1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sub installation

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by RamrodVT, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. Feb 16, 2016 at 12:27 PM
    #1
    RamrodVT

    RamrodVT [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Member:
    #2707
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2014 tundra crew max
    Non
    I have a 14 tundra crew max non jbl and have read the posts on installing subs and watched the videos from tacotunes about their recurve box. I plan on installing 2 ten inch subs and will leave the stock speakers alone for now. have a couple questions that may be stupid but what the hell here.

    Why should i use a 200 dollar recurve instead of a 30 dollar inline converter?

    Does cutting the inline converter void my warranty.
     
  2. Feb 16, 2016 at 12:43 PM
    #2
    GQ 66

    GQ 66 (Input clever saying)

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Member:
    #607
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Lake Jackson, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 CM Limited
    Tinted Tails, hard wired passport escort, Magnaflow 50 series,
    If you use the recurve you will have to disconnect the stock amp that is under the front passenger seat and run an additional amp for your door speakers and subs. Setting it up isn't easy and the one I have still isn't right since one channel (driver side rear) has a horrible ring to it so it's just disconnected. The bonus to it is the wiring kit that it came with made it super easy to install and I will use the same kit after I install the AudioControl LCQ-1. Having the EQ combined with the inline converter is a bonus when running it off of a stock radio to be able to tune it to sound like an aftermarket head unit.
     
  3. Feb 16, 2016 at 12:44 PM
    #3
    MotoTundra

    MotoTundra Adrenaline Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #8
    Messages:
    2,442
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14' Black TRD CM
    TRS Mini D2S Retrofit on TRD Pro Headlights (Apollo 2.0 Shrouds, 35w XB Ballasts, 5500k Bulbs) TRD Pro Grill BakFlip VP Tonneau w/BakBox Dipped wheels & bumpers Undercover Swingcase SunTek Paint Protection film Yellow Lamin-X Fog Overlays Tint Bedmat
    I would call your service dept about the warranty question, and TacoTunes about the recurve. Ultimately your local service dept is who you would.be dealing with, so their word/opininion is gold.

    I would think anything you do electrically that causes a problem can void your warranty, but the problem needs to be caused by what you did or the product you installed. I can't speak from too much experience but if your system is properly installed you should be good. Maybe if you have an old amp and no capacitor (no, not a flux capacitor), hell even any system, I could see a dealer denying an alternator or battery warranty claim.

    The line output converter (LOC) won't change or correct any of the horrible sounds that come from the factory head unit, which is designed for shitty speakers. A sound processor will clean it up so you don't have muddy bass.
     
  4. Feb 16, 2016 at 12:48 PM
    #4
    RamrodVT

    RamrodVT [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Member:
    #2707
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2014 tundra crew max
    Non
    I will check on the warranty with my dealer. So my take away is if i use loc i do not need to touch the stock amp, but if i use recurve then i will disconnect it and need a small amp for normal speakers
     
  5. Feb 16, 2016 at 12:54 PM
    #5
    GQ 66

    GQ 66 (Input clever saying)

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Member:
    #607
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Lake Jackson, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 CM Limited
    Tinted Tails, hard wired passport escort, Magnaflow 50 series,
    That's right.... if you use a LOC you can keep your stock amp plugged in and still run your door speakers off of it. The harness that comes with the TacoTunes Recurve cancels out the stock amp all together so you'll have to install another amp to power the doors.

    I did talk to the guys at TacoTunes, and they said that they were looking at creating an amp that will replace the stock amp (60w by 4) including the harness and all. Plug and play... might want to give them a call and see if they have anything in the making.
     
    MotoTundra likes this.
  6. Feb 16, 2016 at 12:56 PM
    #6
    RamrodVT

    RamrodVT [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Member:
    #2707
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2014 tundra crew max
    Non
    Thanks
     
To Top