1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Head unit replacement. Stock amp?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Cearex, Apr 25, 2018.

  1. Apr 25, 2018 at 11:12 PM
    #1
    Cearex

    Cearex [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Member:
    #14369
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD off road DC
    So if I replace the head unit, with the included harnesses and all with the maestro, what exactly will be powering the stock speakers? The head unit or the the stock amp?
     
  2. Apr 26, 2018 at 7:22 AM
    #2
    Danimal86

    Danimal86 What's a Dickfir?

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    3,718
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tundra SR5
    JBL or Non-JBL?

    If it were me, i would bypass the factory amp and have everything powered off the head unit.
     
    PRO BLANCO likes this.
  3. Apr 26, 2018 at 2:53 PM
    #3
    Cearex

    Cearex [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Member:
    #14369
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD off road DC
     
  4. Apr 27, 2018 at 7:11 AM
    #4
    B737

    B737 Throbbing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Member:
    #976
    Messages:
    722
    Gender:
    Male
    Jersey Shore
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab Limited
    non jbl the HU powers the dash speakers and the "amp" (using the term loosely) under the passenger seat powers the rest of the speakers in the system.

    related question:
    if you swap out the HU with an aftermarket one (something like a kenwood DDX9940), what happens to your Entune maintenance reminders / alerts? will those go away? if they re-appear then you have no way to reset them or make them go away... there are also some settings inside the HU like lighting delay, do you lose all that stuff too?
     
  5. Apr 27, 2018 at 7:49 AM
    #5
    Danimal86

    Danimal86 What's a Dickfir?

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    3,718
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tundra SR5
    Do the head unit first and then replace the factory amp, then you'll want to replace the speakers.
    Save yourself some money and do it yourself. Its not a difficult job.
     
  6. Apr 27, 2018 at 8:14 AM
    #6
    bowhun2r

    bowhun2r New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Member:
    #12014
    Messages:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Steeler Nation
    [QUOTE="

    related question:
    if you swap out the HU with an aftermarket one (something like a kenwood DDX9940), what happens to your Entune maintenance reminders / alerts? will those go away? if they re-appear then you have no way to reset them or make them go away... there are also some settings inside the HU like lighting delay, do you lose all that stuff too?[/QUOTE]

    http://maestro.idatalink.com/


    Crutchfield also has a good write up on it. You can actually get more info on certain head units like the kenwood plus the settings that are on the OEM head into.
     
  7. Apr 27, 2018 at 10:34 AM
    #7
    B737

    B737 Throbbing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Member:
    #976
    Messages:
    722
    Gender:
    Male
    Jersey Shore
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab Limited
    thanks Bow just what i was looking for
     
  8. Jul 17, 2019 at 6:35 PM
    #8
    tAcomaPueblo

    tAcomaPueblo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Member:
    #19561
    Messages:
    64
    Tampa Bay
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 TRD OR CM 4x4
    Did you get this done? I replaced head unit with a kenwood and door speakers Don't work. I read maybe i need to somehow connect aftermarket harness amp remote wire but havent found where to plug that in. Curious why I only get dash sound and there are no posts as if I'm the only person with a CM that has ever installed a new head unit.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
  9. Jul 17, 2019 at 7:13 PM
    #9
    ninjajay

    ninjajay Posting from the toilet

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Member:
    #11787
    Messages:
    1,977
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Spoolston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2018 MGM 1794 TRD 4x4
    Exterior LEDs, Pioneer 4200NEX, iDatalink Maestro, Ambit RS02, Nitto Ridge Grappler, Toytec/Radflo
    JBL or non? Tons of CM with aftermarket HU if you do a search. Cab configuration doesn't really change anything
     
  10. Jul 17, 2019 at 7:33 PM
    #10
    tAcomaPueblo

    tAcomaPueblo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Member:
    #19561
    Messages:
    64
    Tampa Bay
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 TRD OR CM 4x4
    Non JBL. I'm not sure if CM mattered, I just saw a few posts where people claimed they didnt have an amp or 3 dash speakers which I have. I have TO2 and Metra harnesses and stuff. Pulled straight from Tacoma to Tundra but only dash speakrs are powered, not the door. But I see no extra wires and not sure what wire(s) from head unit powers and sends signals to the amp.
     
  11. Jul 18, 2019 at 12:08 PM
    #11
    801Tundra

    801Tundra New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2019
    Member:
    #26828
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    UTAH
    Vehicle:
    2019 Crewmax Limited
    I pulled the install diagram for the T02 harness. There is definitely a blue/white amp turn on wire that should be going from the T02 to your aftermarket HU. I would start there and make sure that's connected.

    2019-07-18_13-09-20.jpg
     
    tAcomaPueblo likes this.
  12. Jul 18, 2019 at 5:36 PM
    #12
    tAcomaPueblo

    tAcomaPueblo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Member:
    #19561
    Messages:
    64
    Tampa Bay
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 TRD OR CM 4x4
    This worked so well! Linked that amp wire that I didnt hook up before and now it works great! I wired it before I learned I had an amp. It's like night and day sound difference with my new head unit and some sound deadening.

    I owe you big time! PM me your address and I can send you some stuff!! Saved me big time.
     
  13. Jul 18, 2019 at 5:36 PM
    #13
    tAcomaPueblo

    tAcomaPueblo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Member:
    #19561
    Messages:
    64
    Tampa Bay
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 TRD OR CM 4x4
    Thank you!!
     
  14. Jul 18, 2019 at 6:08 PM
    #14
    Texastundra2018

    Texastundra2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Member:
    #32840
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aj
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD 4x4 Crewmax Offroad
    Cold air intake, premium sound
    I got rid of my jbls. Best of luck.
     
  15. Jul 18, 2019 at 6:32 PM
    #15
    bfd300

    bfd300 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Member:
    #19887
    Messages:
    364
    Gender:
    Male
    I had crutchfield wire the harnesses wellworth th $25 for the Pioneer I installed. Stock speakers and a sound ordnance powered sub under the seat, sounds awesome. Non jobless with factory amp.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top