisions. Once completed, we will be finishing our Switch Pro mounts for the guys with the 1794 and Limited models as it is already designed and just needs refining. Our Switch Pro mount for the all the other captains chair models are ready to go. http://store.sdhqoffroad.com/2014-currenttundrashifterpanelswitchpromount.aspx

    The Switch Pro mounts for the bench seat models is in design. The above pictured one was a custom one off that we did a year or two ago. It may be similar to this design but will be a simplified version. Keep in mind that the R&D that goes into these products aren't overnight, so we are working on them as fast and precise as possible.
     
  11. Jul 24, 2017 at 3:54 PM
    #11
    smslavin

    smslavin [OP] Behind a lens...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Member:
    #8578
    Messages:
    7,169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Hudson Valley
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    Some stuff
    No worries. You guys are awesome. Can't thank you enough for how well you've taken care of me the past couple of weeks. Now, I just need to get all together.

    Looking forward to what you guys come up with on the mount.
     
    jc153 likes this.
  12. Jul 24, 2017 at 3:54 PM
    #12
    Backslider

    Backslider Thirsty...

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3553
    Messages:
    2,601
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Tooele, UT
    Vehicle:
    2022 F350 Lariat Tremor 7.3l Gasser - 2017 4runner SR5p Trailpig
    I think they would be fine if you were careful installing... Don't over torque them the first time and they should be very secure. I could be wrong though.
     
  13. Jul 24, 2017 at 4:22 PM
    #13
    sdhq_offroad

    sdhq_offroad New Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Member:
    #3253
    Messages:
    1,162
    GILBERT, AZ
    This is our prototype of our Tacoma Switch Pros Mount

    IMG_7020.jpg
     
  14. Jul 24, 2017 at 4:38 PM
    #14
    dcsleeper408

    dcsleeper408 BASTRDS

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #2081
    Messages:
    4,943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mark
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO
    @smslavin i used nutserts
    Hilitchi 150pcs Mixed Zinc Plated Carbon Steel Rivet Nut Threaded Insert Nutsert M4 5 6 8 10 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01I3Y0ZHC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_qrODzbVT9XJVZ

    Works well. Goes through the under the fender. If u wanted to put a nut at the end I think u can pull the headlight or mudflap and do it if u really wanted to. The nutsert method worked fine for me.
     
  15. Jul 24, 2017 at 4:53 PM
    #15
    dcsleeper408

    dcsleeper408 BASTRDS

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #2081
    Messages:
    4,943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mark
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO
    This is nice!! Where would this be mounted?
     
  16. Jul 24, 2017 at 5:04 PM
    #16
    Over the LINE

    Over the LINE New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Member:
    #3273
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited CM 4 x 4
    Toytec -Duratrac -Expedition One-Fab Fours
    I went with traditional fuse block (blue seas 4) and relays but you can see where I mounted the fuse block to the inner fender.

    P6280008.jpg
     
  17. Jul 24, 2017 at 5:15 PM
    #17
    sdhq_offroad

    sdhq_offroad New Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Member:
    #3253
    Messages:
    1,162
    GILBERT, AZ
    For the Tundras, probably behind the driver side headlamp
     
    dcsleeper408 likes this.
  18. Jul 24, 2017 at 6:29 PM
    #18
    Spolar

    Spolar Going broke

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Member:
    #4558
    Messages:
    1,119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Seal Beach CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 sr5
    I still need to get it hooked up to my lights when they come in, but Osidepunker helped me out with running the control switches up where SDHQ is hopefully making that flush mount soon and in the engine bay, just went in top of the fuse boxIMG_1427.jpgIMG_1428.jpg
     
    CJ21 and dcsleeper408 like this.
  19. Jul 24, 2017 at 6:36 PM
    #19
    BOBONTUESDAY

    BOBONTUESDAY Grocery Getter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Member:
    #3127
    Messages:
    579
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited Trd
    Not a switch pros, kinda wish I knew about that product before I made this. I did the same spot as most people. My Taco had room between the fire wall and main fuse box. but the tundra didn't. so I velcroed mine here. Very easy to remove if needed.
     
  20. Jul 24, 2017 at 7:24 PM
    #20
    Cfincke

    Cfincke Mall Crawler but capable

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3797
    Messages:
    1,955
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 1794 CM 5.7 4x4 sunset bronze
    5.29s, Auburn LSD, 37x12.50R18, Icon coilovers and shocks, SPC UCA's, Tech 12 Volts sound system, Enve Grill
    I went with a built bussmann RTMR on a custom bracket mounted behind the passenger headlight. if I had to do it over again I would have done a SwitchPros. The $100 more would have been worth all my time and effort, plus all the function it offers too is worth it. I saw the SDHQ prototype flush mount for the SwitchPros, using the business card holder, before I started my build, but I have a 1794.
    Still happy about the outcome of my install, plus the satisfaction of doing it myself, but the SwitchPros is very clean.
    20170628_201839.jpg
    20170703_131936.jpg
     
    SoCal619, 040Tundra and dcsleeper408 like this.
  21. Jul 24, 2017 at 7:43 PM
    #21
    smslavin

    smslavin [OP] Behind a lens...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Member:
    #8578
    Messages:
    7,169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Hudson Valley
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    Some stuff
    Never knew those even existed. Exactly what I need. Thanks for the link.
     
  22. Jul 24, 2017 at 8:17 PM
    #22
    n2deep

    n2deep Pavement Princess

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Member:
    #4910
    Messages:
    1,157
    Gender:
    Male
    Don't have switch Pro either but my trigger controller is mounted to the top of the fuse box. Switches are wireless so mounted with Velcro in the overhead business card holder.

    20170717_080324.jpg
    20170522_200111.jpg
     
  23. Jul 24, 2017 at 10:37 PM
    #23
    renosauce

    renosauce New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Member:
    #7947
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stanley
    Vehicle:
    2005 DC Tundra
    DC LT
    Riv nuts are the bomb.com for mounting things like this..here is a quick mount i made for the switch pros going into the Tundra. that is also my dual battery controller..99e23cbe55d1c60001f40be786f5a819_34659770464939d9ebd558e76bc2f7d9429d492d.jpg
     
  24. Jul 24, 2017 at 11:29 PM
    #24
    dcsleeper408

    dcsleeper408 BASTRDS

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #2081
    Messages:
    4,943
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mark
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO
    That's a nice mount Stanley!
    Is the switch pro power wire routed to a breaker then to the battery?
     
  25. Jul 25, 2017 at 9:14 AM
    #25
    renosauce

    renosauce New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Member:
    #7947
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stanley
    Vehicle:
    2005 DC Tundra
    DC LT
    the switch pros come with a 100 amp fuse in line.. so no need to run a breaker unless you really wanted to.


    Blahhhh
     
    4Runner and dcsleeper408 like this.
  26. Jul 25, 2017 at 1:06 PM
    #26
    renosauce

    renosauce New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Member:
    #7947
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stanley
    Vehicle:
    2005 DC Tundra
    DC LT
    I will have to say, that as some one who does this for customers, I 120% agree with this statement. You are right on the money, with the 100$ more assessment of the doing it with relays/switchs, over doing it with something like the switch pro.
    If i was to wire a conventional setup, i would put way more then 100$ of time into it for the customer.
    It is wayyyyy more beneficial for the end user, to use something like the switch pro. Sure i wont make the money, but these are a great product and i love installing them because they are soo easy to do. i have installed all of mine with weather packs, if builds change a bit, it is easy to remove a weather pack. plus they look super clean.
    699b913aedc6dd45d7d01bd39cd3fd68_678767ec4c722466818193a782415e0bce1865d7.jpg
     
  27. Jul 25, 2017 at 1:18 PM
    #27
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle not a PRO

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    5,084
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    See fine print
    What's that weather pack? Is it the connector I see near the controller?
     
  28. Jul 25, 2017 at 1:19 PM
    #28
    sdhq_offroad

    sdhq_offroad New Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Member:
    #3253
    Messages:
    1,162
    GILBERT, AZ
    It is the black connectors that are on the right side. Just a different style of connector compared to like Deutsch
     
  29. Jul 25, 2017 at 1:25 PM
    #29
    strosek7

    strosek7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Member:
    #3513
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Black Tundra SR5 DC
    Is that a cut off switch ran inline of the positive cable? Been wanting something similar just figuring out what ill need.
     
  30. Jul 25, 2017 at 1:28 PM
    #30
    renosauce

    renosauce New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Member:
    #7947
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stanley
    Vehicle:
    2005 DC Tundra
    DC LT
    Yes that is a breaker, for protection, can get them from Delcity, or Blue Seas.




    Blahhhh
     
    strosek7 likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top