1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hypertech Interceptor - SOLD

Discussion in '2nd Gen Tundra Marketplace (2007-2013)' started by TruckyTruck, Apr 9, 2014.

  1. Apr 9, 2014 at 9:34 PM
    #1
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    ***Sold***

    I'm selling my hypertech interceptor for 2nd gen Tundras. Not really sure if it works for a 3rd gen. I used it for 2000 miles before I took it off to take my truck in for it's scheduled service. Not sure if they would give me a hard time about it or not, but didn't want to take a chance. I got busy with work and night classes for welding that I'm taking and just never put it back on. Probably a good thing for me, since it made me drive my truck like an 8 year old would due to the increase in tq. It really adds power and changes the shift points. Not to mention it holds out the 6th gear on the hwy instead of down shifting at the drop of a hat. Anyway, I've decided to sell it and put the money towards a lift or more likely, welding equipment.

    One other thing, the nice part about this unit is it works great for flex fuel trucks too! My truck is a flex fuel. The unit is set for the stock tundra intake, which mine is, but can be programmed for aftermarket intakes.

    (Price drop) $275 even and I'll ship it anywhere in the continental United States. Paypal please.

    Here are my 2 pics first and then dyno chart pics from hypertech and the price you would pay on autoanything.

    image.jpg
    image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  2. Apr 9, 2014 at 10:33 PM
    #2
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    I am almost ready to say ship it to me.
     
  3. Apr 10, 2014 at 6:28 AM
    #3
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Well if you want it, just let me know. Its pretty much brand new.
     
  4. Apr 10, 2014 at 6:35 AM
    #4
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Tax returns hurt this year
     
    TruckyTruck likes this.
  5. Apr 10, 2014 at 6:41 AM
    #5
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,772
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Does this one also recal the speedometer?
     
  6. Apr 10, 2014 at 6:56 AM
    #6
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    No, they make a unit solely for adjusting the speedometer. That would be nice huh. I think with the speedometer unit, you have to pull the gauge cluster out and plug into the back of it.
     
  7. Apr 10, 2014 at 7:01 AM
    #7
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    I think the best part of what hypertech did with it is make it where you can run regular fuel and get a nice gain.
     
  8. Apr 10, 2014 at 7:21 AM
    #8
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,772
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Ya I have that one

    How does this install look for this one?
     
  9. Apr 10, 2014 at 7:33 AM
    #9
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Its not too noticeable. The main part that goes under the hood attaches to the passenger side engine compartment wall either by tap screw or industrial velcro and has two places it plugs in. I used Velcro and it works fine. Didnt budge. And there is the throttle control unit that plugs in at the pedal. After you plug it in, you just tuck the unit behind the center console right by the firewall. All in all its pretty clean. You dont have to use the throttle control if you dont want to. It basically gives you a smoothed out acceleration. You know how touchy the pedal is right? It smoothes that out. I ran it both ways, on and off.

    Oh, I just realized you might have been asking about the time or difficulty of installing it. There are three plugs and you are done. There is nothing to unbolt. Its just plug and play. About 15 minutes and you are done.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
  10. Apr 13, 2014 at 7:28 PM
    #10
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Well, I don't have much room to move down on price with this before it would be better to keep it, but maybe the price isn't right! :) so bump and price drop!

    $275 shipped anywhere in the continental US
     
  11. Apr 14, 2014 at 7:26 PM
    #11
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    ***Sold***

    Thanks for looking and thanks for providing this forum for us @Bob!
     
    Bob likes this.
  12. Apr 26, 2014 at 3:06 PM
    #12
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,772
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Would the programmer void any of the warranty?
     
  13. Apr 26, 2014 at 4:44 PM
    #13
    ODSteve

    ODSteve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Member:
    #360
    Messages:
    654
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Vehicle:
    2012 Thundra SR5 TRD CrewMax
    K&N Filter, Low Profile tool box.
    Dang I was a few weeks to late.. Hey if you know anyone else getting rid of one send me a msg! Thanks anyways bud!
     
    TruckyTruck likes this.
  14. Apr 26, 2014 at 6:06 PM
    #14
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Sean, only if something happened and Toyota could prove the interceptor caused the problem. Of course its easily removable and leaves no footprint. You would want to take it off anytime you go in for service because it may get in the way of diagnostic work or if they had to flash your ecu, it might not be good for it to be on there. You only have to take off the engine portion. The pedal part you could leave. Hypertech made this thing very safe. It doesn't lean the truck out in an unsafe manner.
     
    Sean266 likes this.
To Top