1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Horse Trailer Hauling Advice

Discussion in 'Towing & Hauling' started by KPH and Mo, Apr 22, 2024.

1. Apr 22, 2024 at 9:00 AM
    KPH and Mo

KPH and Mo [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Kathy
    Vehicle:
    2023 Tundra 4x2
    none
    I am new to horse hauling and have a 2023 Tundra 4x2. My trainer is concerned that the truck will not be able to safely pull a warmblood size trailer with my 1200 lb horse. Some people have suggested that I overhaul the suspension for safety and comfort for my horse. Any advice on what is recommended? Also have been told not to get a gooseneck since the bed on the truck is too short?

2. Apr 22, 2024 at 9:03 AM
    GODZILLA

GODZILLA Hail to the King, Baby.

Member:
    First Name:
    Adam
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2023 Solar Octane TRD Pro TACOMA, 2022 Honda CB500X
    Trying not to mod it
    If it's a goosneck you likely need a bigger truck. The pin weights on those are generally going to be too high to stay within your payload ratings of the truck. What does the trailer weigh? What's the pin weight?

Cpl_Punishment likes this.
  3. Apr 22, 2024 at 9:09 AM
    KPH and Mo

KPH and Mo [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Kathy
    Vehicle:
    2023 Tundra 4x2
    none
    I have not purchased a trailer yet. I am trying to determine what to buy and if I need to modify the suspension. Still trying to determine if I need to avoid gooseneck and only look at bumper pull trailers.

Is there an optimal pin weight (or a # to not go over)?