1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

head unit fuse location

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014-2021)' started by xkred27, Aug 8, 2020.

  1. Aug 8, 2020 at 3:46 PM
    #1
    xkred27

    xkred27 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Member:
    #50523
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2019 DC SR5
    Hey guys, I was installing an Alpine power pack in place of the stock "amp" today...I had a loose wire which caused the head unit (Alpine ilx W650) to stop working...i'm guessing its a fuse, but I cant seem to find one under the hood thats blown. I have heard elsewhere that there is an additional fuse panel on the driver's side left knee area, but can't see anything there. Anyone have and ideas / suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. Aug 8, 2020 at 5:13 PM
    #2
    AZBoatHauler

    AZBoatHauler Desert Dweller

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Member:
    #34576
    Messages:
    1,715
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2017 CM LTD TRD 4x4 MGM
    6112 and 5160 w/ CB +2, JL Audio with Kenwood HU, DD 10" Exhaust, RC light bar BD fogs, Platinum LED headlights, RCI skids
    There is usually a fuse on the HU itself. You’ll have to pull the HU from the dash to get to it.
     
  3. Aug 8, 2020 at 5:40 PM
    #3
    xkred27

    xkred27 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Member:
    #50523
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2019 DC SR5
    Ok...will check it out tomorrow...thanks!
     
  4. Aug 8, 2020 at 6:44 PM
    #4
    Danman34

    Danman34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Member:
    #19579
    Messages:
    1,755
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Vehicle:
    2018 White Tundra TRD Sport
    If a wire grounded to the chassis of the headunit, you could have easily shorted the unit.

    Why are you fooling with this without unhooking the battery though?
     
  5. Aug 8, 2020 at 6:58 PM
    #5
    xkred27

    xkred27 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Member:
    #50523
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2019 DC SR5
    battery was disconnected....head unit stopped after I hooked it back up...hope thats not the case
     
  6. Aug 8, 2020 at 7:37 PM
    #6
    Danman34

    Danman34 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Member:
    #19579
    Messages:
    1,755
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Vehicle:
    2018 White Tundra TRD Sport
    You couldn’t have blown a fuse of the battery was disconnected. Go through your harness. It’s possible you pulled a wire loose.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top