1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

...SO, my backup camera stopped working...

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Tundrazy, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. Jan 5, 2018 at 9:36 PM
    #1
    Tundrazy

    Tundrazy [OP] Eternal Newb

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Member:
    #1727
    Messages:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Vehicle:
    '17 CM Cement PRO
    Backup camera stopped working on the 2017 TRD Pro. I also noticed the GPS tag is crossed out on my map and the clock is also not showing anything. Any ideas before I head to the dealer for a warranty repair?
     
  2. Jan 6, 2018 at 5:31 AM
    #2
    ColoradoTJ

    ColoradoTJ My balls was hot Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Member:
    #2766
    Messages:
    13,839
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Colorado
    I would just let the dealership handle that.

    Check the simple stuff, like fuses.
     
  3. Jan 6, 2018 at 8:37 AM
    #3
    NewImprovedRon

    NewImprovedRon SouthBoundSteve Fan Club President

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    8,984
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    I found some fuse information for the engine compartment fuse box that shows fuse #21, a 30 amp fuse, labeled "AMP", that shows it controlling the audio system, rear view monitor, navigation system, and rear seat entertainment system. Also, fuse #22, a 15 amp fuse, labeled RAD NO 1, as controlling the audio system, rear view monitor, navigation system, and rear seat entertainment system. Could be one or both... A more in-depth question for me would be, if it is the fuse(s), what would have made them blow? Were you doing any work/mods on the truck before this happened? @ColoradoTJ probably has the best suggestion but I would check these fuses first just to satisfy my own curiosity.

    Edit.. The RAD fuse may be a 20 amp fuse. It is on my 2015. The information I posted above was for a 2011 fuse box, so double check the fuse locations with the fuse box cover diagram underneath it.
     
    joonbug, Pudge, mdavis and 3 others like this.
  4. Jan 6, 2018 at 4:09 PM
    #4
    Tundrazy

    Tundrazy [OP] Eternal Newb

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Member:
    #1727
    Messages:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Vehicle:
    '17 CM Cement PRO
    No I haven't touched anything electrically on the truck. I'll check the fuses, but I hope it isn't a blown fuse because then Chris is right, why did the fuse blow?
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  5. Aug 1, 2018 at 8:49 AM
    #5
    Danny360tundra

    Danny360tundra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Member:
    #17609
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Vehicle:
    2014 tundra 1794
    So did u find out what was the problem was I'm having the same issues
     
  6. Aug 1, 2018 at 2:58 PM
    #6
    Tundrazy

    Tundrazy [OP] Eternal Newb

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Member:
    #1727
    Messages:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Vehicle:
    '17 CM Cement PRO
    The entire head unit failed. Luckily the truck is still under warranty so they replaced it free of charge. Has been working fine ever since (7 months)
     

Products Discussed in

To Top