1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Recalibrate Speedo

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by DMBfan, Sep 6, 2018.

  1. Sep 6, 2018 at 8:23 PM
    #1
    DMBfan

    DMBfan [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Member:
    #8495
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    So I just pulled the trigger and went to my local motorsports shop and put a 6"BDS lift w/ 35" tires on my Tundra (looks sharp). I have read the speedometer should be re-calibrated since the tire size has changed. Does anyone know if this is true?
     
  2. Sep 6, 2018 at 8:23 PM
    #2
    T-Rex266

    T-Rex266 T-Rex Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    26,821
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Yes
     
    Sas likes this.
  3. Sep 6, 2018 at 8:24 PM
    #3
    Rica25

    Rica25 Got Bam?

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Member:
    #11380
    Messages:
    1,495
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2008 Super White Tundra
    TRD sway bar...addictive audio sub woofer.....Volant intake.....Black Rhino Glamis wheels....Billstein adjustable shocks
    How do you recalibrate
     
  4. Sep 6, 2018 at 8:26 PM
    #4
    T-Rex266

    T-Rex266 T-Rex Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    26,821
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Hypertech speedo calibrator can do it
     
    Sefferston and Sas like this.
  5. Sep 7, 2018 at 5:44 AM
    #5
    Sas

    Sas Humor is everywhere

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Member:
    #17087
    Messages:
    2,159
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    OKC, OK
    Vehicle:
    '17 SR5 CM TSS 4WD MGM 5.7 FF
    Lost track after #1.
    Looks like a pretty easy plug and play install. Saves me $100 by just buying the thing and doing it myself.
     
  6. Sep 7, 2018 at 5:44 AM
    #6
    DMBfan

    DMBfan [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Member:
    #8495
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    Shouldn't the shop have done this?
     
  7. Sep 7, 2018 at 5:48 AM
    #7
    4Runner

    4Runner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Member:
    #11628
    Messages:
    443
    Gender:
    Male
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2017 Black Limited FFV
    Magnuson Supercharged, ToyTec 3/1.5 BOSS Suspension Lift, TRD Exhaust, TRD Rear Sway, BajaDesigns Squadron Sport Fogs, HeadLight Revolution Stealth LightBar
    I guess if they carry the Hypertech they could have offered as an option. I’m just living with mine be off a few mph.
     
  8. Sep 7, 2018 at 6:09 AM
    #8
    Sas

    Sas Humor is everywhere

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Member:
    #17087
    Messages:
    2,159
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    OKC, OK
    Vehicle:
    '17 SR5 CM TSS 4WD MGM 5.7 FF
    Lost track after #1.
    Mine will be about 6 mph faster when going 70 mph. That's a little too much for my liking.
     
  9. Sep 7, 2018 at 7:12 AM
    #9
    Rica25

    Rica25 Got Bam?

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Member:
    #11380
    Messages:
    1,495
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2008 Super White Tundra
    TRD sway bar...addictive audio sub woofer.....Volant intake.....Black Rhino Glamis wheels....Billstein adjustable shocks
    Exactly the same here
     
  10. Sep 7, 2018 at 7:14 AM
    #10
    ChrisTRDPro

    ChrisTRDPro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Member:
    #9672
    Messages:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    MT
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TRD Pro CM
    Not only is the speedo off, the odometer will be off too. It adds up fast how quickly that thing gets out of whack.
     
    Sas likes this.
  11. Sep 7, 2018 at 7:15 AM
    #11
    Rica25

    Rica25 Got Bam?

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Member:
    #11380
    Messages:
    1,495
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2008 Super White Tundra
    TRD sway bar...addictive audio sub woofer.....Volant intake.....Black Rhino Glamis wheels....Billstein adjustable shocks
    How much does it run for the hypertech part?
     
  12. Sep 7, 2018 at 7:39 AM
    #12
    Sas

    Sas Humor is everywhere

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Member:
    #17087
    Messages:
    2,159
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    OKC, OK
    Vehicle:
    '17 SR5 CM TSS 4WD MGM 5.7 FF
    Lost track after #1.
  13. Sep 7, 2018 at 7:45 AM
    #13
    Rica25

    Rica25 Got Bam?

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Member:
    #11380
    Messages:
    1,495
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2008 Super White Tundra
    TRD sway bar...addictive audio sub woofer.....Volant intake.....Black Rhino Glamis wheels....Billstein adjustable shocks
    Besides calibrating does it do anything else
     
  14. Sep 17, 2018 at 5:17 PM
    #14
    mfire01

    mfire01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Member:
    #15888
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Blazing blue pearl TRD
    i just installed a hypertech 730119 on my 2017 tundra CM. I went from a 255/70/18 to a 305/55/20. I cannot get my speedo correct with the hypertech. I have contacted hypertech and they just keep telling me to play with it until its corrected. My speed is off 2 miles an hour faster than speedo is showing. I can get it to match my GPS speed but then my odometer is off my 3 to 4 tenths which adds up. does anyone have a suggestion?
     
  15. Sep 17, 2018 at 5:21 PM
    #15
    ChrisTRDPro

    ChrisTRDPro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Member:
    #9672
    Messages:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    MT
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TRD Pro CM
    The odometer is based off the speed. How do you know the odo is wrong? If you can get the speed correct, stick with that.
     
  16. Sep 17, 2018 at 5:30 PM
    #16
    mfire01

    mfire01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Member:
    #15888
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Blazing blue pearl TRD
    i can set the speed using my garmin GPS. I can get on the interstate and stop at the mile marker. I reset my trip on and reset the GPS at the next mile marker the gps is right but my truck is at 7 to 8 tenths of a mile. but the speed is dead on. thats why i'm confused. I can take my wifes camry and test it and it is dead on with the gps and miles.
     
  17. Sep 17, 2018 at 5:50 PM
    #17
    Sas

    Sas Humor is everywhere

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Member:
    #17087
    Messages:
    2,159
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    OKC, OK
    Vehicle:
    '17 SR5 CM TSS 4WD MGM 5.7 FF
    Lost track after #1.
    Not all tires are sized exactly the same. You can either look up the exact tire size by the manufacturer and try using the equivalent of whatever size that is, or keep changing the height of the tire until you find one that works.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top