1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Has anyone tried to...

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by Recycled, Feb 18, 2020.

  1. Feb 18, 2020 at 6:34 PM
    #1
    Recycled

    Recycled [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Member:
    #42133
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Reedley, California
    Vehicle:
    2002 diamond in the rough.
    Install a instrument cluster with tachometer, temp, volt oil pressure, gauge into a plain jane idiot light cluster truck?
    I love to see what my oil or volts are before I would have a problem.
     
  2. Feb 18, 2020 at 6:38 PM
    #2
    empty_lord

    empty_lord They see me rollin'

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Member:
    #25441
    Messages:
    7,270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Indiana, Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    05 rollover special
    custom body work, Billies with taco ARB springs, Icon AAL, TRD FJ trail team wheels, 2019 Toyota 86 radio, Blacked out interior, Added factory power everything, heater mirrors, ETC
    V6 truck? Good chance it’ll just plug in, but you’d need a cluster from a truck with the same engine or rpm will be off.

    not 100% certain though
     
  3. Feb 18, 2020 at 10:37 PM
    #3
    weadjust

    weadjust New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Member:
    #29366
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Limited DC
    It would probably be cheaper and easier to install a Ultra Gauge or Scan Gauge. Plug it into the OBD port and stick it somewhere with adhesive Velcro. I have an Ultra Gauge and you can program it to display whatever info you want on the screen up to 6 or 8 things you want to monitor of your choosing. The MPG functions are pretty much worthless on my 06.

    Google image of the Ultra Gauge

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Feb 19, 2020 at 12:31 AM
    #4
    WxRaider

    WxRaider Loading.....

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Member:
    #39702
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2016 Double Cab 4x4
    K&N CAI Custom Long Tube Headers Old School Fosgate amps, diamond audio mids/highs, JL subs
    +1 for Ultra Gauge. Had one on my 02 Tundra. Awesome unit.
     
  5. Feb 19, 2020 at 3:54 AM
    #5
    timsp8

    timsp8 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Member:
    #15231
    Messages:
    2,771
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra Limited Crewmax
    Not sure about an 02, but I looked in to putting a better cluster in my 10 but found out you can’t really buy them and if you do the dealer has to install and set the mileage and certify it. Guess it’s to keep people with high mileage just putting in a new cluster and claiming lower mileage.
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  6. Feb 19, 2020 at 5:16 AM
    #6
    tvpierce

    tvpierce Formerly New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Member:
    #30129
    Messages:
    879
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tundra AC
    Torque Pro app running on your phone? Or dedicate an old phone to permament truck display duty.
     
    speedtre likes this.
  7. Feb 19, 2020 at 8:13 AM
    #7
    Recycled

    Recycled [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Member:
    #42133
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Reedley, California
    Vehicle:
    2002 diamond in the rough.
    Ty will look into the ultra
     

Products Discussed in

To Top