1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Speaker wiring system

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Koaboz, Jan 15, 2018.

  1. Jan 15, 2018 at 4:08 PM
    #1
    Koaboz

    Koaboz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #12236
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra Crewmax 5.7 4x4
    Level kit 35” tires, interior n lights.
    I’m usually pretty good when it comes to who puts their hands on my truck. Got injured at work my brothers friend said he can hook up after market speakers with a new aftermarket radio. No biggie right. I decided last week I want to change things out again due to one side always cutting out. I’m reading on line there’s speaker wire harness that plugs into the factory wire harness. I pull my front door panel off and the dude cut off the harness ends and just ran the speaker P n N to the wire! He cut all of them except my tweeters in the dash. What to do?
     
  2. Jan 15, 2018 at 4:23 PM
    #2
    muisejt

    muisejt New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Member:
    #9142
    Messages:
    98
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Sunset Bronze 1794 Edition 4x4
    Auburn LSD, TRD rear sway bar, LED interior lights, Weathertech floormats, Fumoto valve
    Koaboz [OP] likes this.
  3. Jan 15, 2018 at 4:30 PM
    #3
    Juanjoolio007

    Juanjoolio007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Member:
    #6618
    Messages:
    1,630
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2019 Silver Sky Platinum Crew Max
    Bed Rug, Tonneau cover, Window visors, Console organizer, Weather Tech's
    Am I reading that right. you have one side that cuts out so you want to change things? Did he install an aftermarket head unit? How did he connect the speaker wires? Is it red butt connectors? Sounds like the connections are weak. Maybe not a bad thing he ran new wire...maybe should have done better connections.
    I would ask him how everything was connected then just start lightly tugging on them. I bet you get the ones that cutout to separate.
     
  4. Jan 15, 2018 at 4:51 PM
    #4
    Koaboz

    Koaboz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #12236
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra Crewmax 5.7 4x4
    Level kit 35” tires, interior n lights.
    Thanks guys, my truck is the SR5 it didn’t come with GPS n Rear camera yet Toyota prewires it. I bought a plug n play aftermarket headunit, new door speakers and a amp with 2 12 subs. Lately I noticed the passenger side would cut out when it was on for a period of time, that’s when I investigated. I think it may be the amp. It has 2 RCA inputs but not a R L input like the headunit. I unplugged the RCA at the amp only one channel is working suppling all Door speakers n sub. I don’t know much about it, I do know he cut the dam harness ends off, thanks I appreciate it
     
  5. Jan 15, 2018 at 4:57 PM
    #5
    Koaboz

    Koaboz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #12236
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra Crewmax 5.7 4x4
    Level kit 35” tires, interior n lights.
    Yeah he cut the end of the harness off that plugged into the door speakers. He ran positive n negative to the two wires pink that fed the harness. I had good sound for a year it just started up with cutting out. I don’t think the amp is wired correctly. I bought a new amp it will be here tomorrow I’m just worried about him cutting of the harness plugs
     
  6. Jan 15, 2018 at 5:03 PM
    #6
    Koaboz

    Koaboz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #12236
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra Crewmax 5.7 4x4
    Level kit 35” tires, interior n lights.
    Also reading the forums Toyota uses high n low voltage 6 n12 v in their systems that’s why like the tweeters have 4 wires to the harness etc. I know you’re not supposed to cut those harness off n that’s why they sale the speaker harness adapters. It could be why the amp is only working on 1 channel now it fired it. I don’t know what to do with this thanks again
     
  7. Jan 15, 2018 at 5:07 PM
    #7
    joem1cha3l

    joem1cha3l New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4013
    Messages:
    1,960
    Albany, NY
    Vehicle:
    2016 Double Cab SR5 Blazing Blue Pearl
    BOSS Suspension, DB Customz Grill, 35's, Spyder, Tint, Color matched corners
    Cut the wires.

    all of them.
     
    Koaboz [OP] likes this.
  8. Jan 15, 2018 at 5:11 PM
    #8
    Koaboz

    Koaboz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #12236
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra Crewmax 5.7 4x4
    Level kit 35” tires, interior n lights.
    Lol n just put in a boom box
     
  9. Jan 15, 2018 at 5:20 PM
    #9
    Juanjoolio007

    Juanjoolio007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Member:
    #6618
    Messages:
    1,630
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2019 Silver Sky Platinum Crew Max
    Bed Rug, Tonneau cover, Window visors, Console organizer, Weather Tech's
    Ok. Now I get what your saying. Sounds like you may be getting into a can of warms. If you are replacing the amp and you think it may be wired wrong it might be worth it to grab a friend and a meter and start from the headunit and work your way to the doors. Make a list of everything you need to replace and just do it that way you know it is right.
    Hope your wiring isn’t too jacked and you get it figured out.
     
    Koaboz [OP] likes this.
  10. Jan 15, 2018 at 5:22 PM
    #10
    Koaboz

    Koaboz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #12236
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra Crewmax 5.7 4x4
    Level kit 35” tires, interior n lights.
    I appreciate it will do
     
  11. Jan 17, 2018 at 10:57 AM
    #11
    SMK Shoe

    SMK Shoe Not New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Member:
    #9822
    Messages:
    539
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Central North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TRD DC
    Step Bars, Rear Swaybar, 2,000 Watt Amp, 2-10" Subs, new door speakers, De-Badged, Hondo vent mounts, Calipers, 6112/5100 shocks, SPC UCA's, Front bumper, Bed Bars, bed rack, Fuel Rims
    It would suck, but I would plan on replacing all speaker wire with heavier wire. Not really needed unless you are putting in a Booming system, but you need to replace everything he touched. No idea what he butchered under the dash or behind the HU, Do it yourself and you know it's done right.
     
    Koaboz [OP] likes this.
  12. Jan 18, 2018 at 10:09 AM
    #12
    Koaboz

    Koaboz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #12236
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra Crewmax 5.7 4x4
    Level kit 35” tires, interior n lights.
    I checked all the wiring didn’t find any problems except for ground wire to the amp, moved it made it longer it’s fine. The problem now is the amp works fine with headunit n power on, but as soon as I turn the engine on it quits working, turn the engine off it works fine. Doesn’t blow any fuses nothing. Anyone know the source of the problem
     
  13. Jan 18, 2018 at 10:36 AM
    #13
    Juanjoolio007

    Juanjoolio007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Member:
    #6618
    Messages:
    1,630
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2019 Silver Sky Platinum Crew Max
    Bed Rug, Tonneau cover, Window visors, Console organizer, Weather Tech's
    Remote signal hooked to wrong wire? Loses power once ignition switch is released maybe.
     
  14. Jan 18, 2018 at 11:09 AM
    #14
    Koaboz

    Koaboz [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Member:
    #12236
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra Crewmax 5.7 4x4
    Level kit 35” tires, interior n lights.
    I checked the remote wire is fine, could it be the deck? There’s a huge delay when it’s turned on there’s a Toyota icon that comes on the screen first before the radio turns on, the amp turns on immediately before radio it also shuts off last after the radio turns off. Would a delay relay work to solve that. Maybe some of the other items that turn on like the camera uses 6 volts this is new to me thanks
     

Products Discussed in

To Top