1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hypertech In-Line Speedometer Calibrator: Reviews and Discussion

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by csuviper, Apr 18, 2014.

  1. Apr 18, 2014 at 2:24 PM
    #1
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Lets hear your reviews, thoughts, questions and answers on the hypertech speedometer calibrator that is offered for the 2nd and 3rd gen Tundras.

    The speedo calibrator is an inline module that plugs in behind the dash. You program it for the tire size or gear difference and then plug it inline with your Instrument Pane.

    Install instructions can be found here
    [​IMG]

    Adjustable Features
    • Speedometer\Odometer Correction For Gears All valid gear ratios supported
    • Speedometer\Odometer Correction For Tire Sizes Lower limit 50% of stock tire size, no upper limit
    I have read that it will also help correct things like the following items. The hypertech website does not go into these other advantages but reviews from other websites suggest there is more to these units that just correcting the speedometer/odometer/avg mpg readout.
    • Transmission shift point's/ shift timing
    • ABS calibration
    • MPG improvement
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2014
  2. Apr 18, 2014 at 2:29 PM
    #2
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    I just installed my speedo calibrator yesterday and will provide my review after a few weeks.
     
  3. Apr 18, 2014 at 5:09 PM
    #3
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    I installed mine months ago.
    Tip: ziptie the USB cord that's already plugged into the dash under it, so you can easily connect it to the laptop and adjust sizing as needed.
     
    csuviper likes this.
  4. Apr 18, 2014 at 5:32 PM
    #4
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Good tip. Thought about it but then for some reason talked myself out of it. Guess I'm pulling the dash apart in a few years if I go to a bigger size.
     
  5. Apr 18, 2014 at 5:41 PM
    #5
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    So any changes that you noticed?
     
  6. Apr 18, 2014 at 9:56 PM
    #6
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    When u get on it, the timing in reference to gear changes is diff....MPG is more accurate (obviously)
     
  7. Jun 4, 2014 at 12:27 PM
    #7
    kman23

    kman23 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Member:
    #415
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC 5.7 4x4
    With my 35" tires, it looks like my speedo is only off by 2-3mph; I thought it would be more. I have the hypertech in my garage, but I haven't had time to install yet. Is it worth the time and money? I could return it and use the money for something else (headlights, taillights, bull bar and lights). If it helps with shifting and/or ABS I will keep it. If the only thing is does it get the speedo accurate then I dont think it is worth it.
    It was a spur of the moment purchase late one night after a couple of drinks. Not the first time I have ordered something under those circumstances.
    Thoughts?
     
  8. Jun 4, 2014 at 12:38 PM
    #8
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    I would and did use it...it's off 2-3mph up to xx MPH.
    As the speed increases, so will the numbers it is off by...that, and technically your odometer mileage would not be 100% correct...it will also help adjust on shift timing IIRC since the CPU is set to run those size tires.
     
  9. Jun 4, 2014 at 2:15 PM
    #9
    kman23

    kman23 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Member:
    #415
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC 5.7 4x4
    Gotcha.
    Going to install as soon as I can then.
     
  10. Jul 1, 2015 at 7:50 PM
    #10
    JC303

    JC303 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Member:
    #545
    Messages:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra 5.7
    I'm getting a new hypertech speedo calibrator tomorrow. How difficult is it to plug into the computer and adjust the settings? Does it come with a disk to download or do u go to a website? Then do u just save the settings?
     
  11. Jul 1, 2015 at 8:00 PM
    #11
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    There is a DVD that comes with it. It will install a simple program that allows you to put the tire size in. Then you plug the unit in via usb and click the button to proceed with the update. When complete unplug and plug it into the truck. If you need to update down the road you can just bring a laptop to the truck and plug in the usb to the laptop again.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
    JC303 likes this.
  12. Jul 1, 2015 at 8:02 PM
    #12
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Yep, although u don't need to plug the usb into anywhere other than the PC when complete.
     
  13. Jul 1, 2015 at 8:16 PM
    #13
    JC303

    JC303 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Member:
    #545
    Messages:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tundra 5.7
    Sounds easy. Thanks for the zip tie trick. Does the hypertech come with the usb cord or did u have to buy it separately?
     
  14. Jul 1, 2015 at 8:33 PM
    #14
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Comes with it.
     
  15. Jul 1, 2015 at 9:08 PM
    #15
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Yep. ^^
     
  16. Jul 1, 2015 at 9:28 PM
    #16
    tat2ude39

    tat2ude39 MYota

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Member:
    #908
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Gilbert, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tundra TRD Pro Inferno
    Still waiting for a 2015 version OR the Bully Dog in a 15!
     
  17. Jul 5, 2015 at 8:15 PM
    #17
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,118
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Did you guys notice any difference in the shift points after installing?
     
  18. Jul 5, 2015 at 8:25 PM
    #18
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    On the calibrator ..maybe a little.
     
    TruckyTruck likes this.
  19. Jul 5, 2015 at 8:27 PM
    #19
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Not sure either. Def corrects the speed:)
     
    TruckyTruck likes this.
  20. Jul 6, 2015 at 6:02 PM
    #20
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,118
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Found it for 205 on Amazon. Is that normal or do you guys know where I could find one for less?
     
  21. Jul 6, 2015 at 9:17 PM
    #21
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Got mine for $179.99 with a $20 discount code at the time from Autoanything.com
     
  22. Jul 7, 2015 at 11:06 AM
    #22
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,118
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Thanks Brian
     
  23. Jul 7, 2015 at 5:24 PM
    #23
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,118
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    174.99 thru svcustoms. Everyone else was 205-229. Ordered one. Tomorrow discount tire.
     
  24. Sep 17, 2015 at 4:29 AM
    #24
    Brandon6127

    Brandon6127 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Member:
    #1557
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra Platinum 4x4
    K&N CAI TRD Dual Exhaust Hypertech Interceptor Programer Retrax Pro Bed Cover AMP Research Power Running Boards
    When you guys installed larger tires did you notice an issue when you hit the gas on the highway or from a dead stop at around maybe 3500 rpm it bogs down and loses power like the traction control is kicking on? The light comes on sometimes too even? I have been researching high and low for an answer and have not been successful. I was wondering if this inline calibrator would fix this issue. I had the lift on the truck for almost a year and just got new tires finally and that's when this issue popped up.

    I did find a post where some guy had the exact same issue and he did some summaries of his conversation between him and the mechanic. The mechanic was seeing the speed difference between the tire and what the ecu thought was about 5mph higher and so it thought there was slippage and kicked the traction control on. They never came to a conclusion and got the issue fixed for that guy so im hoping this inline might fix mine.

    Any insight would be awesome. I have my inline on its way and will install it as soon as possible. I am about 5mph off at 70mph and most importantly hopefully it will fix this issue at around 3500 rpm.
     
  25. Sep 17, 2015 at 6:59 AM
    #25
    csuviper

    csuviper [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,856
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    I would suspect that it would correct the issue if tire size related. I however didn't have the problems you describe between my tire install and spedo calibrator.
     
  26. Sep 17, 2015 at 8:14 AM
    #26
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    I had that issue, and the inline fixed most of it as my Toyos and XD wheels were heavy.
     
    dcsleeper408 likes this.
  27. Sep 12, 2016 at 2:22 AM
    #27
    Spvrtan

    Spvrtan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Member:
    #1140
    Messages:
    279
    Anyone with a 2014+ install this? Any tips on installing? I have 37s and I'm at least ~4mph off at 60.

    Edit: Also, I can't really run the CD software on my laptop since I have a Surface Pro 4 (no CD drive) but my desktop has one. I know some people leave the USB plugged in to make changes on the fly with their laptop -- can I just as easily reach under and unplug the device, bring it inside the house, and connect to my desktop?
     
    dcsleeper408 likes this.
  28. Sep 12, 2016 at 8:51 AM
    #28
    dcsleeper408

    dcsleeper408 15' Tundra Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #2081
    Messages:
    362
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mark
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO
    Kris,
    have you tried d/l the software straight off the site to the surface pro? Unless your surface pro doesnt have usb port.
    http://www.hypertech-inc.com/support-update-software.aspx

    Install is really easy. all the mods on your truck you got it. just be more gentle on the panels/clips. I would leave the USB in there imo..
     
  29. Sep 12, 2016 at 9:46 PM
    #29
    Spvrtan

    Spvrtan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Member:
    #1140
    Messages:
    279
    Yea, I have a USB port. I didn't know you could download the software directly. Thanks! I think I'll try installing it tomorrow or the next day; I've been growing tired of the speedometer and odometer being so off with the 37s.
     
    dcsleeper408 likes this.
  30. Sep 13, 2016 at 4:37 AM
    #30
    Syck

    Syck US Army, SFC (Ret.)

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Member:
    #4499
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    I installed a hypertech calibrator in my 2014 Tacoma when I had it. Programmed from stock tires to 295/75/18's. Checked it with a radar system, on the money with the speedometer. MPG were accurate as well. Had no issues with is what so ever. Easy to install. Had for 2 yrs. loved it.
     
    dcsleeper408 likes this.
To Top