1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Someone school me on TPMS - Swapped wheels

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by minter66, Mar 4, 2020.

  1. Mar 4, 2020 at 9:02 AM
    #1
    minter66

    minter66 [OP] 2007 TSS CrewMax

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Member:
    #25273
    Messages:
    437
    Alright, was tired of the flaking chrome on my 2007 TSS wheels, went to 20" 2014 wheels.

    I am getting mixed information. Some say the 2014 TPMS will work with 2007 ECU, some say it won't.

    I went to discount tire and they successfully identified the 2014 TPMS and plugged in via OBD2. Light went off, but came back flashing the very next start up.

    Found a guy here in D/FW that will swap all 4 sensors and program for $180. Can a dealership just reprogram the OEM 2014's to my 2007? Id rather have OEM than unknown TPMS.

    Edit: In hindsight, I should have just swapped my TPMS over, but it would require mount/balance fees for 8 wheels, which is a lot now a days ($20/wheel)
     
  2. Mar 4, 2020 at 9:12 AM
    #2
    Rex Kramer

    Rex Kramer Vinyl Spinner

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Member:
    #7181
    Messages:
    6,712
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2002 4.7L RCLB 4X4 2007 5.7L RCSB 4X2
    I threw my sensors out, the light flashes for about 90 seconds and then gives off a nice warm glow.
     
    Black Wolf likes this.
  3. Mar 4, 2020 at 9:13 AM
    #3
    minter66

    minter66 [OP] 2007 TSS CrewMax

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Member:
    #25273
    Messages:
    437
    As much as I love the LED that warms my hands, I HATE dash lights that are not green. Plus, when towing my RV, I like to know Im not below the PSI threshold
     
  4. Mar 4, 2020 at 9:43 AM
    #4
    Zebruaj

    Zebruaj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Member:
    #37139
    Messages:
    572
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    08 CM SR5
    Take it back to Discount Tire and see if they can re-pair the TPMS to the receiver. If it still doesn't work, then I would say 2.5 gen tpms are incompatible with a 2.0 gen tpms receiver.

    FWIW, one of my sensors was stuck/corroded and snapped when swapping to 1794 20's. Being they are probably the OEM and 12 yrs old, I opted to run rubber valve stems and put a piece of electrical tape over the indicator light. Back to the dinosaur days of manually checking my tire pressure weekly.
     
    Rex Kramer likes this.
  5. Mar 5, 2020 at 4:17 AM
    #5
    Jramsey89

    Jramsey89 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Member:
    #43497
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra Platinum
    I would at least attempt to take to another shop for reprogramming before I paid for anything. What should be attempted (maybe what discount tire tried) is to read the ids (every sensor has a unique identification number) and write the ids to the trucks tpms module. (You can also clone original sensor ids to new aftermarket sensors - maybe not with used factory - but since yours are gone....) At any rate a good shop would do this free of charge or at very little cost (mine would) and if that doesn't work you'd be looking at an aftermarket sensor swap
     
  6. Mar 5, 2020 at 4:27 AM
    #6
    chugs

    chugs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Member:
    #14330
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ciao
    Central Cali
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra Blue Streaker
    Bilstein 5100s

    I had a similar issue, but disabled the indicator light. Tpms was good idea, but after awhile was unreliable and not cost effective to chase a recurring problem.
     
    Rex Kramer likes this.
  7. Mar 5, 2020 at 4:32 AM
    #7
    Zebruaj

    Zebruaj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Member:
    #37139
    Messages:
    572
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    08 CM SR5
    There are days I'm tempted to do the wire bypass, but then I remind myself I want an easier "undo" on the off chance I buy new sensors in the future.
     
  8. Mar 5, 2020 at 5:07 AM
    #8
    chugs

    chugs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Member:
    #14330
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ciao
    Central Cali
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra Blue Streaker
    Bilstein 5100s
    Don't forget about the control module and the antenna.
     
  9. Mar 5, 2020 at 7:32 AM
    #9
    tundratim

    tundratim New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Member:
    #9462
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tim
    Vehicle:
    2017 tundra dcab
    the 07 truck monitors have a 7 number id,the 14 has an 8 number id
     
  10. Mar 5, 2020 at 7:34 AM
    #10
    minter66

    minter66 [OP] 2007 TSS CrewMax

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Member:
    #25273
    Messages:
    437
    So there is no way for the 14's to get input into the 07 ECM, there is simply not enough space for the Id's?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top