1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need help with programming TPMS oem Toyota Tundra

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Dabutcher, Jun 27, 2018.

  1. Jun 27, 2018 at 7:46 PM
    #1
    Dabutcher

    Dabutcher [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Member:
    #9359
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    D
    Twin Cities
    Vehicle:
    2008 Nautica Blue Tundra SR5 CM 4x4 Beauty
    Toytec Boss coilover, Ray10’s ,Ridge Grapplers,Bilstein 5100,BAM 8”,TRD sway,
    So I just busted a big nut and bought new Ridge Grapplers and Ray10’s . Close to 3K all said and done. Old oem rims had TPMS but always threw a bad code. Discount Tire where I bought new RG’s said that the batteries only last about ten years. So at first I decided to go without with my new set up. Discount tire wanted $55 each to install all new ones. So I said screw it and went without none. A few days after new tire and rim install. I think ,shit I spent all this money might as well get new TPMS’s . Called my local Maplewood Toyota. $105.79 each. Because of this forum I new of Sparks Toyota Colorado. Contacted them through this forum and got four correct ones shipped to me for 245.00 with tax and shipping. Went back to Discount tire today who said they could install them for me for free. They were worried about my spare having a bad one in it? I call Maplewood Toyota and they said there is not one in spare. Anyways I get done at discount tire and guy programmed them or something and light was still on? He said you have to drive it a bit for it to go off. Never went off so I call Maplewood Toyota and they said it is proprietary and only they {Toyota},can register new sensors and they said it is not free. $65.00 if he can read each ones number from the outside or $125.00 if he has to get inside rim to read new sensor? Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. D
     
  2. Jun 27, 2018 at 8:08 PM
    #2
    Blueknights75

    Blueknights75 WHITE is the fastest color!!!!!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Member:
    #15276
    Messages:
    411
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Raleigh, NC
    Vehicle:
    2018 White SR5 TRD CM
    Rugged 2 tri fold tonneau cover, spray in bed liner, bed extender, window tint, color matched side mirrors, color matched door handles, TRD Pro center caps, TRD Pro shift knob, tailgate keyfob actuator, ESP under seat storage unit mod...more to come
  3. Jun 27, 2018 at 8:10 PM
    #3
    Sterlinglwood

    Sterlinglwood Never enough!

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Member:
    #13671
    Messages:
    277
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sterling
    Newbury Park, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra Double Cab SR5 4X4
    When I had my new wheels and tires mounted and balanced the shop broke the very first sensor. Was in the same situation. Told them F it just mount without sensors and I’ll take care of it later. Found cheap ones online but am skeptical. I don’t need the warning but hate the light. Think I’m going to do the mod to trick the sensor.
     
  4. Jun 27, 2018 at 8:12 PM
    #4
    Agitated1

    Agitated1 Newish Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Member:
    #5240
    Messages:
    309
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra Crewmax TRD 4x4 Quicksand
    TRD Pro Grill King Coilovers with compression adjuster Tint 5% Rear, 30% front and 70% windshield Husky X-Act Floor liners BA Muffler 8in standard system Truck Covers USA retractable bed cover Yakima bed rails
    Toyota is full of crap when they say they are they only one who can program the tpms. One of my tires blew on the trail almost a year ago and I had to buy a new sensor and my mechanic reprogrammed it for me after it was installed. He did not need to have the serial number for it.
    America’s tire/Discount tire should be able to program it as well. I bought my Coopers from them and they installed the tpms on my Ray 10’s. I added a full size spare with a new sensor and they programmed that as well. I think my installer said I can have up to 6 sensors programmed.
     
  5. Jun 27, 2018 at 8:32 PM
    #5
    jeremyd

    jeremyd 2014 Crewmax SR5

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Member:
    #3336
    Messages:
    210
    NV
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 CM 4X4
    ProComp 6" 35/12.50/18
    Ok so all of the new sensors are in place, the hard part is over. Just find another Discount tire to program the sensors. It's all in the programming...It's annoying because these people do not know there job. The one kid told me to drive around for approx 30 miles for it to learn the system !
     
  6. Jul 2, 2018 at 3:32 PM
    #6
    Dabutcher

    Dabutcher [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Member:
    #9359
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    D
    Twin Cities
    Vehicle:
    2008 Nautica Blue Tundra SR5 CM 4x4 Beauty
    Toytec Boss coilover, Ray10’s ,Ridge Grapplers,Bilstein 5100,BAM 8”,TRD sway,
    Went back to same Discount. Cannot get light to go off. He said Toyota has to do it because of the baseline difference from stock tire 30-33 psi to now 45-55 psi? Went to a different Discount tire and guy was sure he could help me. Said he know all the tricks. Could not help. Said the same baseline needs to be changed by Toyota. Peace. D
     
  7. Jul 2, 2018 at 3:36 PM
    #7
    jeremyd

    jeremyd 2014 Crewmax SR5

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Member:
    #3336
    Messages:
    210
    NV
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 CM 4X4
    ProComp 6" 35/12.50/18
    baseline difference ?? i'm lost on that one.
     
  8. Jul 2, 2018 at 4:21 PM
    #8
    trainracer

    trainracer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Member:
    #1127
    Messages:
    189
    I had a blowout and broke a sensor Discount tire installed a new sensor and programed it and I change tires and now run lt size tire with a pressure of 50 psi with no problem
     
  9. Jul 2, 2018 at 4:28 PM
    #9
    Grey Wolf

    Grey Wolf ELITE Grey Wolf Crew

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    16,018
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, and S/T Maxx's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles. Custom dual true dual exhaust. Body Armor Rock Steps, Smittybilt X20 winch, DV8 winch bumper
    Outside preset adjustment window. But may have nothing to do with this situation.
     
  10. Jul 2, 2018 at 5:40 PM
    #10
    jeremyd

    jeremyd 2014 Crewmax SR5

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Member:
    #3336
    Messages:
    210
    NV
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 CM 4X4
    ProComp 6" 35/12.50/18
    That does indeed make sense to me. I don't think they can change the Computer tire pressures, maybe just a dealer thing.. I run 35's but also still run 30 in the front and 33 in the rear.
     
  11. Jul 2, 2018 at 5:40 PM
    #11
    Over the LINE

    Over the LINE New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Member:
    #3273
    Messages:
    378
    Gender:
    Male
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited CM 4 x 4
    Toytec -Duratrac -Expedition One-Fab Fours
    Have you tried the little button next to the steering column that "learns" the current psi?
     
    jberry813 likes this.
  12. Jul 2, 2018 at 5:45 PM
    #12
    jberry813

    jberry813 The Mad Scientist Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #68
    Messages:
    1,484
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum, 2012 Tacoma, 2007 T4R
    Metric shit ton of parts
    Winner winner chicken dinner
     
  13. Jul 3, 2018 at 3:32 AM
    #13
    Dabutcher

    Dabutcher [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Member:
    #9359
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    D
    Twin Cities
    Vehicle:
    2008 Nautica Blue Tundra SR5 CM 4x4 Beauty
    Toytec Boss coilover, Ray10’s ,Ridge Grapplers,Bilstein 5100,BAM 8”,TRD sway,
    Button does not help. Read owners manual and tried it numerous times. Thanks. D
     

Products Discussed in

To Top