1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help: Reset TPMS no workie

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by AK 6.7PSD Replacement, Feb 18, 2020.

  1. Feb 18, 2020 at 4:00 AM
    #1
    AK 6.7PSD Replacement

    AK 6.7PSD Replacement [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Member:
    #11686
    Messages:
    202
    Gender:
    Male
    IL, MO, KS, DE, IL, AK, SC...
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 DoubleCab 4x4
    Just got LT tires installed and tried resetting my TPMS (no warning light, the pressures for each tire just display as “—“.

    The owners manual states to turn the ignition to “on” (not start) and hold the reset button until the tire warning light flashes 3 times and a “TPMS resetting” message appears. This didn’t work.

    I started the truck and then pushed the button for 3 flashes, got the message and then proceeded to drive until the pressures registered. Only they didn’t register after a 14 mile commute.

    Am I missing something? Current pressure is 45psi; doe they need to be at 33psi to register first and then I can air them up?
     
  2. Feb 18, 2020 at 4:03 AM
    #2
    Danman34

    Danman34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Member:
    #19579
    Messages:
    1,805
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Vehicle:
    2018 White Tundra TRD Sport
    Mine took an hour of city driving one time before they registered haha.
     
  3. Feb 18, 2020 at 4:03 AM
    #3
    50 Buck

    50 Buck ASCM#1 Douchebag formerly known as AzureNightmare

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35514
    Messages:
    10,127
    First Name:
    Adam
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cavalry Blue SR5 Crewmax
    It can be a bit wonky ( I just reset mine after changing pressures), but if you hold the reset until it flashes it will give the "---" for a while. I thought mine was screwed up, but the next day after sitting overnight it was reading properly. You do NOT have to have your pressure lower to make it work.
     
  4. Feb 18, 2020 at 4:09 AM
    #4
    AK 6.7PSD Replacement

    AK 6.7PSD Replacement [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Member:
    #11686
    Messages:
    202
    Gender:
    Male
    IL, MO, KS, DE, IL, AK, SC...
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 DoubleCab 4x4
    Good to know; I’ll give it a day or two. Thanks!
     

Products Discussed in

To Top