1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need new Router

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Berdine, Feb 19, 2020.

  1. Feb 19, 2020 at 2:16 PM
    #1
    Berdine

    Berdine [OP] Voodoo Sport

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Member:
    #8877
    Messages:
    1,869
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Binghamton, NY
    Vehicle:
    2020 VooDoo Blue Trd Sport
    I currently have a netgear ac1750 r6300v2. It just isn't cutting it anymore with iPads, switches, roku's, firesticks, phones, etc. My strongest is 58mbps right next to it in same room.

    Looking into netgear x6s ac4000.

    Any info/suggestions would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. Feb 19, 2020 at 2:23 PM
    #2
    Scud

    Scud New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Member:
    #9069
    Messages:
    311
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2017 1794 Tundra Super White
    Working on it :-)
    zach_attack4 and Berdine [OP] like this.
  3. Feb 19, 2020 at 2:28 PM
    #3
    Berdine

    Berdine [OP] Voodoo Sport

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Member:
    #8877
    Messages:
    1,869
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Binghamton, NY
    Vehicle:
    2020 VooDoo Blue Trd Sport
    Our house is about 1800 sq ft ranch. I have the modem in our finished basement and the router on the 1st floor. We stream to our back deck alot in the summertime too. I was looking for something bigger for future upgrades and garage addition coming soon for the tundra and sequoia
     
  4. Feb 19, 2020 at 2:37 PM
    #4
    Sas

    Sas Humor is everywhere

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Member:
    #17087
    Messages:
    4,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    OKC, OK
    Vehicle:
    '17 SR5 CM TSS 4WD MGM 5.7 FF
    Lost track after #1.
    Not sure if you need a combo modem/router, but if you do I ended out getting the NETGEAR Nighthawk Dual-Band AC3200 Router with 32 x 8 DOCSIS 3.1 Cable Modem. It was expensive (and is compatible w/my cable company), but has been well worth it.
     
    jtwags and Berdine [OP] like this.
  5. Feb 19, 2020 at 2:54 PM
    #5
    abomb60

    abomb60 Maker of things

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Member:
    #27904
    Messages:
    916
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 1794 MGM
    Problem you may run into is having the single WiFi access point (in this case built into the router) not being able to cover the area where you want good WiFi. In this case you're better off turning WiFi off on your router and picking up a couple access points and distributing them throughout the house.

    Ubiquiti makes some great low cost AP's that will do this. Cool part is if you don't have the ethernet cabling to get AP's where you need them they will automatically mesh off each other over wireless to get to the one that has an ethernet connection (this one would be near your router). Only slight hiccup here is you need to run their free management software on a PC somewhere to configure them and "adopt" the AP's into the network or they have a "cloud key" which does the same thing but at an extra cost.

    EDIT: Also wondering what your Internet connection speed is both up & down?
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2020
    Vr0ck and Berdine [OP] like this.
  6. Feb 19, 2020 at 2:55 PM
    #6
    BamaMan44

    BamaMan44 Roll Tide Roll! Bama Fan till I die! & Go 'Hawks!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Member:
    #33261
    Messages:
    731
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andre
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    Trailbreaker - 2017 Black CrewMax SR5 4x4
  7. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:04 PM
    #7
    TheBeast

    TheBeast The Beach

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    12,028
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012
    Mesh Network paired with solid Internet from your ISP. I use EERO with 2 beacons. 25 to 30 devices on and no issues :)
     
    plinyyounger and Berdine [OP] like this.
  8. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:08 PM
    #8
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    7,607
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    I tried a new Netgear router and it made no improvement. I upgraded my Fios to the 200/200 and added the Orbi mesh system to extend the range. I had weak signal to my Ring cameras. The Orbi took care of that. I got mine at Best Buy.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  9. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:17 PM
    #9
    abomb60

    abomb60 Maker of things

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Member:
    #27904
    Messages:
    916
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 1794 MGM
    I've found a lot of it has to do with removing as much overhead from the router as possible. If you live alone and have a couple devices yeah you're probably fine letting the router handle it all. But if you have a family with a few devices each, plus all the "smart" crap out there (TV's, dishwashers, stoves, ovens, refridgerators, Alexa's, etc) then it starts to snowball and the router can't keep up with all the devices. Again remember these were designed as layer 3 routers not layer 2 switches and were built by the lowest bidder for your ISP.

    Personally first time I started having issues with my Fios router I took all that stuff out of it. Grabbed an Intel NUC and put VMWare on it. Now DHCP, primary DNS, firewall and a bunch of other stuff isn't handled by the router which means I haven't had to reboot the router for years. Last thing to move from it was the wireless which now consists of multiple Ubiquiti indoor AC AP's (might add an outdoor this spring) with their own SSID (well multiple but that's for another day) but I left the SSID enabled on the Fios router and this is pretty much my "dirty" WLAN. This is where devices that don't need to contact anything else on my normal LAN/WLAN go. This is for Alexa's, IOT devices such as appliances, etc and policy is enforced between my router and inside LAN/WLAN with a Ubiquiti firewall.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  10. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:25 PM
    #10
    Papagriff

    Papagriff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Member:
    #37055
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 crewmax Sr5
    I LOVE my mesh google WiFi routers!
     
    plinyyounger and Berdine [OP] like this.
  11. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:25 PM
    #11
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson It’s funny because it’s bigger than a normal hat.

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    2,666
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM TRD Off Road
    TRD Pro suspension, Falken AT3w's, wireless CarPlay, sub/amp, front camera, remote start w/ phone app, DIY pop-n-lock, footwell lighting, USB chargers, center console wireless charger, debadged, stickers and stuff
    I'm also one for the Orbi. Ubiquiti is really nice too, I was just able to get a better deal on the Orbi 3 pak vs a similar setup from Ubiquiti. My house is basically a giant L, and I ran into range issues when I had my office out in my 3rd car garage.
     
    plinyyounger and Berdine [OP] like this.
  12. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:30 PM
    #12
    e30cabrio

    e30cabrio I'm e30cabrio, I'm a modaholic

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Member:
    #10410
    Messages:
    1,261
    Gender:
    Male
    West Valley, Phoenix, Az.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Crewmax, 2013 Sequoia Limited
    Sequoia LED Headlights! D.T. L.T. headers, dual exh., BDX, S&B intake, 2018 seat skins.
    I have close to 40 devices at peak across our 2700sq/ft house, .25 acre back yard and into the street 1/2 block I get great speed.

    I pay for 300MB.

    IMG_5980.jpg IMG_5982.jpg IMG_5981.jpg
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  13. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:31 PM
    #13
    abomb60

    abomb60 Maker of things

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Member:
    #27904
    Messages:
    916
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 1794 MGM
    Also thinking about this a bit more your original issue of 58 mbps while sitting next to the router may not actually be a router issue at all but rather a wireless device issue. Devices on a single SSID and frequency (2.4 or 5GHz) are always subject to the max speed limit of the slowest connected device. Now this could be an older device that only supports maybe 802.11g (which is 54 mbps and close to what you report) ... which means on that SSID and frequency no one is going any faster than 54 mbps or it could be a device on the fringes of WLAN coverage that is bringing the overall speed for everyone else down. This is why 5GHz preference for supported devices, AP roaming, and forced disassociation is all part of the 802.11 spec now.

    Potential solution to this is to set up either the same or a new SSID on your router at 5GHz and see what happens when you connect to that. If your router doesn't support that then change the SSID name temporarily and connect to it from a single device. I'm not a betting man but i'll make the $1 bet that your problems go away when you're next to the router.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  14. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:33 PM
    #14
    abomb60

    abomb60 Maker of things

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Member:
    #27904
    Messages:
    916
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 1794 MGM
    Let's just hope you don't have to upload anything!
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  15. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:38 PM
    #15
    e30cabrio

    e30cabrio I'm e30cabrio, I'm a modaholic

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Member:
    #10410
    Messages:
    1,261
    Gender:
    Male
    West Valley, Phoenix, Az.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Crewmax, 2013 Sequoia Limited
    Sequoia LED Headlights! D.T. L.T. headers, dual exh., BDX, S&B intake, 2018 seat skins.
    I don't care about upload speeds. It's plenty for my ring cameras.
     
    Berdine [OP] and abomb60 like this.
  16. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:43 PM
    #16
    abomb60

    abomb60 Maker of things

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Member:
    #27904
    Messages:
    916
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 1794 MGM
    I would still check with the ISP and see what the advertised upload rate should be at that tier. I would expect at least half of the download speed but I guess it will vary between ISP’s.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  17. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:44 PM
    #17
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson It’s funny because it’s bigger than a normal hat.

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    2,666
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM TRD Off Road
    TRD Pro suspension, Falken AT3w's, wireless CarPlay, sub/amp, front camera, remote start w/ phone app, DIY pop-n-lock, footwell lighting, USB chargers, center console wireless charger, debadged, stickers and stuff
    If he's got the same as me, it's 300/30.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  18. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:47 PM
    #18
    abomb60

    abomb60 Maker of things

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Member:
    #27904
    Messages:
    916
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 1794 MGM
    Fair enough! I will thank the lord tonight that I was able to get Fios here.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  19. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:49 PM
    #19
    e30cabrio

    e30cabrio I'm e30cabrio, I'm a modaholic

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Member:
    #10410
    Messages:
    1,261
    Gender:
    Male
    West Valley, Phoenix, Az.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Crewmax, 2013 Sequoia Limited
    Sequoia LED Headlights! D.T. L.T. headers, dual exh., BDX, S&B intake, 2018 seat skins.
    I am with Cox. They suck but the internet works as promised.
     
    Berdine [OP] and TRDFerguson like this.
  20. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:51 PM
    #20
    Theonlyway

    Theonlyway I am all that is man

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Member:
    #9046
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    User
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra crewmax trd or
    I have the xr700 from netgear. It’s awesome. More than what most providers can even put out so it won’t be obsolete anytime soon and has dumas. Tons of built in features. I have over 400 mbps service and 6 people run all their stuff without any lag at all
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  21. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:53 PM
    #21
    TRDFerguson

    TRDFerguson It’s funny because it’s bigger than a normal hat.

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Member:
    #20730
    Messages:
    2,666
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM TRD Off Road
    TRD Pro suspension, Falken AT3w's, wireless CarPlay, sub/amp, front camera, remote start w/ phone app, DIY pop-n-lock, footwell lighting, USB chargers, center console wireless charger, debadged, stickers and stuff
    I've got Gigablast available here, but there's not much of a motivator for me to get it. We haven't had any issues since upgrading to this speed a couple years ago.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  22. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:57 PM
    #22
    DSTundra

    DSTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Member:
    #14880
    Messages:
    163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Albuquerque, NM
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra Platinum
    Linksys EA9500 Tri-band AC5400. I have dozens of devices, both wired and wireless and it rocks when combined with a DOCSIS 3.1 modem and gig speed connection.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  23. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:57 PM
    #23
    Berdine

    Berdine [OP] Voodoo Sport

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Member:
    #8877
    Messages:
    1,869
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Binghamton, NY
    Vehicle:
    2020 VooDoo Blue Trd Sport
    Thanks for all the replies! Going through and looking up all your suggestions.

    The 58mbps is on the 5g

    I have spectrum internet, thinknits supposed to be 100mbs, I'm calling them tomorrow
     
  24. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:58 PM
    #24
    plinyyounger

    plinyyounger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2019
    Member:
    #34174
    Messages:
    238
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken
    El Dorado Hills
    Vehicle:
    19, Tundra limited TRD off road
    I have eero, they work very well. It’s my second system and works as good as the first one in another house. I also installed a eero in a friends house, the newest version, it also works flawlessly after they had big issues with a single point of access. I’d go with eero, google, orbi, as well as a few other I haven't mentioned. But mesh is the way to go without a doubt.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  25. Feb 19, 2020 at 4:01 PM
    #25
    e30cabrio

    e30cabrio I'm e30cabrio, I'm a modaholic

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Member:
    #10410
    Messages:
    1,261
    Gender:
    Male
    West Valley, Phoenix, Az.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Crewmax, 2013 Sequoia Limited
    Sequoia LED Headlights! D.T. L.T. headers, dual exh., BDX, S&B intake, 2018 seat skins.
    Gigablast is here too 300 is more than enough.

    I have had several games streaming while the Wife streams a 4k movie and kids are gaming no problem.

    We pay 250 a month for all the movie channels, sports etc internet and phone with unlimited international calling. The contract is up in December and I can't change until then. We'll see what happens then.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  26. Feb 19, 2020 at 4:02 PM
    #26
    abomb60

    abomb60 Maker of things

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Member:
    #27904
    Messages:
    916
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 1794 MGM
    Do it! ;)

    Capture.jpg
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  27. Feb 19, 2020 at 4:52 PM
    #27
    Berdine

    Berdine [OP] Voodoo Sport

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Member:
    #8877
    Messages:
    1,869
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Binghamton, NY
    Vehicle:
    2020 VooDoo Blue Trd Sport
  28. Feb 19, 2020 at 5:08 PM
    #28
    NOLA Tundra

    NOLA Tundra Sandbagging

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Member:
    #39760
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jesse
    Vehicle:
    2019 Quicksand CM
    3” level leds all around Morimoto headlight and fog light bulbs Flowmaster American Thunder
    I have a mesh system it’s perfect my router/ modem is center of my house extenders on 4 corners. Only issue I have, I’m not on a fiber network yet. Wish they would get off their a$$ and finish putting it in. I work for the company so it really sucks I don’t have it lol.
     
    Berdine [OP] likes this.
  29. Feb 19, 2020 at 5:15 PM
    #29
    purplenova

    purplenova Not a new member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Member:
    #21513
    Messages:
    705
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra Crewmax SR5
    Pillar Tape, Bullet Liner, 20% Tint, Tyger Star Armor Kenwood amp & AudioControl LC7i Tech12volts JL Tweeters
    Do you have all your devices running on the same band or are they split between the 2.4 band and the 5.0 band?
     
  30. Feb 19, 2020 at 5:23 PM
    #30
    Berdine

    Berdine [OP] Voodoo Sport

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Member:
    #8877
    Messages:
    1,869
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Binghamton, NY
    Vehicle:
    2020 VooDoo Blue Trd Sport
    Split between the 2 bands, I try to keep them on the 5g, but depends on what the kids are doing or if we're streaming a movie. Like I keep our phones and iPads for youtube on the 2.4, but the roku's, firesticks, on the 5g they're not on all at once
     
    purplenova likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top