1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Has anyone replaced the map database SD card?

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014+)' started by gosolo, Feb 6, 2016.

  1. Feb 6, 2016 at 7:58 PM
    #1
    gosolo

    gosolo [OP] If you go solo you better go prepared

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    362
    Gender:
    Male
    Central AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 48g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Icon leaf spring packs and got rid of the interior chrome
    Since the SD card is installed at the factory, is it selected for the region of destination?

    This would mean that for those who went a 1000+ miles to get there Tundra and drove it home the maps are not best for where they live, correct?

    Has anyone figured out how to hack or upgrade the mapping for their region?

    The manual says the dealer has to replace the mapping card when you want it done, why?

    Seems like a big window for some tech geeks to climb through. Wish I was better qualified.
     
  2. Feb 6, 2016 at 10:19 PM
    #2
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,886
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
  3. Feb 6, 2016 at 10:42 PM
    #3
    LOTSOFTOYS

    LOTSOFTOYS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Member:
    #1396
    Messages:
    1,045
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jace
    Mile high
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tundra DBL cab
    So u have the radio that has the map on the SD card? Pretty new truck then I'm assuming... what's wrong with the maps?not accurate? Or is the radio not displaying them correctly?
     
    iHacker likes this.
  4. Feb 7, 2016 at 6:54 AM
    #4
    Cutter29

    Cutter29 ...

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Member:
    #1400
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2015 Super White TRD PRO
    295/65 Duratrac, 20% tint, Clazzio, Nfab, Leer XQ,
    The map card was missing when I took delivery. They had one overnighted to me. Took it out and plugged it in. No big deal. I can't see why you wouldn't be able to find the Toyota card you want and put it in the slot.
     
  5. Feb 7, 2016 at 7:12 AM
    #5
    gosolo

    gosolo [OP] If you go solo you better go prepared

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    362
    Gender:
    Male
    Central AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 48g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Icon leaf spring packs and got rid of the interior chrome
    Yes, I have a 2015 DC TRD Pro Tundra. Bought in Oregon, driven to her new home in AZ.

    One of my Garmin GPS's has removable mini SD cards that can be downloaded with 15m topo maps and region specific. When I fly to the Pacific NW I load the Washington/Oregon Region. When I am at home I keep the AZ/NM/ Cali map card.

    I am wishing topo maps could be available on the nav read-out in the Tundra. Also, I have not had the truck back north so I do not know if the maps currently in the truck may be more specific to where it was purchased.

    In other words, would I gain much by getting Southwest Region card installed over what is in there now? what will be the difference?

    Thanks for your response.
     
  6. Feb 7, 2016 at 8:10 AM
    #6
    LOTSOFTOYS

    LOTSOFTOYS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Member:
    #1396
    Messages:
    1,045
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jace
    Mile high
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tundra DBL cab
    I was under the impression that the card had all of North America loaded on it? The older models with discs were the way. Haven't had many problems with these SD cards. But I do know they update GPS cards/discs every 6 months or so. They are pricy though Iirc.
    Parts department at a dealer should be able to tell u specifics about different regions available and what not.

    As for loading Topo maps onto the head unit, not sure I'd mess with that. Its still a radio, it's not a garmin. Maybe someday but I don't think our technology is there yet.
     
  7. Feb 7, 2016 at 9:22 AM
    #7
    gosolo

    gosolo [OP] If you go solo you better go prepared

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    362
    Gender:
    Male
    Central AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 48g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Icon leaf spring packs and got rid of the interior chrome
    following manual protocols; Apps/Navigation/Options/Map/Data, I see my system has detailed maps of WA, OR, & ID. Makes sense because it was built for and shipped to Oregon where I bought the truck.

    I would like to know what the difference will be before spending the $ for the AZ region card. I will ask the dealer next time i'm in but they usually know less about the truck than I do, lol.
     
  8. Feb 7, 2016 at 11:40 AM
    #8
    Photographer

    Photographer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Member:
    #650
    Messages:
    4
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra CM
    Honestly, you're better off just sticking a Garmin to the windshield. That a $40,000 truck can't come with an easy to use nav system that actually works as well as a $250 Garmin is a crying shame. I spent 5 months trying to make it work, and finally had enough -- bought a Garmin again and been much happier.....
     
    matluth likes this.
  9. Feb 7, 2016 at 11:56 AM
    #9
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    I picked up a 7" Magellan Roadmate 1700LM that works really well. If the new Tundra nav unit takes the micro sD maps then it shouldn't be a big deal to update. I see new Toyota nav unit map update sD's when they come out on Ebay for $150 or so. Ditto^^^^^^ on why Toyota can't provide lifetime maps. I was thinking about updating my SR5 to a stereo/ nav unit but will probably just go the stereo/DVD head unit route since I only use the Magellan when I need it. (I got the 7" Roadmate with lifetime maps on black Friday for $60)
     
    RowdyRon likes this.
  10. Feb 7, 2016 at 8:25 PM
    #10
    LOTSOFTOYS

    LOTSOFTOYS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Member:
    #1396
    Messages:
    1,045
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jace
    Mile high
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tundra DBL cab
    Like I said, a competent parts guy should know how to help u
     
  11. Aug 21, 2016 at 7:12 AM
    #11
    650h1

    650h1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    Anyone know if you can copy map info from one SD card to another and put it back in your HU? My wife's 2014.5 Camry has a decent version of maps, while my 2013 Tundra doesn't know the road I live on.... It looks like I live in the middle of the woods, I'm assuming, because the road didn't exist in 2012 when my Tundra's maps were last updated (verified 2012 maps are on my truck). My wife's camry however, recognizes it. Her Camry also has the smaller SD card and my truck has the normal sized one... Just wondering if I would be able to essentially copy her SD card to mine and plug it back into my truck with updated maps...
     
  12. Aug 21, 2016 at 7:36 AM
    #12
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon Not too old to play

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    3,286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    That would be logical so there must be a catch......
     
    650h1 and Relentless like this.
  13. Aug 21, 2016 at 8:28 AM
    #13
    LOTSOFTOYS

    LOTSOFTOYS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Member:
    #1396
    Messages:
    1,045
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jace
    Mile high
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tundra DBL cab
    U can try. Never heard of anyone doing that. Probably should just purchase the new updated map sd
     
  14. Aug 21, 2016 at 8:50 AM
    #14
    watsonc3

    watsonc3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Member:
    #2779
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Sumter, SC
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 1794 Edition 4x4
    6 in Skyjacker Lift 24x12 Rockstar II's LT315/50R24 Nitto Grapplers Gibson Performance Dual Exhaust Fabfours Veangeance Series Front and Rear Custom bumpers Fabfours side steps Fabfours roof rack with 4 pod face plate Fabfours headache bar 10 Rigid Industries 2x2 lights
    I just Bluetooth google maps through my phone.
     
  15. Aug 21, 2016 at 10:00 AM
    #15
    650h1

    650h1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    yeah, but... $100 is dumb.
     
  16. Aug 21, 2016 at 10:16 AM
    #16
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    More in likely the SD card is coded. (First thing the unit looks at) if the code is not there it will abort anything else. Simple copy from old sdcard minus maps which might be zip or iso formats. Then copy map section to new card and boom. (Maybe)

    Failure rate on this working I give it 5% chance tho to the keys.
     
  17. Aug 21, 2016 at 10:18 AM
    #17
    650h1

    650h1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    Yeah i just read that the software on the cards is all linked to an ID # on the card, and its not possible. go figure.
     
  18. Aug 21, 2016 at 8:04 PM
    #18
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    My Magellan didn't show anything today where I went on the screen. A good thing.
     
  19. Aug 21, 2016 at 8:10 PM
    #19
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Cough (Garmin) cough.
     
    WarEagleSteve likes this.
  20. Aug 21, 2016 at 8:25 PM
    #20
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    My Garmin's sucked. All three that I have owned. Crap. (I bought a G*y TomTom, CRAP.) Mapping on my Garmins pretty much stopped once I left the road. Remember I live in CO. My Magellan actually covered Apex road up to 10600ft near my friends property in the middle of dumb fuk nowhere then that was it. Garmin=shit coughed at the turn off at the highway. Cough.
     
  21. Aug 21, 2016 at 8:31 PM
    #21
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Depends on how much they are updated too... I have 3 Garmin and one is commercial, all prefect all have lifetime updates and all have been hit hard with updates thanks google..

    Garmin has changed in the past three years..

    I switched more my friends to Garmin and they other GPS and they love Garmin.
     
    WarEagleSteve likes this.
  22. Aug 22, 2016 at 6:11 AM
    #22
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon Not too old to play

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    3,286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    I've had a Garmin Nuvi 1490 for a few years and have used it extensively in all my work travels before I retired. It has life-time free map updates and has performed well so I'm a Garmin fan. I agree that the Tom Tom is a POS and their customer support is not far behind.
     
    WarEagleSteve likes this.
  23. Aug 22, 2016 at 6:21 AM
    #23
    WarEagleSteve

    WarEagleSteve Getting out of Jersey!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Member:
    #1615
    Messages:
    973
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    N.J.
    Vehicle:
    2015 White Tundra Crew Max SR5/Off Road
    Mr. Matt, was this you? LOL!

     
  24. Aug 22, 2016 at 6:22 AM
    #24
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon Not too old to play

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    3,286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    Good commercial, Steve!
     
    WarEagleSteve likes this.
  25. Sep 29, 2016 at 2:57 AM
    #25
    PermaFrostTRD

    PermaFrostTRD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4612
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern NY
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD Off-road DC
    It looks like from everything I've read that the most current data sd card is labeled 86271-OE183. The card in my 2014 tundra is "..OE180" and the map data says 2013 so the sequencing makes sense.
    I've found one "OE183" on eBay for $20 but it says it's for a highlander. Does that matter? Will I be able to use it in my unit? I know it's only $20 but that's a 12-boomer of some good craft beer so I'd rather not donate it to the eBay-sphere. Has anyone had success going this route?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  26. Oct 17, 2016 at 1:01 PM
    #26
    PermaFrostTRD

    PermaFrostTRD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4612
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern NY
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD Off-road DC
    Just to update if anyone is looking to do this:

    The OE-183 went in plug and play. Tundra "detected new software" and told me not to turn off the engine until update completed.
    Bout 15 minutes in the driveway. New maps running strong.
     
    ChucklesToy and RowdyRon like this.
  27. Oct 25, 2016 at 12:04 PM
    #27
    AxelsHumanDad

    AxelsHumanDad I am Groot

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Member:
    #533
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    KAIG, NW of The Frozen Tundra
    Vehicle:
    2015 CM Platinum - "Street Pig"
    Some suspension tweaks
    I just now upped to 184 from the fleabay link in the other thread. $60.00 vs the $200 or so the dealers want. Plug and play. The display says it's a 2016 map. We'll see. It won't replace my Garmin maps which I can update weekly if I want, but the in-dash is something else to tinker with. :D
     
  28. Oct 26, 2016 at 7:34 AM
    #28
    650h1

    650h1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    Tried this with a 2013, used an SD card adapter since the 2013 takes the bigger SD card. No go. Says cant read data. Fuckkk
     
  29. Oct 26, 2016 at 8:20 AM
    #29
    PermaFrostTRD

    PermaFrostTRD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4612
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern NY
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD Off-road DC
    ^^thats a bummer man.
     
  30. Oct 26, 2016 at 10:06 AM
    #30
    PapaGrizz

    PapaGrizz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Member:
    #3677
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Spokane, WA
    [​IMG]
     
    650h1 likes this.
To Top