1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installing Sub to stock stereo - Line Output Converter Recommendations

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by csuviper, Apr 23, 2015.

  1. Apr 23, 2015 at 2:58 PM
    #1
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    I am going to install a sub in the rear of my truck but don't have the funds to replace the head unit. Already have the amp and sub and will be building a simple box for the sub. The one item that i am going to need is a connection from the stock stereo to the amp. I have found that i need a line output converter to do this.

    I installed a Toyota specific line output converter in my tacoma a while back and thought i paid a ridiculous amount for what it was. I have done some searching today and found you can get a universal one for $6 - $30.
    Has anyone gone this route? What LOC did you purchase? Any issues? Recommendations?

    Thinking of just getting one from Amazon as i have prime/free shipping. Not sure which one to get?
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=line output converter

    List up any other good ideas or aftermarket items that would be helpful.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2015
  2. Apr 23, 2015 at 3:51 PM
    #2
    scratchex

    scratchex New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Member:
    #819
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Limited
    3" lift TRD Exhaust 20" Fuel Lethal Wheels Toyo AT Tires Black Flares w/ spikes
    I've always used AudioControl when it came to LOC's. I don't think I'll use anything else just because I've never had any issues with them since the early 90's. The one I'll more than likely get for my audio upgrade is the LC7i. I "think" Custom Sounds quoted me $100 for it but that may have been because I was getting other items from them including the install.
     
  3. Apr 23, 2015 at 7:43 PM
    #3
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,825
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Don't you have a factory sub? Plan on swapping it out, I guess? I'm going to upgrade mine at some point too....
     
  4. Apr 23, 2015 at 7:46 PM
    #4
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Nope, no factory sub here. I lack all that is base.
     
  5. Apr 23, 2015 at 7:52 PM
    #5
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,825
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Now that you mentioned it, my last one didn't either....but my Taco TRD did..
     
  6. Apr 23, 2015 at 9:51 PM
    #6
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Think only the limited and platinum have the stock sub in the tundra.
     
  7. Apr 24, 2015 at 3:15 AM
    #7
    spepi

    spepi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Member:
    #1176
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Mansfield MA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Dbl Cab 5.7
    What I tow 2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS Fifth Wheel 2010 Keystone Outback 300BH - 32' 8" 8200lbs - TRADED
  8. Apr 25, 2015 at 9:14 PM
    #8
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Really I think any line converter would do. Audiocontrol does make one for subs that controls the bass roll off. You may or may not know, but if u use a simple line converter, the higher you turn your stereo up, the more the head unit cuts the bass back in an attempt not to destroy your stock speakers. So this little jewel corrects that.

    http://www.amazon.com/AudioControl-2-Channel-Converter-Subwoofer-Control/dp/B004CTBYGE

    If you get one, let me know and I'll send you a bass control knob that's modded in one of the factory blanks. All you would need is the cord that goes from it to the line converter. It looks like a phone cord. When I put my factory head unit in and took the cord out I pulled it thru the floor panels and it ripped the end off the cord so I chunked it.

    This is it if you want it.
    image.jpg
     
    myblktundra, csuviper and MotoTundra like this.
  9. Apr 25, 2015 at 9:24 PM
    #9
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Im 99.9% sure it's in my shop, but I'll make sure in the morning. I can tell you this, after I put the new head unit in and removed my audio control, my sub did not hit near as hard. That thing really did the trick. I had the lc7i hooked up to all the speakers and couldn't get rid of low end white noise from the head units dirty signal, but since you are only using it for subs you wouldn't have that problem.
     
  10. Apr 26, 2015 at 1:32 PM
    #10
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Well of course I can't find it. We just moved so I'll keep looking for it.
     
  11. Apr 26, 2015 at 3:41 PM
    #11
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    I trust you Gary after keeping up with your audio upgrade thread. I'm going to get the loc you recommended. The control nob would be awesome.
     
  12. Apr 26, 2015 at 3:42 PM
    #12
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Bummer.
     
  13. Apr 26, 2015 at 5:25 PM
    #13
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    I was just looking at it the other day wondering what I should do with it. My inlaws were at my house while I was gone to work and one took it upon himself to unpack my shop. So I can't find a dang thing now. You just don't go rummaging through another mans shop!
     
  14. Apr 26, 2015 at 6:27 PM
    #14
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Found it! The little pop out section where I have it mounted in the photo above had to be carved out on the inside to fit this in the spot. Maybe there is a better place for it that you could find, but I figured if I screwed up carving the compartment out, I could buy another from toyota.

    20150426_201746.jpg 20150426_201737.jpg 20150426_201732.jpg 20150426_201718.jpg
     
    csuviper likes this.
  15. May 7, 2015 at 12:22 PM
    #15
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    @TruckyTruck Received the knob in the mail yesterday. Thank you so much. I will put it to good use.
     
    TruckyTruck likes this.
  16. May 7, 2015 at 2:23 PM
    #16
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Good deal man, your welcome!
     
  17. May 8, 2015 at 7:45 AM
    #17
    irishpride114

    irishpride114 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Member:
    #1263
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis
    Vehicle:
    2015 SR5 TRD Double Cab
    Where are you installing your sub at? My tundra double cab didn't look like it had any room for one.
     
  18. May 8, 2015 at 9:59 AM
    #18
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,825
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    It can be done underneath or behind the rear seats on the DC...If I remember correctly.
     
  19. May 8, 2015 at 10:07 AM
    #19
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    I am planning behind the seat in my crewmax.
    Concept of the sub box i will be building shown below. It fits at the setting i have the seats at now.
    The sub i have recommends 0.7 cf volume. I can get that with the box being just over 1.5' wide. Going with 2' wide.
    Tundra Sub Box 2.jpg Tundra Sub Box 1.jpg
     
    TruckyTruck likes this.
  20. May 22, 2015 at 11:26 AM
    #20
    myblktundra

    myblktundra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Member:
    #1067
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Black Stallion
    De-Badged, Murdered Out
    I have not posted in a while since joining but here is what I am adding.

    2015 DC....
    Kept stock unit..I like the look and everything else (XM, BT, etc.)

    Adding:
    Fronts: 2 way Components (Alpine SPR-65C)
    Rear: 2-way Coaxial (Alpine SPR-65)

    Sub: 10" Alpine SWR-T10, http://www.alpine-usa.com/product/view/swr-t10/

    Box: http://m.ebay.com/itm/251641685019?_mwBanner=1

    Amps: Hifonics 4 Ch. Zeus (600 watts), Mono Amp (1000 watts)
    Hifonics are cheaper then JL/Alpines but very clean sound/power. Besides I already had them from other cars. Lol



    Audio Source LC6
    http://www.audiocontrol.com/car-audio/factory-system-upgrade/lc6i/


    http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005R4E1MM/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1432318663&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX110_SY165_QL70&keywords=lc6 bass knob


    I will remove stock amp underneath front passenger seat and wire LC6 and 4 ch Amp there, Mono Amp will be under Driver Seat. Bass knob will be mounted lower left corner Driver side.
    I wanted a clean wiring job so ordered 9-wire Stinger, short RCA's.

    Install will be completed by this weekend.

    I will keep u guys posted
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  21. May 22, 2015 at 2:47 PM
    #21
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Hifonics man you are bring back old school memories here man.

    Pics when you can man
     
  22. May 24, 2015 at 3:26 PM
    #22
    myblktundra

    myblktundra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Member:
    #1067
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Black Stallion
    De-Badged, Murdered Out
    FullSizeRender-18.jpg FullSizeRender-18 copy.jpg FullSizeRender-17.jpg FullSizeRender-19 copy.jpg FullSizeRender-19.jpg FullSizeRender-17 copy.jpgSub face down.jpg Tundra Sub.jpg

    Above are pics of my install. I did customize the Audio Source Bass knob into the dash and tweeters were mounted in the top corner of both doors, it sounded nice bc the tweeters are multi-directional for imaging!!!!
    I had to make front speaker pods out of MDF wood because the stock opening was the size of a 6x9 .......
    Amps are located on driver (Mono) and passenger seats (4 Ch Amp, LC6)....Rear seat is just the subwoofer box with an Alpine SWR T-10

    FullSizeRender-19.jpg
    FullSizeRender-18.jpg
    FullSizeRender-17.jpg
     
  23. May 24, 2015 at 8:51 PM
    #23
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Did you lose any floor space with that box or just floor space under the seat?
     
  24. May 24, 2015 at 10:40 PM
    #24
    myblktundra

    myblktundra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Member:
    #1067
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Black Stallion
    De-Badged, Murdered Out
    Box is tucked under the rear seats...I took out the storage compartment. I have room behind rear Driver side for an AMP or accessories if need be.....
    after tuning the LC6 and Amp gains....The component sets/Sub made the stock speakers sound like Night/Day.....Very happy I upgraded
     
  25. May 25, 2015 at 2:49 AM
    #25
    TundraGU

    TundraGU New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Member:
    #1331
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra Limited
    wheels/Tires Sound system upgrades
    Another option would be the recurve EZQ from tacotunes. It's pretty expensive but I didn't want to void the electrical warranty by cutting any wires. Easy to install and signal quality is Really amazing. Check it out here.
    http://youtu.be/gPM2C6Qg8-U
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 25, 2015
  26. May 25, 2015 at 3:59 AM
    #26
    TundraGU

    TundraGU New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Member:
    #1331
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra Limited
    wheels/Tires Sound system upgrades
    2014 Tundra Crewmax limited Stock player but installed the following:
    1. Pair component mids and tweeters Infinity Kappa 60.11 in stock locations(doors and dash)
    2. Pair coaxials Infinity Kappa 60.9 rear doors.
    3. Pair 10" subwoofers JL Audio 10TW3 in full length sealed box.(subs hit hard) behind rear seats.
    4. Subs powered by JL Audio 1000/1d monoblock. Under rear seat.
    5. Mids and Highs powered by Infonity Kappa Five 5channel amp. Under rear seat.
    6. Signal processor Recurve Ezq (Tacotunes). Strong signal super clean no distortion or interruptions. Under drivers seat.
    Bass knob left of center console side nearest my right knee while driving.

    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
     
    MotoTundra likes this.
  27. May 25, 2015 at 9:30 AM
    #27
    myblktundra

    myblktundra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Member:
    #1067
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Black Stallion
    De-Badged, Murdered Out
    Nice set up...I was reading abt taco tunes recurve also but decided to stay with the LC6 bc I hv it in my 14 4Runner. Either way, sounds clean with all the speakers replaced!
     
    TundraGU likes this.
  28. May 25, 2015 at 1:12 PM
    #28
    TundraGU

    TundraGU New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Member:
    #1331
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra Limited
    wheels/Tires Sound system upgrades
    Agreed the stock speakers just didn't get loud enough and the bass was almost nonexistent.
     
  29. May 25, 2015 at 9:41 PM
    #29
    myblktundra

    myblktundra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Member:
    #1067
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Black Stallion
    De-Badged, Murdered Out
    So I decided to change all three speakers on the Dash. Only 3.5" speakers will fit.....Crutchfield have a few to choose from....Since these are the only speakers driven by the Deck, I will install them first and see how they sound, otherwise I will need to add a small 3-4 channel Amp to drive them.....I like the imaging of speakers off the windshield.....TBC....
     
    TundraGU likes this.
  30. May 28, 2015 at 10:12 PM
    #30
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Well @TruckyTruck, I think the base knob doesn't work. Got everything functional and plugged in the knob. No light and no base adjustment. :(
     
To Top