1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Remote Start in 2018 Platinum

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014-2021)' started by nakota, Sep 22, 2018.

  1. Sep 22, 2018 at 3:52 PM
    #1
    nakota

    nakota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Member:
    #19418
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix
    Question for the forum, and forgive me if it's been asked before (couldn't find any related posts)

    I have a new 2018 Platinum and I have a dealer installed remote start. I believe the system installed is either "Pursuit" or "Voxx" based on the registration cards I received from the dealer. When I start the truck with the remote start the seat memory buttons do not work and the seat does not move into the default driver 1 position, but both systems work normally when I start the truck traditionally. Does anyone know how to fix this?
    I contacted the dealer that installed the system when I purchased the vehicle and they say it's a known issue with the Platinum only and there is no solution to the problem. They recommend turning the truck off then restarting it to resume normal function. Just wondering if any of you guys have had any experience resolving this?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Sep 22, 2018 at 4:15 PM
    #2
    KnuckleHD

    KnuckleHD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Member:
    #14770
    Messages:
    1,410
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra CM Limited- Cement
    It’s possible that the remote start only turns the engine over and doesn’t turn on all “accesories”. Like most of the systems, if you put your foot on the brake and turn the key it will take over. I’d give that a shot first and then the seat will likely work as designed.
     
  3. Sep 22, 2018 at 5:37 PM
    #3
    Pudge

    Pudge Super Secret Elite Member #7

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Member:
    #5136
    Messages:
    9,481
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    CT
    Vehicle:
    2015 Blue Ribbon Platinum
    TRD PRO grille, OCD consol organizers, DIY wireless phone charger, 33" Michelin Defender LTX MS, Bak revolver X2 tonneau, weathertech liners, 20% tints. DIY pop n lock, 2018 LED headlights, morimoto fogs, TRD shift knob, DirtyDeeds 8"BAM exhaust, kenwood HU,JL amp, Tech12volts Tundra full speaker upgrade w/sub, Swing case, and lots of fluid film
    I have a 15 platinum and when I remote start mine I have to push the preset "1" button once I turn the key on. the steering wheel and my seat then move into place as normal
     
  4. Sep 22, 2018 at 5:51 PM
    #4
    nakota

    nakota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Member:
    #19418
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix
    After remote-starting the truck, In order to drive it, you have to put the key into the ignition, turn 2 clicks, then depress the brake for 5 seconds. Then the truck will drive and all other accessories work fine. However the seat memory buttons do nothing when you press them. Very strange problem that may just be the result of a CHEAP dealer installed remote start. Thank you for taking a look.
     
  5. Sep 22, 2018 at 5:54 PM
    #5
    nakota

    nakota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Member:
    #19418
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix
    Unfortunately the memory button does absolutely nothing when you press it if I start the car with remote start. If I turn off the car after the remote start and then start the car with the key in the ignition the seats return to normal function.
     
    Pudge likes this.
  6. Sep 22, 2018 at 5:59 PM
    #6
    Pudge

    Pudge Super Secret Elite Member #7

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Member:
    #5136
    Messages:
    9,481
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    CT
    Vehicle:
    2015 Blue Ribbon Platinum
    TRD PRO grille, OCD consol organizers, DIY wireless phone charger, 33" Michelin Defender LTX MS, Bak revolver X2 tonneau, weathertech liners, 20% tints. DIY pop n lock, 2018 LED headlights, morimoto fogs, TRD shift knob, DirtyDeeds 8"BAM exhaust, kenwood HU,JL amp, Tech12volts Tundra full speaker upgrade w/sub, Swing case, and lots of fluid film
    Damn that sucks man
     
  7. Sep 22, 2018 at 7:40 PM
    #7
    maharaj1

    maharaj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Member:
    #14490
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 1794 2WD
    I'd ask the dealer who installed it about the functionality of the remote starter system they installed. I have a 2-Way Excalibur system installed on my 2014 1794 Edition it functions as follows when using the remote start:

    All accessories work as normal. I have full control of climate control, windows, seats etc. Truck functions as if I have put the key in the ignition and started it. However if I put my foot on the brake before putting the key into the switch and turning it to the "Run" position it will shut the truck down completely and I'll have to restart it.

    Most remote starters/alarms have programmable options that can be changed. Excalibur for example has some that can be changed by the individual owner and some that are "installer" options that only qualified personnel are supposed to alter. If you don't get anywhere by talking to the dealership I'd do some digging into the manufacturer who makes your alarm to see if there are any of these options available for you particular system.
     
    nakota [OP] likes this.
  8. Sep 22, 2018 at 8:07 PM
    #8
    ardnutoz

    ardnutoz

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Member:
    #13679
    Messages:
    1,029
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    OZ
    SE-PA
    Vehicle:
    2018 Black TRD OR CM Limited
    if i have to guess at it, when you remote start there is no key fob in the truck. whatever module controls user specific features such as memory seats dont know what to do because it doesnt see a fob to associate the functions to that driver.

    by inserting your key and "taking over" you still dont see the result you want because that module is still powered up and defaulted to nothing, and when you power off cycle the key it recognizes the driver and re-enables itself.

    just my thoughts...
     
    Boerseun, nakota [OP] and Pudge like this.
  9. Sep 23, 2018 at 7:45 AM
    #9
    nakota

    nakota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Member:
    #19418
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix
    I think you're exactly right. Just seems odd that the seat memory buttons are completely non-functional. I cant figure out why the buttons do not work.
     
  10. Sep 25, 2018 at 4:50 AM
    #10
    nodak67

    nodak67 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Member:
    #9510
    Messages:
    545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JR
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra Platinum BBP CM 4x4 5.7L
    if I remember correctly, some remote starts bypass the vehicle and remote start them (some even unlock, start, relock). its not until you turn the key to on and depress the brake pedal that the vehicle ecu takes over and then all modules wake up.

    I have this same issue with our remote start (which is a compustar remote start module but a 3rd part service, mycarcontrols).

    the memory seat buttons will not work until after you depress the brake pedal so the remote start knows to release takeover and hand control back to the engine ecu.

    another way to tell, if your drl led lights are really bright during remote start then go back to a dimmer output after you takeover from the remote start.
     
  11. Sep 25, 2018 at 1:09 PM
    #11
    Baldmonkey22

    Baldmonkey22 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Member:
    #15292
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    Quartz Hill, Ca
    i installed my own viper RS and you need all the 12v sources to be powered otherwise some things wont work till the key is turned on. i can remote start get in and push the memory button and it will adjust the seat and steering wheel but it wont do it automatically because that is part of the start procedure when a fob is detected.
     
  12. Sep 25, 2018 at 1:45 PM
    #12
    nakota

    nakota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Member:
    #19418
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix
    That makes sense. My seat memory button is inoperable even after the key is turned on. Unless I completely turn off truck, then restart with key then all is well
     
  13. Sep 25, 2018 at 3:38 PM
    #13
    Baldmonkey22

    Baldmonkey22 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Member:
    #15292
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    Quartz Hill, Ca
    Most systems shut down when the brake pedal is pressed, so try putting your key in and turning it to run then press your brake so the key takes over then try your memory seat button.
     
  14. Sep 25, 2018 at 5:37 PM
    #14
    nakota

    nakota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Member:
    #19418
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix
    Thanks! You’re right!!
     
    Baldmonkey22 likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top