1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Switch Pro-9100

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014+)' started by Bohica_sob, Sep 6, 2018.

  1. Sep 6, 2018 at 12:20 PM
    #1
    Bohica_sob

    Bohica_sob [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Member:
    #14646
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra
    So I have a problem with my switch pros. I can only get the switch to work if i use the app. They key pad will not work unless the app is connected through blue tooth. I wrote them an email an they responded with they have had problems with tundras not supplying the required 12 v to the switch. They suggested that I tie into a radio output. I used the fuse tap to tie into an ignition source under the hood. Does anyone else have this problem? If you remedied it please let me know how. Thank you
     
  2. Sep 6, 2018 at 12:39 PM
    #2
    crochetjohn

    crochetjohn IG: latrdpro

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Member:
    #9955
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    South Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Inferno TRD Pro
    I've had my 9100 since January with zero issues. Installed per their instructions. Only thing I changed was using this as my ignition fuse tap. Allows there to be a separate fuse for the tap while the original circuit retains it's own.
     
  3. Sep 6, 2018 at 12:53 PM
    #3
    Bohica_sob

    Bohica_sob [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Member:
    #14646
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra
    I'm using that fuse tap as well. Do you have a pic of where you plugged it in under the hood?
     
  4. Sep 6, 2018 at 1:07 PM
    #4
    smslavin

    smslavin On a plane...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Member:
    #8578
    Messages:
    5,315
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    i had this issue with mine. it was a power problem.

    https://www.tundras.com/threads/hmm-switchpros-not-turning-on.15450/#post-341148
     
    831Tun likes this.
  5. Sep 6, 2018 at 1:15 PM
    #5
    crochetjohn

    crochetjohn IG: latrdpro

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Member:
    #9955
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    South Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Inferno TRD Pro
    It's a slightly different one. The one that comes with the kit is not the low profile. I switched it to the low profile.

    I can get a pic later today.
     
  6. Sep 6, 2018 at 2:04 PM
    #6
    Bohica_sob

    Bohica_sob [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Member:
    #14646
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra
    Thank you, I'll be looking for your pic later.
     
  7. Sep 6, 2018 at 5:33 PM
    #7
    Bohica_sob

    Bohica_sob [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Member:
    #14646
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra
    This is where I plugged it in.

    20180906_193031.jpg
     
  8. Sep 6, 2018 at 5:37 PM
    #8
    smslavin

    smslavin On a plane...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Member:
    #8578
    Messages:
    5,315
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    if you follow the link i posted earlier, i describe the same problem and how i resolved it. i did not use the engine bay fuse box though. i used the one above the driver's side kick panel.
     
  9. Sep 7, 2018 at 3:24 PM
    #9
    crochetjohn

    crochetjohn IG: latrdpro

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Member:
    #9955
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    South Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Inferno TRD Pro
    So I see the problem. That last fuse slot is not on the bus. You won't get any power out of it. The fuse tap is to fall in line with an active 12v ignition. Put it into the 10 amp to the left of it and all will work.

    IMG_E1335.jpg

    IMG_E1336.jpg
     
  10. Sep 10, 2018 at 1:03 AM
    #10
    Bohica_sob

    Bohica_sob [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Member:
    #14646
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra
    Thanks man, what's the blue fuse you have in the tap?
     
  11. Sep 10, 2018 at 5:24 AM
    #11
    crochetjohn

    crochetjohn IG: latrdpro

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Member:
    #9955
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    South Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Inferno TRD Pro
    The fuse tap I linked to Amazon lets you put a fuse per line. That way you can put the original 10 amp in place for ignition, then I have a 5 amp going to the switch pro. The ignition signal does not require a lot of amps. That fuse tap is also the low profile so it seats correctly.

    This is nothing wrong on switchpros part or what they provide. They produce a great kit that is beyond well equipped. Our trucks just happen to use low profile fuses and I like that tap better in place.
     
  12. Feb 9, 2019 at 4:18 PM
    #12
    2015TRD

    2015TRD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Member:
    #1859
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra SR5 TRD
    Where did you tap the white wire into the lighting circuit?
     
  13. Feb 11, 2019 at 6:32 PM
    #13
    crochetjohn

    crochetjohn IG: latrdpro

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Member:
    #9955
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    South Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2015 Inferno TRD Pro
    The small running light in the corner of the headlight.
     
  14. Feb 11, 2019 at 6:42 PM
    #14
    2015TRD

    2015TRD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Member:
    #1859
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra SR5 TRD
    Thank you
     
    crochetjohn likes this.
  15. Feb 15, 2019 at 4:16 PM
    #15
    azTony

    azTony New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Member:
    #9693
    Messages:
    344
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra Platinum
    None... yet
    Which light are you referring to? This is the last connection I need to make
     

Products Discussed in

To Top