1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Replacing the stupid factory Remote Start

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014+)' started by Maddog94, Oct 19, 2016.

  1. Oct 19, 2016 at 9:50 AM
    #1
    Maddog94

    Maddog94 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Member:
    #3987
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    It's so dumb that it shuts off when you go to get in the truck, and I also hate the hazards flashing. I would like to explore my options for an aftermarket system.

    First, though, will the installer be able to completely remove the existing factory system? I don't want any remnants leftover interfering with the new system.

    Next, any recommendations for ones that you like?
     
  2. Oct 19, 2016 at 1:36 PM
    #2
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,785
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Yes
    Viper makes good ones. There are a few threads on this. Just conduct a quick search of "remote start" and you'll see quite a few options.
     
  3. Oct 19, 2016 at 1:39 PM
    #3
    TheBeast

    TheBeast Mr Line-X

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    1,099
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012 CM 4x4 TRD
    +1 viper. my buddy swears by his and I have seen it..I always get surprised when I talk to him outside and the truck starts on its own.. (gen2 rock warrrior)
     
  4. Oct 19, 2016 at 4:13 PM
    #4
    Maddog94

    Maddog94 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Member:
    #3987
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Okay but how about removing the factory remote start? Is it a module or something someplace? I would think it needs to be removed completely, no?
     
  5. Oct 19, 2016 at 4:20 PM
    #5
    too tall

    too tall New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Member:
    #3404
    Messages:
    114
    Compustar. That's what many dealers install and I have it. It's simple, works perfectly.
     
  6. Oct 19, 2016 at 4:55 PM
    #6
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    383
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Pro Inferno
    Your mom
    +1 on the viper, I have this and love it. If you get the GPS unit you can track you car (or wife, gf, etc) anywhere!!!

    I got mine installed at Best Buy and they just left the factory unit in. As long as you dont switch back n forth from the factory to the viper it won't hurt anything. They wanted more in labor to rip the old one out so I just left it.
     
  7. Oct 19, 2016 at 5:01 PM
    #7
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
  8. Oct 19, 2016 at 6:57 PM
    #8
    Randy Morton

    Randy Morton New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra Double Cab (I call it my Land Yacht)
    I had a Viper system installed and I highly recommend it. Check for a preferred dealer in your area, they can install it and guarantee both the unit and the installation. https://www.viper.com/wheretobuy/
     
  9. Oct 20, 2016 at 5:32 AM
    #9
    veg hed

    veg hed Thug

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Member:
    #3350
    Messages:
    181
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2016 Ta-Tundra
    I'm thinking about getting the remote start as well. About how much are they installed?
     
  10. Oct 20, 2016 at 6:57 AM
    #10
    ToyotaTundraMike

    ToyotaTundraMike Not A New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #2256
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra
    Wondering the same thing, also for those with the Viper system, which one did you go with? They have the option of 1 way or 2 way communication, and also "entry level", "basic", and "value".
     
  11. Oct 20, 2016 at 7:28 AM
    #11
    Randy Morton

    Randy Morton New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra Double Cab (I call it my Land Yacht)
    I went with the low end unit based on price. It has both alarm and remote start functions, and has a 1/4 mile range. The higher end units have a one mile range, and the top line unit links to your cell phone and has unlimited range. Mine was $300 including installation and a lifetime warranty on both the hardware and the installation. If you're in the Dallas/Ft Worth area, I recommend Bonnie and Clyde in Dallas. http://bncstereo.com/
     
  12. Oct 20, 2016 at 7:28 AM
    #12
    louscrw

    louscrw New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Member:
    #4829
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lou
    Warner Robins, Ga
    Vehicle:
    2015 MGM CM
    in signature
    I had Viper on my last truck. The 2 way communication is nice. The LCD screen on the fob tells you things like inside vehicle temperature, shows the countdown timer (mine would run for 12 minutes on remote start, but you could hit the button to extend it), and if the alarm is setoff, which sensor it is.
     
  13. Oct 20, 2016 at 7:42 AM
    #13
    ToyotaTundraMike

    ToyotaTundraMike Not A New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #2256
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra
    Thinking the basic 1/4 mile 1 way communication one will work for me as my goal is just to start it up while I'm getting ready for work as well as in the mornings during hunting season while I'm waking up and getting my stuff together. I'm assuming you already need to have your A/C knobs on the correct positions before you hit the start button for it to heat or cool down the car once activated?

    How does it work when you get in the truck and its already on? Do you just insert the key and turn and let go as usual?
     
  14. Oct 20, 2016 at 7:43 AM
    #14
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,785
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    There's also been a lot of discussion that it's not good to let the truck sit there for a while running without driving it.
     
  15. Oct 20, 2016 at 7:53 AM
    #15
    Tiger Tanker

    Tiger Tanker Tyranny doesn't leap, it creeps

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4929
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Tacoma WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Platinum Edition Tundra
    none so far
    I just bought my truck and I was wondering if I was doing something wrong. Wow, pretty stupid that the car has to stop before I get in? I kinda like starting my truck first with the idea it gets a proper warmup. I'm not mechanically inclined so.... "what is a good proper amount of time to let a car run before you put it into gear?" Thanks!
     
  16. Oct 20, 2016 at 7:54 AM
    #16
    Randy Morton

    Randy Morton New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra Double Cab (I call it my Land Yacht)
    Yes, you have to set the AC/Heat before you get out of the truck. When you get in the truck, turn the key on before you hit the brake to put it in gear, and away you go. There's also a "pit stop mode" that lets you take the key out and leave the engine running, exit the truck, and lock it, for those quick trips into the store.
     
    TheBeast likes this.
  17. Oct 20, 2016 at 7:56 AM
    #17
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,785
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
  18. Oct 20, 2016 at 8:25 AM
    #18
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    383
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Pro Inferno
    Your mom
    I bought mine through Best Buy who matched Amazon. Usually they offer free installation if you purchase through them but I think I paid like 50 bucks since they price matched. I went with the 2 way with GPS module and paid like 400 for everything. That included an upgraded LCD 2 way remote
     
    veg hed likes this.
  19. Oct 20, 2016 at 8:30 AM
    #19
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    383
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Pro Inferno
    Your mom
    I have a setting on my main remote that shuts the engine off if it runs for more than 3 minutes after turning it on via remote start. There have been times when I start it up in the morning and then get sidetracked... 10 mins and .9 MPGs later lol
     
    Sean266 likes this.
  20. Oct 20, 2016 at 8:57 AM
    #20
    Randy Morton

    Randy Morton New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra Double Cab (I call it my Land Yacht)
    The installer can set the Viper alarms for different times. Mine's set, I believe, for 20 minutes.
     
  21. Oct 20, 2016 at 8:59 AM
    #21
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    383
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Pro Inferno
    Your mom
    20 mins is a long time lol. I can set it through my remote and have it at 3 mins
     
  22. Oct 20, 2016 at 9:12 AM
    #22
    Randy Morton

    Randy Morton New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra Double Cab (I call it my Land Yacht)
    True, but I'm old and slow.
     
    boardude likes this.
  23. Oct 20, 2016 at 12:45 PM
    #23
    ToyotaTundraMike

    ToyotaTundraMike Not A New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #2256
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra
    Hmmm my local installer quoted me $500 for the basic 1/4 mile Viper Remote start that doesnt even have security or any of the extra features. Does that sound right?

    Said something about it requiring a special interface for the Tundra?
     
  24. Oct 20, 2016 at 12:51 PM
    #24
    Randy Morton

    Randy Morton New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra Double Cab (I call it my Land Yacht)
    Toyota's do require an extra module, but that's still $200 higher than I paid. Is your local guy one of the preferred installers? Here's what I have. https://www.viper.com/car/securityr...-level-1-way-security-and-remote-start-system
     
  25. Oct 20, 2016 at 1:08 PM
    #25
    ToyotaTundraMike

    ToyotaTundraMike Not A New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #2256
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra
    Yep it was actually the only preffered installer on that list and someone who specializes in car audio and security...but it also mentioned bestbuy as someone who could do it so I stopped by there and everything out the door was only $329. Needless to say I booked an appointment for monday.
     
    boardude likes this.
  26. Oct 20, 2016 at 1:17 PM
    #26
    ToyotaTundraMike

    ToyotaTundraMike Not A New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #2256
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra
    I guess I can see where a guy who does nothing but install those systems time could be more valuable than some electronic guy from bestbuy who is gonna be there anyway whether they have installs scheduled or not. Bestbuy probably doesnt mark it up for the install that way they can actually move the product since they probably dont sell too many of them. Supposably a 3.5 hour job. Those 3.5 hours plus the system probably cost the other guy much more than $329 if he does a lot of audio business as well.
     
  27. Oct 20, 2016 at 1:20 PM
    #27
    toddvr

    toddvr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Member:
    #4465
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Todd
    Geneva, IL
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra Platinum Crewmax
    TRD Pro Grille, De-Chromed, Powder-coated OEM Wheels Black, 2" Front leveling kit, Bakflip G2 cover, Bed Auto Lock, Stubby Ant., Husky Liners, Tinted front windows, Remote Start.
    Another Viper fan, installed mine with Pop and Lock tailgate locks and all works flawlessly.
     
  28. Oct 20, 2016 at 2:02 PM
    #28
    ToyotaTundraMike

    ToyotaTundraMike Not A New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #2256
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra
    Thinking ahead, it should make for a good time the first time I stay inside the house a minute while my g/f goes out to get in the truck and I start it up right as she walks around the bed past the muffler. Should setup a camera or something lol.
     
    Randy Morton and boardude like this.
  29. Oct 20, 2016 at 2:11 PM
    #29
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    383
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Pro Inferno
    Your mom
    Lol. One of our friends has a 5 year old and he thinks he has magic powers over the truck. When he waves his hand like magician I press the remote start in my pocket. He thinks its the coolest thing ever lol
     
    ToyotaTundraMike and Sean266 like this.
  30. Oct 20, 2016 at 2:56 PM
    #30
    Randy Morton

    Randy Morton New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra Double Cab (I call it my Land Yacht)
    You can make your own "Vader Kid" commercial. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ja3Rg0N1BWo
     
    RowdyRon likes this.
To Top