1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stereo Replacement Question

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by Glock 40, Dec 17, 2020.

  1. Dec 17, 2020 at 9:41 AM
    #1
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
  2. Dec 17, 2020 at 10:02 AM
    #2
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    2,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    On a 00 I believe you'll just need a wiring harness and the brackets from your stock radio.
     
    tunyota and Glock 40 [OP] like this.
  3. Dec 17, 2020 at 10:04 AM
    #3
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    I'll need to get a wiring harness? Which one and where do I get this?
     
  4. Dec 17, 2020 at 10:16 AM
    #4
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    Crutchfield says in it's description that it comes with a wiring harness with a 15A fuse. Is that what you're referring to or do I need some kind of special wiring harness?
     
  5. Dec 17, 2020 at 10:47 AM
    #5
    TX-TRD1stGEN

    TX-TRD1stGEN I'm not taking a knee

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Member:
    #9618
    Messages:
    698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    South East Texas
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tundra 4x4
    You'll need to use the factory radio's brackets in order to install your new receiver. If you don't have the brackets, you can obtain them from your dealership.

    No dash kit is required for this installation.

    The factory amp is below and behind the radio. You will have to unplug the factory amp to bypass it.

    You will also have to hook up to your emergency brake or by a bypass kit from Amazon and wire that to your new harness. Here is the one I bought.

    https://www.amazon.com/MicroBypass-...d_rd_i=B006FKAHFM&psc=1&ref_=pd_bap_d_rp_27_t

    The Metra 70-1761 is the harness you will need to plug your alpine into the trucks factory plug.

    If you want to add a backup camera or external usb to plug your phone into for android/apple car play then there are more things you will need to buy.
     
  6. Dec 17, 2020 at 10:49 AM
    #6
    back9k9

    back9k9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Member:
    #42888
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    My 0.02 cents is to buy from Crutchfield if you can. They have excellent & very knowledgeable customer support / technical support. When you plug in your vehicle type, they show you exactly which harness & brackets you'll need.
     
    Pucks18 and Glock 40 [OP] like this.
  7. Dec 17, 2020 at 11:17 AM
    #7
    rock climber

    rock climber New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37106
    Messages:
    858
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2001 Sequoia 4X4, 2006 Tundra Double Cab 4X4
    If you have the factory amp below the radio you just have the pull the plugs out from the back of the amp and then connect them to the adapter. If no factory amp just connect the adapter. It will make more sense when you are in there.

    My 01 didn't have the factory amp so it was a very easy install.
     
  8. Dec 17, 2020 at 11:33 AM
    #8
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    2,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    Like others stated you'll need an adapter harness to the truck wiring. I'll second @back9k9 order from Crutchfield and for a little extra they'll wire the harness so all you need to do is plug it in you the stock wiring.
     
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.
  9. Dec 17, 2020 at 11:43 AM
    #9
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    Holy cripes, there's a lot more to it than I figured. Glad I asked.
     
  10. Dec 17, 2020 at 11:45 AM
    #10
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    I'll try it again, but the last time I entered my vehicle there they didn't offer any other harnesses or brackets when I clicked on that product.
     
  11. Dec 17, 2020 at 11:50 AM
    #11
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    This is a mystery. The previous owner had a Kenwood single din installed. Hopefully the OE brackets are still in there. I live atop bumfuk egypt so I don't have a stealership anywhere near me. I'll have to find the brackets online if that's the case. Hopefully not.
     
  12. Dec 17, 2020 at 12:12 PM
    #12
    RR60

    RR60 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Member:
    #6290
    Messages:
    225
    Vehicle:
    2003 SR5 Tundra long bed
    Chances are they also had to use them. Also sometimes better calling Critchfield. Great place and they can tell you everything you need and confirm. Rare case can even get a little discount.
     
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.
  13. Dec 17, 2020 at 12:21 PM
    #13
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    Thank you, yeah I'll definitely call them when I order it. It's not in stock now but there are "open box" ones available through their outlet. I'm a little leery of going that route and will probably wait until newbies are in stock.
     
  14. Dec 17, 2020 at 12:22 PM
    #14
    weadjust

    weadjust New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Member:
    #29366
    Messages:
    166
    Gender:
    Male
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Limited DC
    I installed a single din Alpine in my 06 and the OEM Toyota radio mounting brackets were not needed for the single din installation. I suspect you will need to find the oem mounting brackets.
     
    tunyota likes this.
  15. Dec 17, 2020 at 12:31 PM
    #15
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    Well, hopefully they're attached to the existing aftermarket stereo... which is a Kenwood single din.
     
  16. Dec 17, 2020 at 12:39 PM
    #16
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    2,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    Later models (04-06 DC for sure, and 05-06 AC/RC) are different, they have a larger dash opening and require a mounting kit. The older models just needed a pocket under the single DIN.

    I may be incorrect on the years. @Glock 40 if you pull the center trim off you should be able to see if they're present.
     
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.
  17. Dec 17, 2020 at 1:05 PM
    #17
    rock climber

    rock climber New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37106
    Messages:
    858
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2001 Sequoia 4X4, 2006 Tundra Double Cab 4X4
    If it's already got an aftermarket stereo than chances are it already has the wiring adapter you need. You should be able to undo the kenwood wires from the wiring adapter and wire up the alpine wires to the wiring adapter. The brackets should be there also. I say should because it's possible somebody did a hack job, but not likely when the adapters are so easy and cheap.

    Do you by chance have JBL speakers? It will say JBL on the door speaker cover. My 01 Sequoia has JBL and it was actually a super easy install.
     
    Glock 40 [OP] and tunyota like this.
  18. Dec 17, 2020 at 1:18 PM
    #18
    tunyota

    tunyota Wrenching w/ the beautiful wife.

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Member:
    #45877
    Messages:
    55
    Vehicle:
    Phantom Gray 2006 Regular Cab Long Bed 4WD V8 4.7L
    Front Hitch Receiver, Bilstein 5100s, Denso 130A alternator, LED interior and exterior lighting, Kicker 46CSS674 Car Audio 6 3/4" Component Full Range Stereo Speakers, Pioneer AVHX2700BS w/Pioneer NDBC8 Backup Camera, Transcend Drivepro 550 Dual Lens Dash Camera, and much more!
    @Glock 40 since you have a 2000 I am not 100% but for my 2006 I had to acquire the factory radio brackets in order to replace the older single-din head unit the previous owner installed as it is using an aftermarket plastic mount/bracket that was not compatible to reuse with double din head unit.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/OEM-TOYOTA-TUNDRA-SEQUOIA-RADIO-MOUNT-BRACKET-SET-86212-0C011-FITS-2002-2006/361752256524?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

    I would highly recommend watching related YouTube videos to familiarize yourself with the installation requirements before diving in if you have not already done so.
    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=2000+tundra+radio+install

    As others have stated you will need a wiring harness to plug directly into the factory harness. The parking brake bypass is usually something everyone gets so you can access the head unit's full range of features while driving etc. It is pretty easy to remove and install so if you decide down the road you want to install a reverse camera, USB, etc. it shouldn't be too much trouble.
     
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.
  19. Dec 17, 2020 at 1:25 PM
    #19
    FirstGenVol

    FirstGenVol The "Mangler"

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Member:
    #22934
    Messages:
    7,659
    First Name:
    Erik
    TN
    Vehicle:
    2002 SR5 4x4 AC
    Too many
    I wouldn't worry about it. I ordered that exact same stereo from Crutchfield as an open box. It's exactly that, a box someone opened and then returned. There was absolutely nothing wrong with it. And even if you did have an issue, their customer service is so great they will make it right. You'll get no support from Amazon. Also, for around $20 they will pre-crimp the wiring harness for you. I felt it was worth it to have them do it as their work is a lot cleaner than mine. For $256 I would even be tempted to try the scratch and dent unit. They still test everyone before they send them out.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2020
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.
  20. Dec 17, 2020 at 1:31 PM
    #20
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    Nope
     
  21. Dec 17, 2020 at 1:33 PM
    #21
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    FirstGenVol, I like your advice and I think I'll do that. Thanks.
     
  22. Dec 17, 2020 at 1:39 PM
    #22
    weadjust

    weadjust New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Member:
    #29366
    Messages:
    166
    Gender:
    Male
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Limited DC
    My 06 had the JBL 8 speaker system and I now have a single din Alpine. My single din mounting kit has the pocket underneath. Perfect place to put my phone when plugged into the Alpine usb port.
     
    tunyota likes this.
  23. Dec 17, 2020 at 2:21 PM
    #23
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    2,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    So does my 04, but the earlier trucks have a physically smaller opening so they are different.

    Here's the 00-02 single DIN kit.
    http://www.metraonline.com/part/88-00-8000

    Here's the 03-06 double DIN kit
    http://www.metraonline.com/part/99-8207

    The openings in the early models are nearly the same width as the aftermarket units where the later models are wider and require a spacer.
     
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.
  24. Dec 17, 2020 at 2:45 PM
    #24
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
  25. Dec 17, 2020 at 3:01 PM
    #25
    Pucks18

    Pucks18 Panic mode

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Member:
    #41548
    Messages:
    1,094
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tundra 4x4 Limited trd
    Best buy had the wiring harness I needed for my 2001 tundra
     
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.
  26. Dec 17, 2020 at 3:08 PM
    #26
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    2,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    Looks like you should be good according to the directions.

    Screenshot_20201217-180633.jpg
     
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.
  27. Dec 18, 2020 at 12:03 AM
    #27
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    537
    Just a heads up on this Alpine unit. I helped my brother install the same headunit into his 2008 Passat a while back. Recently, he was having issues with his phone disconnecting from the headunit about every 3 or 4 minutes while on Android Auto. We believe his issue lies with the USB extension cable that was included with the radio. We disconnected it from the headunit and plugged in his USB C cable directly into the USB port on the back of the headunit and the disconnects stopped. We also updated to the latest firmware. I'll check with him to see if he continues to have issues with it.
     
  28. Dec 18, 2020 at 7:53 AM
    #28
    FirstGenVol

    FirstGenVol The "Mangler"

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Member:
    #22934
    Messages:
    7,659
    First Name:
    Erik
    TN
    Vehicle:
    2002 SR5 4x4 AC
    Too many
    I've had some issues with mine too. Mainly trouble accepting calls while connected to android auto. Lately that problem seems to have stopped. Sometimes the audio quality of the call will start getting bad to the point I have to hang up and start over. That's not very common though. None of the issues are bad enough to make me replace it. I haven't done the firmware update but I've heard that it helps.
     
  29. Dec 18, 2020 at 11:11 AM
    #29
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 [OP] I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    689
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
    I won't be using it at all for phone conversations. If I can disable the android phone function I would be very happy. Number one rule for me is NO phone conversations of any kind while driving, period. If it starts answering phone calls for me while I'm driving I'll probably hit it with a hammer and buy a more simplistic receiver.
     
    Casper421 likes this.
  30. Dec 18, 2020 at 11:22 AM
    #30
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    2,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    When you set it up just block the permission for phone access
     
    Glock 40 [OP] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top