1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

LED Light bar switch?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by cbarne5, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. Sep 3, 2015 at 5:08 PM
    #1
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    I'm going to swap my fogs to LED pods and mounting 30" LED. I know I can use factory switch for the fogs. I found a switch that is push style just like factory....but I have the 1794 and have no empty slots, anyone have any ideas? Think I'd be able to put it under the radio where USB plugs in?

    image.jpg
     
  2. Sep 3, 2015 at 6:00 PM
    #2
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Imo.

    Use the factory switch and use a relay and fuse to the led lights. Keep it simple if you can, less things to go wrong.
     
  3. Sep 3, 2015 at 6:12 PM
    #3
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    I was planning on doing that for the fog lights, sorry guess I didn't word the question right.....I am definitely all for keeping it simple, but I meant to ask where I could put the switch for the 30" I don't want all three of them on the fog light switch.
     
  4. Sep 3, 2015 at 6:23 PM
    #4
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Switch depends on the depth and whats behind the panel ( place in question you have a pic of) Toyota is bad on putting brackets in bad spots keep you from doing things just a fyi.

    For me I have only sat in the 3 gen tundras unfortunately. Place where you have it might be best but look around at the truck. Sit in the truck the idea is not to move in the seat to hit the switch for your 30 light bar. Hint look at the console too.
     
  5. Sep 3, 2015 at 6:38 PM
    #5
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    Ah, gotcha....I guess I'll pull it out and see if it'll work, thanks Mike, I'll post the install and where I decide to put the switch, just ordered everything today. Should be here next week.
     
  6. Sep 4, 2015 at 8:26 AM
    #6
    jberry813

    jberry813 The Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #68
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum and 04 Tacoma
    Metric shit ton of parts
    Instead of running a switch, why don't you just tap/relay off your high beams? Easy and clean.
     
  7. Sep 4, 2015 at 9:59 AM
    #7
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Sub'd because I am purchasing a 20" lightbar and need to find a spot to mount the switch.

    I don't think high beam activation would work for me, b/c it has 3 different light patterns on the bar. Unless it tied in so each click of high beams activate different pattern?
     
  8. Sep 4, 2015 at 10:02 AM
    #8
    jberry813

    jberry813 The Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #68
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum and 04 Tacoma
    Metric shit ton of parts
    Huh? Light patterns are based on the reflector.
     
  9. Sep 4, 2015 at 10:03 AM
    #9
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    I may have worded it incorrectly. I will confirm, but I believe it has a switch that allows you to have 3 different light patterns. Strobe, flashing, and solid.
     
  10. Sep 4, 2015 at 10:07 AM
    #10
    jberry813

    jberry813 The Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #68
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum and 04 Tacoma
    Metric shit ton of parts
    Ok. Post instructions. Need to see if it's 2 wires or 3 wires.
    Typically that type of functionality means 3 wires, power, ground, and a ground trigger to alternate between light function. But can also be done with 2 wires depending on the controller.
     
  11. Sep 4, 2015 at 10:08 AM
    #11
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    image.jpg
     
  12. Sep 4, 2015 at 11:02 AM
    #12
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    N/M. A local fab shop is doing it this afternoon as a first for them on the Tundra with this bar ...also upgraded to the 30"
     
    tat2ude39 likes this.
  13. Sep 4, 2015 at 12:17 PM
    #13
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    Awesome, can't wait to see it. Will take a couple weeks for me to see it on mine, I'm off all next week but of course everything won't be here until I go back to work
     
  14. Sep 4, 2015 at 4:47 PM
    #14
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    [​IMG]

    Had a fab shop (InSainFab) create a custom mount for it.
    Off / low / high..
    Also has a strobe pattern. Ill get you some inside photos of the toggle and mode switch.
     
    tat2ude39 likes this.
  15. Sep 4, 2015 at 5:43 PM
    #15
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    Looks great, is that the slim 30"?
     
  16. Sep 4, 2015 at 5:43 PM
    #16
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    yessir.
     
  17. Sep 4, 2015 at 5:46 PM
    #17
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    I ordered the regular one....I guess I need to get a slim
     
    Sean266 likes this.
  18. Sep 4, 2015 at 6:00 PM
    #18
    Cutter29

    Cutter29 ...

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Member:
    #1400
    Messages:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2015 Super White TRD PRO
    295/65 Duratrac, 20% tint, Clazzio, Nfab, Leer XQ,
    All the blanks on a 1794 are full? That sucks. I used an air on board for mine.

    Which led pods did you go with? I've been considering making the swap

    image.jpg
     
  19. Sep 4, 2015 at 6:12 PM
    #19
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    Cutter29 likes this.
  20. Sep 4, 2015 at 6:20 PM
    #20
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    I just went and measured the valence, it's 2" I might be able to make the one I ordered work....If not it'll go on my 4-wheeler and I'll buy the slim.
     
  21. Sep 4, 2015 at 6:53 PM
    #21
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    We had a drill 2 small holes for my toggle and mode switch. All blanks are full.
     
  22. Sep 4, 2015 at 10:41 PM
    #22
    jberry813

    jberry813 The Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #68
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum and 04 Tacoma
    Metric shit ton of parts
    Not sure which bar you have, but I did a lot of mock up. I couldn't make a double row work without half the lights being cut off by the bumper cover. I'd suggest a single row.
     
  23. Sep 5, 2015 at 6:39 AM
    #23
    cbarne5

    cbarne5 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1724
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    2014 White 1794 CrewMax 4x4
    Darn the bad luck.....I guess I should've used this philosophy "measure twice.....order once"
     
  24. Sep 7, 2015 at 8:21 PM
    #24
    Tat_Tundra

    Tat_Tundra New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Member:
    #1783
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Vehicle:
    2015 1794 sunset bronze tundra
    Roll-x tonneau cover- Bedrug bed liner
    Could you tell us where you bought your toggle and mode switch from and show us some pics of where you mounted them?

    Also if you don't mind, where did you buy the single row light bar from?

    Thanks!
     
  25. Sep 7, 2015 at 8:40 PM
    #25
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,504
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    Yeah Sean, what's up with that? :popcorn::D
     
  26. Sep 7, 2015 at 8:42 PM
    #26
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Toggle and mode switch came with the harness. Toggle you can get from any auto parts store.

    Mounted on left side by steering wheel.

    Purchased from Toytec.

    image.jpg
     
    matluth likes this.
  27. Sep 8, 2015 at 9:36 AM
    #27
    jberry813

    jberry813 The Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #68
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum and 04 Tacoma
    Metric shit ton of parts
    @Relentless can get you pretty much any type of LED bar you want. He does single row for sure.



    And for those looking for switch placement, something similar to this is my plan. Much cleaner look than some random non factory looking switch randomly drilled into the dash sticking out like a sore thumb:

    [​IMG]
     
    Sean266, matluth and Relentless like this.
  28. Sep 8, 2015 at 10:04 AM
    #28
    Tat_Tundra

    Tat_Tundra New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Member:
    #1783
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Vehicle:
    2015 1794 sunset bronze tundra
    Roll-x tonneau cover- Bedrug bed liner
    I do like this look better than a toggle on the dash....think I'll try to get something in between the security mic and the aux. BTW, I didn't know tundra had front and rear Diff lockers?? Wonder where to buy those and how hard it would be to install them?

    Also thanks Sean for the info!!
     
    Sean266 likes this.
  29. Sep 8, 2015 at 10:07 AM
    #29
    jberry813

    jberry813 The Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #68
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum and 04 Tacoma
    Metric shit ton of parts
    Toyota does not offer diff lockers. ARB makes air lockers for the 9" front, 9.5" rear, and 10.5" rear.
    As for install...it's a completely new carrier. As far as work is concerned, it's basically like rebuilding the third completely, plus drilling holes for air lines. Far from a trivial install.
     
  30. Sep 8, 2015 at 10:22 AM
    #30
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Those switches look so much cleaner.
     
To Top