1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hypertech inline set up question and actual tire size

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by DexterL, Mar 9, 2020.

  1. Mar 9, 2020 at 6:02 PM
    #1
    DexterL

    DexterL [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Member:
    #10655
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    19 platinum- fishing, road warrior, duck hunting, mall crawling machine
    So i sold my old hypertech on here a few months back waiting for them to release a new model for the 18+ tundras... no luck. So i ordered a new one today and it arrives tomorrow.

    Called the local 4WP store to see if they had the software (mac guy and my work laptop wont let me download software) and the guy told me to measure my tires before hand. I have 275/65/20 (34.1x 10.8 x20) and when I went out to measure my tires i am getting- 32 7/8 x 9.5 (just the tread) x20. Assuming this is due to the weight of the truck? Wheels are method NV 20x9

    Which size should I enter? On my last few tundra's with the hypertech I always had 275/65/20 as my setting, but thinking the actual tire size might be better?

    In other news I am feeling severely robbed.... I thought my tires have always stood 34in tall and roughly 11in wide.... might be time to drop down to 17's and 295/65/20's
     
  2. Mar 9, 2020 at 6:04 PM
    #2
    Hbjeff

    Hbjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Member:
    #24845
    Messages:
    3,647
    Gender:
    Male
    Huntington Beach
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC tundra lame-o 2wd
    Many tires arent as tall when mounted. I had pro comp 35s years ago, shrank like a cold day at the pool when mounted on truck. Toyo 35s are damn true to size though
     
  3. Mar 9, 2020 at 6:05 PM
    #3
    UTTundra

    UTTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Member:
    #8898
    Messages:
    666
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lou
    Utah
    I have 295/70R18's (34.5"). It took me somewhere between 32.5-33" to get an accurate reading with the Hypertech.
     
  4. Mar 9, 2020 at 6:07 PM
    #4
    Green Thunder

    Green Thunder Never leave the ground with the motor leaking.

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Member:
    #37701
    Messages:
    2,383
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2020 Army Green TRD Pro
    Crumbs and dog fur
    I had to use a Hypertech on my F-150. I started with the reported "tire size" and then drove around with a GPS measuring my speed. Tested using cruise control at 30mph and 60mph. It took some tweaking, bu I eventually got my speeds to match. The actual size was smaller than I started, so not sure if that's the truck weight or what. My guess are most tires are like this.
     
  5. Mar 9, 2020 at 6:08 PM
    #5
    DexterL

    DexterL [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Member:
    #10655
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    19 platinum- fishing, road warrior, duck hunting, mall crawling machine
    Anyone have on truck measurements for stock platinum wheels and tires?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top