1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Headlight Revolution Steps Up- Buyer Beware Update!!!

Discussion in 'Vendor Reviews' started by Chaosx4, Apr 27, 2016.

  1. Apr 27, 2016 at 12:57 PM
    #1
    Chaosx4

    Chaosx4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3016
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra SR5 TRD
    Hello Forum Members,
    Let me preface with, I am normally not this type of person. If mistakes are made I do my best to understand what led to the mistake and what the true implications are. However, I feel that my experience with a particular company has challenged me to embody the true meaning of "informed consumer" and share my experiences with others. And so it begins...

    THIS IS WORTH THE READ.

    • On 3/26/2016, I placed a $250 order with Headlight Revolution for several LED bulbs ranging from interior kit to reverse lights. I did this based off the qualify of their youtube videos, good reviews and seemingly easy process. My expectation based off the order details was that the order would be shipped when they received their shipment.
    • On 3/28 I received an email from the company stating that some of my order was being shipped because their inventory was readily available and the remaining items are delayed until they receive their shipment. (No biggie, I can wait and remember my expectations were somewhere around 3/30.
    • On 4/01, I received an email from Anthony stating that they should receive the order form their manufacturer in next day or so. (again, no biggie).
    • on 4/06, I received an email from Anthony stating that the order would be in within the week and they would process immediately.
    • On April 8th, I called Headlight Revolution to change my order as I was now going a different route and wanted to cancel some items. Anthony received my call and immediately agreed to update the order. As I always do, I requested an email confirming that the transaction had been completed and that my card be credit. (THIS IS WHERE IT WENT DOWN HILL).
    • Later that day I received an email confirming the change to the order and that I would be credited $61.25 and that it would take a few business days to hit the account. (Cool, seems to be normal process).
    • On 4/13, I received a shipping confirmation for my order for the remaining items that were suppose to be shipped on 3/30. (Of course I wasn't mad because I understand things happen.
    • By 4/14, i still haven't seen a credit to my bank account so I call again to inquire about the credit. Anthony again answered and stated that he would look into it and resubmit the request through accounting.
    • On 4/19, I received all of the items that I ordered plus some additional items. Go figure, they shipped the very few items that I specifically requested to cancel. (Great, here we go)
    • On 4/21, I received an email from Anthony who stated "unfortunately it looks like these items were shipped and we where able to cancel before we shipped" and " if you still would like a refund you will need to send it back to us". (ok, now I'm frustrated because I request on the 8th of april to cancel order. Thats 6 days before the order was even shipped.)
    • Still, I kept a level head and asked for Anthony to send shipping label back to me so I can send the items back. i figured he would gladly send label since it was their mistake to began with.
    • On april 25th, I received an email stating " per our returns policy we do not pay to have items shipped back to us for a refund". (ARE YOU EFFIN MAD)
    • So I put on a stern face and responded with very logical, yet fair instructions. I explained that the mistake was on their part and I should have to pay more to return the items. Furthermore, I was led to them due to customer service ratings and clearly they were not upholding those standards. Lastly, I requested one of two options. Please send me return label or let me keep the lights and refund me the credit. (I figured it may be cheaper for them to eat the cost of lights than shipping.)
    • Additionally, I asked Anthony to respond by close of business 4/26 or I would be forced to share my experience with multiple media outlets.
    Here I stand, with no response from Headlight Revolution and less $61 from my bank account. Not only did I patience with the processing of my order, but I tried to understand that people make mistakes and its not the end of the world. Then I get a token response from the company on something that should be pretty straight forward.

    Tell me what you guys think? Am I out of place? Is it unreasonable to expect free leds and a refund at this point?

    Thanks for hearing me out.
     
    matluth likes this.
  2. Apr 27, 2016 at 1:07 PM
    #2
    Chaosx4

    Chaosx4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3016
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra SR5 TRD
    Point of this is to share my troubles with as many people possible so consumers can be informed before making a purchase. There are several small businesses that pride themselves on customer service and I will gladly give them my money. Watch out for the ones who don't care as much....
     
  3. Apr 27, 2016 at 1:38 PM
    #3
    Nor7

    Nor7 Chilton Manual Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Member:
    #1989
    Messages:
    887
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tundra 4.6L Double Cab
    Justified in my book. You're more patient than I would have been. Very surprised they didn't do the right thing to preserve their positive image.
     
  4. Apr 27, 2016 at 1:50 PM
    #4
    ColoradoTJ

    ColoradoTJ I'm a boob guy.

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Member:
    #2766
    Messages:
    2,771
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC 3500
    CC dispute.
     
  5. Apr 27, 2016 at 1:56 PM
    #5
    Grizzly660

    Grizzly660 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Member:
    #1707
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    North Dakota
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Crewmax SR5
    I had some difficulties with them but they corrected it fast with no issues. I ordered my headlights during black Friday sale and 2 free 7 inch led lights were included. When I got them the wires were broke. They sent 2 new light strips no questions asked with picture of broken wires.
    I wouldn't of put up with that much back and fourth however!
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  6. Apr 27, 2016 at 2:05 PM
    #6
    Chaosx4

    Chaosx4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3016
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra SR5 TRD
    Thanks Nor7. I couldn't have agreed more. This was a great opportunity for them to illustrate this so called "good" customer service.
     
  7. Apr 27, 2016 at 2:08 PM
    #7
    Ryan Mc.

    Ryan Mc. New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Member:
    #2747
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tundra SR5 Double Cab 5.7L
    Hand made bed divider, bed d-rings
    Sorry to hear your troubles. I hope you went on every forum and posted this story.

    Personally I LOVE https://www.superbrightleds.com/ , their products are awesome. I have had no troubles with them over the years. Now, looking between the two website there is a big difference. HR posts items by vehicle, while you can still do the same on SBL, they more so post by part numbers and bulb type/application. I'd rather know for a fact what bulb I am ordering will fit, because I literally pulled it from my OEM headlight and looked, as opposed to ordering per vehicle. Sometimes website mess that up. SBL also had drawings of certain bulbs, so you can measure YOUR application and ensure everything fits.

    Onto another site I like is https://www.oznium.com/ , years ago before SBL grew I ordered my DIY LED stuff from both of these sites. Oznium has some cool stuff that SBL doesn't have.

    So check both of these site next time to see if they have anything that fits your needs.
     
  8. Apr 27, 2016 at 2:13 PM
    #8
    Chaosx4

    Chaosx4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3016
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra SR5 TRD
    Good advice for anyone in the market! I had good success with vleds as well. Thanks for the confirmation I'm not crazy.
     
  9. Apr 27, 2016 at 3:22 PM
    #9
    CaptTyler

    CaptTyler www.fishcharlotteharbor.com

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Member:
    #1561
    Messages:
    1,043
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM Crewmax
    Bilstein 5100's F&R +2 CB Shims CB +2 Shackles 295-65-20 Toyo AT2 BAMuffler 7" Spidertrax 1.25" G-Tek SABM / aFe Pro Dry S (Charcoal Delete) Husky X-ACT Floor Mats All LED Interior / Reverse Lights / Cargo Lights Philips Xtreme Vision Headlights
    Wow, you have more patience than I do! You are not being unreasonable at all.
     
    Law323 likes this.
  10. Apr 27, 2016 at 3:24 PM
    #10
    CaptTyler

    CaptTyler www.fishcharlotteharbor.com

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Member:
    #1561
    Messages:
    1,043
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM Crewmax
    Bilstein 5100's F&R +2 CB Shims CB +2 Shackles 295-65-20 Toyo AT2 BAMuffler 7" Spidertrax 1.25" G-Tek SABM / aFe Pro Dry S (Charcoal Delete) Husky X-ACT Floor Mats All LED Interior / Reverse Lights / Cargo Lights Philips Xtreme Vision Headlights
  11. Apr 27, 2016 at 3:25 PM
    #11
    Ubc2361

    Ubc2361 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Member:
    #2325
    Messages:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Tundra crewmax 5.7 4x4
    I also had the same trouble, I ordered my led interior lights back in Feb, they were out of stock till just recently. I tried to cancel my order and spoke with Anthony also. I was already upset because they have kept pushing back the date they could ship. As you probably already know. But I didn't get any email notifications I had to call and find out for myself. So anyways when I called he said they got them in and will shiPhone soon. Soooo following week called again n said said they were just shipped and should be getting there in 7 to 10 days..... so finally got them almost 3 months later. N turns out I don't really like em. Look purple to me. So that sucks. Gunna leave em in though just Cuz I waited so damn long.
     
  12. Apr 27, 2016 at 3:43 PM
    #12
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon Not too old to play

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    3,270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    I was considering buying one of their interior led light kits but think I will pass now. There are plenty of other options available.
     
  13. Apr 27, 2016 at 3:53 PM
    #13
    Chaosx4

    Chaosx4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3016
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra SR5 TRD
    With the price they charge for the interior kit $70, these should come with more than just bulbs. (Happy e_ _ing) ;)
     
  14. Apr 27, 2016 at 4:02 PM
    #14
    Chaosx4

    Chaosx4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3016
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra SR5 TRD
    Well well well, look what we have here:

    image.jpg
     
    CaptTyler, Law323 and Ryan Mc. like this.
  15. Apr 27, 2016 at 4:03 PM
    #15
    Chaosx4

    Chaosx4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3016
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra SR5 TRD
    How should I respond?
     
  16. Apr 27, 2016 at 4:55 PM
    #16
    flynbyu2

    flynbyu2 I'm your huckleberry...

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Member:
    #1865
    Messages:
    230
    Gender:
    Male
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 SR5 CrewMax 2WD
    Flowmaster Super 50 / Dual In - Dual Out Exhaust
    It kinda looks like they're trying to make it right.

    Let them.

    Then post accordingly.
     
    Sefferston and mdavis like this.
  17. Apr 27, 2016 at 5:01 PM
    #17
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Well that stinks... Man just buy them on Amazon. I bought the cheap ones and paid 11 bucks I think. That was over a year ago and they still work fine.
     
    bandit, rons23, CMB and 1 other person like this.
  18. Apr 27, 2016 at 5:12 PM
    #18
    MotoTundra

    MotoTundra Adrenaline Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #8
    Messages:
    2,438
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14' Black TRD CM
    TRS Mini D2S Retrofit on TRD Pro Headlights (Apollo 2.0 Shrouds, 35w XB Ballasts, 5500k Bulbs) TRD Pro Grill BakFlip VP Tonneau w/BakBox Dipped wheels & bumpers Undercover Swingcase SunTek Paint Protection film Yellow Lamin-X Fog Overlays Tint Bedmat
    If I experience really good or really bad service, I like to let others know. Why not? I'm with you. Hopefully they make it right.
     
    AnonVet likes this.
  19. Apr 28, 2016 at 7:01 AM
    #19
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon Not too old to play

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    3,270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    Thank him for paying the return postage and call it a day.
     
    Law323, 15whtrd and flynbyu2 like this.
  20. Apr 28, 2016 at 9:08 AM
    #20
    Chaosx4

    Chaosx4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3016
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra SR5 TRD
    Thanks for the responses and guidance. I have to tell you that I am really impressed with Headlight Revolution's second attempt to make things right. Last night, I received an email from the CEO at 12am (yes, midnight) stating that he is taking over the situation and apologizes for my experience. He provided a little more insight to what caused some of the delay and issues. Additionally, he confirmed my feelings about the experience and stated that he would expect the same resolution.

    We had a very polite conversation about process improvement and why I was dissatisfied with the customer service provided. All in all, Chris and his company are stand up people and really tried to make the situation right. In the end, they issued a refund for the products sent in error and let me keep them.

    Let me be completely frank here, the product quality is pretty good and their shipping was fast. The company had some blemishes while dealing with logistical issues however overall have very good customer service. Chris, if you are reading this I just want to say thank you for stepping up and taking care of me. I greatly appreciate your willingness to work in the frontline and make things right.

    If you are interested in their products, I really do believe that they will take care of you and you should have the confidence that your money is being well spent.

    Thanks for listening and let me know if you have any questions.
     
  21. Apr 28, 2016 at 6:39 PM
    #21
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon Not too old to play

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    3,270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    I'm glad that things worked out for you and that HR redeemed themselves on the service end.
     
  22. Apr 28, 2016 at 7:12 PM
    #22
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,504
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    Ditto. My 10 buck Amazon LEDS are still good to go.
     
    bandit and TruckyTruck like this.
  23. Apr 29, 2016 at 11:52 AM
    #23
    Ryan Mc.

    Ryan Mc. New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Member:
    #2747
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tundra SR5 Double Cab 5.7L
    Hand made bed divider, bed d-rings
    Reply back, nice and calm. Return the light. Get your money. And post your new order from a competitor's website.


    MUUUAAHHHH HA HA HA!!! - villain voice
     
  24. Apr 30, 2016 at 5:56 PM
    #24
    Ubc2361

    Ubc2361 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Member:
    #2325
    Messages:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Tundra crewmax 5.7 4x4
    I'm still mad that my lights have a hint of purple
     
  25. Apr 30, 2016 at 6:24 PM
    #25
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Interior? But can you see everything in the cab clearly? That's the important part
     
  26. Apr 30, 2016 at 6:34 PM
    #26
    Ubc2361

    Ubc2361 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Member:
    #2325
    Messages:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Tundra crewmax 5.7 4x4
    That yes! Won't lie they are bright! but I can't get over that purple. Me being a Carpenter I get a lot of crap having quote on quote "gay" lights. We start before the sun comes up so everyone sees my purple lights
     
    Law323 and matluth like this.
  27. Apr 30, 2016 at 6:39 PM
    #27
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Ha, well I work for the railroad and live in Texas... So I have to put up with comments on owning a toyota weekly! Screw em!
     
    Krezz, 2cID and matluth like this.
  28. Apr 30, 2016 at 6:39 PM
    #28
    Ubc2361

    Ubc2361 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Member:
    #2325
    Messages:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Tundra crewmax 5.7 4x4
    I hear you brother
     
  29. Apr 30, 2016 at 9:13 PM
    #29
    Ryan Mc.

    Ryan Mc. New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Member:
    #2747
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tundra SR5 Double Cab 5.7L
    Hand made bed divider, bed d-rings


    Going a little off topic but I was curious earlier this week and looked up recalls on 2015 1/2 ton trucks. F150 had 4, Chevy had 6, GMC had 4, Ram had 3, and Tunda had...........1. And that one recall was a mislabeled sticker stating the wrong psi. The others were for broken seat belt mounts, steering linkages, air bags....deadly crap!


    You can review any and all recalls at recalls.gov/nhtsa
     
    Law323, matluth and RowdyRon like this.
  30. Aug 6, 2016 at 3:19 PM
    #30
    r4z0r51o

    r4z0r51o 8 more years until retirement

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Member:
    #3172
    Messages:
    613
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Northeast San Francisco Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2016 Sky Silver Tundra Crewmax 5.7L TRD 4x4
    3/1 Toytec level, 20" Fuel Nutz D251, 295/60 Toyo ATII's
    Well, I kind of wish I had seen this thread back in early July. Long story short, I place an order on July 5th and went through some of the same stuff you did. Some of the bulbs came quickly and others not so much. I ended up calling and emailing them to cancel my order on a set of level 1 reverse LED lights. When they finally got back to me, Anthony told me that I would be given store credit. I didn't have a problem with that until when I went to use it. My new order was less than the amount of credit I had been refunded. I asked if they would refund me the difference and I was told they don't refund store credit. Well, I never even received the reverse LED's in the first place, so why didn't they just refund my credit card. I ended up ordering some other stuff (that put me over my credit amount and had to pay the difference) that I may or may not ever use to make up the difference. Now, I wait to see if my stuff comes altogether or piece by piece even though their website says everything is in stock. I just want to get this over with.

    Chaosx4, I'm glad everything worked out for you!
     
To Top