1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Replaced Kenwood for new Kenwood. Now cranks but won't start

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by calisparky, May 3, 2021.

  1. May 3, 2021 at 6:51 PM
    #1
    calisparky

    calisparky [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2020
    Member:
    #51197
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Vehicle:
    2011 tundra crew cab
    Last night I replaced the existing Kenwood for an other one I had. The truck prior was running great with no problems other than a battery that will need replaced pretty soon but now she cranks only with no start.
    Is there something under the dash for a "Cut off" or some security?
    Let me know of anything please.
    Appreciated.
     
  2. May 3, 2021 at 7:08 PM
    #2
    Danimal86

    Danimal86 What's a Dickfir?

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    3,589
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tundra SR5
    That's a bummer.

    I would start by checking every fuse.
     
    BrandonL812 likes this.
  3. May 4, 2021 at 9:40 AM
    #3
    RdKing

    RdKing Not A Roll Model

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Member:
    #40831
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Eastern Seaboard
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tundra Platinum 3R3 / Barcelona Red
    Roadtunes By: Taylor's Audio/Tech12Volts Alma GA. JBL Complete System
    Sounds like there may be a remote start unit thats not 'sure' about the battery disconnect and is putting it into safemode..... OP @calisparki
    Do you have that option?
     
    mountainpete likes this.
  4. May 4, 2021 at 10:44 AM
    #4
    ygoslow

    ygoslow New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2021
    Member:
    #62594
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    May seem silly, but your battery may have enough power to make starter noise but not quite start the engine. I spent years installing stereos professionally, we often leave the ignition on, dome lights lit, etc. during the installation process and it can be enough draw to put a battery close to the end of it's life over the edge. We have had to replace a few customers batteries who insisted we "ruined" their battery.

    If you already knew your battery is at the end of life, go ahead and replace it. Or, at least have someone check it.

    Other than that, there nothing in the radio harness, that you should be messing with, that would cause that. Cutting random unrelated wires to the radio.. yea that could be a problem.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2021
  5. May 4, 2021 at 5:30 PM
    #5
    calisparky

    calisparky [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2020
    Member:
    #51197
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Vehicle:
    2011 tundra crew cab
    To start, yeah. Every fuse is reading proper at both sides of each fuse.
    2. We bought the truck used, from a broker and have no idea if it's got remote start. We have the original fob from dealer, assuming since new.
    The battery situation...
    I have a pretty decent little charger/battery recon/engine start type of charger that also will work on trickle mode. So the battery situation shouldn't be an issue with the battery reading proper voltages even after attempted start.
    This thing is kicking my as.... I am not a professional mechanic nor have I ever been in the profession but I"ve certainly worked on a "few" different vehicles in my 52 years of starting turning wrench at 15 years old when dad and I rebuilt my first air cooled Vdub. (1 of many dozen). I know those things upside down, one armed, in the dark and a bad hangover. But these new damn vehicles.....
     
  6. May 5, 2021 at 2:27 AM
    #6
    RdKing

    RdKing Not A Roll Model

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Member:
    #40831
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Eastern Seaboard
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tundra Platinum 3R3 / Barcelona Red
    Roadtunes By: Taylor's Audio/Tech12Volts Alma GA. JBL Complete System
    calisparky, try this.......
    Disconnect the positive battery cable, put your key in the on position and reinstall the positive cable with the key turned on. If the truck has an aftermarket unit for autostart it make shake hands with it because you have the key and it needs to boot the unit up ‘hot’.

    Rich
     
    Black Wolf and TheBlackPearl like this.
  7. May 5, 2021 at 10:35 AM
    #7
    Twinky

    Twinky Keep the shinny side up!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Member:
    #15437
    Messages:
    884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Kemah, Texas chillin on my ChrisCraft 480
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab work horse
    Stereo upgrades: -HU, Pioneer Mvh bs501 -Tweeters, Peerless(vifa) XT25SC90-04 1" Dual Ring Radiator s in custom pods. -Mids, Silver Flute W17RC38-04 6.5" Wool Cone Woofer. -Subwoofer, American Bass XR12. 2.3^3ft tuned @33-34 hz. -Tw Amp, Old School 2ch Sony. -Mids Amp, Old School Autotek Sx275. -Sub Amp, Old School Memphis 16-pr1.1000 -Zero gauge big 3. 0 and 4 gauge copper runs to amps.
    Have you double checked your ground wire at the battery terminal and the other end that is bolted to the chassis.

    Have you checked your tail light fuse? My 07 won't let you do anything if your tail light fuse is bad. Its a long shot but i managed to blow that fuse when i was doing something with my head unit a while back.

    Was the new head unit pretty much just plug and play? If so, have you tried to put the older head unit back in to see if that fixes it?

    Did you have to remove any parts of your dash or center console?
     
  8. May 6, 2021 at 2:42 PM
    #8
    calisparky

    calisparky [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2020
    Member:
    #51197
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    Vehicle:
    2011 tundra crew cab
    Gentlemen.
    I have found the problem here.
    Now... realize... this is my wife's truck so no judgements please.
    I read on an other forum that someone stated they were showing 1/4 tank and put a couple gallons in and it solved the problem.
    I, myself am one of "those people"/OCD that would lose sleep when I hit less than half tank but my wife.... HA! She waits until the little light that looks like a gas can turns on to refuel any and all of the cars she's had, no matter what I insist and inform her.
    2 or so gallons later, turn the key and there she was... running like she had fuel again.

    Needless to say. My next stop in the truck was to the fuel station up the road and FILLED IT UP!
     
  9. May 6, 2021 at 2:49 PM
    #9
    Sundog

    Sundog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Member:
    #38050
    Messages:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2014 Red CM Tundra
    Now that is funny.


    https://youtu.be/AynXoLjYrKc
     
    Saltyhero13 likes this.
  10. May 6, 2021 at 4:21 PM
    #10
    CaptainGrumpus

    CaptainGrumpus The Mailman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2020
    Member:
    #43588
    Messages:
    1,128
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Tundra TRD
    At one point I was filling when the needle hit the 3/4 mark. I had to make myself drive till it got to a half of a tank. Im crazy about having a full gas tank.
     
  11. May 6, 2021 at 5:01 PM
    #11
    T-Rex266

    T-Rex266 Independentoffroad who? That's cute. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    54,647
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m always on my wife’s ass on her car
    Abojt fuel. She never pays attention until the fuel light comes on
    I can always tell u how much fuel I have an aprx mileage on odometer lol
     
  12. May 15, 2021 at 11:47 AM
    #12
    Twinky

    Twinky Keep the shinny side up!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Member:
    #15437
    Messages:
    884
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Kemah, Texas chillin on my ChrisCraft 480
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab work horse
    Stereo upgrades: -HU, Pioneer Mvh bs501 -Tweeters, Peerless(vifa) XT25SC90-04 1" Dual Ring Radiator s in custom pods. -Mids, Silver Flute W17RC38-04 6.5" Wool Cone Woofer. -Subwoofer, American Bass XR12. 2.3^3ft tuned @33-34 hz. -Tw Amp, Old School 2ch Sony. -Mids Amp, Old School Autotek Sx275. -Sub Amp, Old School Memphis 16-pr1.1000 -Zero gauge big 3. 0 and 4 gauge copper runs to amps.
    I know my Tundra doesnt get good gas mileage but i think i atleast get about one gallon per headunit swap.
     
    Saltyhero13 likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top