1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Remote Start?

Discussion in 'General Tundra Discussion' started by Stitchit, Aug 27, 2016.

  1. Aug 27, 2016 at 2:28 PM
    #1
    Stitchit

    Stitchit [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4341
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Did the 2014 Tundra Platinum come with remote start? Is there a way to look up the vin of same truck to see "exactly" what it has for all options?
     
  2. Aug 27, 2016 at 4:59 PM
    #2
    Mckeyleroy

    Mckeyleroy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4344
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wyatt
    Vehicle:
    2016 SR5 Tundra Crewmax 4x4
    The engineers thought it would be good if the remote start turned off when the door is opened...so you have to restart when you get in....go with a good aftermarket one. Works just like the Chevy and dodge.
     
  3. Aug 27, 2016 at 5:06 PM
    #3
    Randy Morton

    Randy Morton New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra Double Cab (I call it my Land Yacht)
    The dealer can look up all of the factory and dealer options by using the VIN. The dealer here couldn't figure out how to print it, though. As for factory vs aftermarket remote start, go with aftermarket if you don't already have one.
     
  4. Aug 27, 2016 at 5:06 PM
    #4
    Stitchit

    Stitchit [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4341
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Ok. Thanks for the info! So I take it the answer to my question would be that Toyota does in fact put remote starts on "ALL" 2014 Platinums?
     
  5. Aug 27, 2016 at 5:08 PM
    #5
    Stitchit

    Stitchit [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4341
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    I greatly appreciate your guys replies! I really do. But do all platinum come w remote start?
     
  6. Aug 27, 2016 at 7:52 PM
    #6
    Wynnded

    Wynnded Wait, what?

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #379
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    Rockies
    Vehicle:
    2011 RCSB 5.7L AWD Tundra
    OEM Upgrades
    Toyota can be unpredictable, but I would be surprised if a Platinum did not have remote start. The only way that I can think of to be positive would be to connect TechStream up to it and see if it is in there. The dealer will be able to do this, but I'm sure they'll want some money.
     
To Top