1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Joining the Club tomorrow! I have a couple of questions for you.

Discussion in '2.5 Gen Tundras (2014-2021)' started by SilentC, Jul 8, 2024.

1. Jul 8, 2024 at 9:55 AM
    SilentC

SilentC [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hi everyone!

I will be potentially buying a 2016 CM SR5 tomorrow with just over 150k miles on it, and I had some questions for you all after doing a good amount of searching on here.

I unfortunately will not be able to get a PPI done, so I will be doing a good once over myself. I'm no certified mechanic, but I have done a decent amount of wrenching in my days. The current owner seems to has been taking great care of it (2nd owner starting at 50k miles) with 5k OCI. After pulling up the service records on Toyota, the first owner seemed to have neglected it a bit with doing 10k-15k OCI intervals, with not much else on the books outside of the basic warranty maintenance from the looks of it. I'm not terribly concerned about this as the current owner has put the most miles on it, and corrected this habit. Most all the mileage from the 2nd is also highway miles.

I will be taking a close look at the cam towers, and any other spots that may have leaks in them. The current owner states that there are no current leaks, but I prefer to trust my eyes than someone else's' words.

What would you all recommend me going through to give me extra peace of mind, knowing I cannot get a PPI until after the potential purchase? I will also be listening for any major ticks/diesel sounds as well.