1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Fortin EVO-ONE firmware problem

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014-2021)' started by blackz151, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. Aug 7, 2018 at 2:33 PM
    #1
    blackz151

    blackz151 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #17860
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nick
    I went to install the evo-one in my 17 tundra. Before I did the install I hooked it up to the flash link to get that all squared away. The flash link sees the unit just fine and I was able to up update the remote start firware just fine. When I went to update the bypass firmware I get this:

    If I go ahead and tell it to do the update I get this


    Then it goes right back to the main screen. I tried to reset the unit by holding the button and connecting the data cord and that does work. I also tried to connect the power and ground wires and holding the programming button and waiting for the red led that never turns on.

    Has any one run into this before of have any clue how to fix it. I dont want to rip the truck apart to install it and find out its got a bigger problem. Is the unit it self bad? I dont really get it the flask link manger sees the evo-one just fine and it wrote the remote start firmware just wont touch the bypass firmware. I also updated the link to the newest firmware as well 4.03
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2018
  2. Aug 7, 2018 at 2:35 PM
    #2
    TheBeast

    TheBeast The Beach

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    11,984
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012
  3. Aug 7, 2018 at 5:18 PM
    #3
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle not a PRO

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    5,088
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    See fine print
    I think I had a similar issue but I don’t remember how I fixed it. Maybe I had to plug in the usb cable at a certain time? Something like that. Check Fortins faq page. Lots of great info on there that may help.
     
    TheBeast likes this.
  4. Aug 7, 2018 at 6:44 PM
    #4
    blackz151

    blackz151 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #17860
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nick
    Thanks! Yea Ive been all over it cant really find anything on it. I'm kinda worried that I cant get it to light up when I give it power and ground but I can get the computer to see it so I dont know.
     
  5. Aug 7, 2018 at 6:57 PM
    #5
    jakes40

    jakes40 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Member:
    #14968
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris Blowers
    Winchester, Va
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra limited
    Leveling kit
    I just put a Fortin in my 2015 did not get that error. But after it remote starts, I put my key in turn it to on and hit the brake and the starter engages.
    Fortin has not been very helpful with my issue.

    This is the third vehicle I have used Fortin product on and they worked great.
     
  6. Aug 7, 2018 at 7:10 PM
    #6
    blackz151

    blackz151 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #17860
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nick
    did you program it before putting it in the truck or did you put it in and then take it back out and update it?
     
  7. Aug 7, 2018 at 7:23 PM
    #7
    jakes40

    jakes40 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Member:
    #14968
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris Blowers
    Winchester, Va
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra limited
    Leveling kit
    Both I programed it with the new Beta program.
    Put it in and it didn't work.
    Pulled it out and reprogrammed it with the older recommended software.
    It works but with the restart.

    Fortin said to put a anti grind relay on it. I have not installed the anti grind yet.
     
  8. Aug 7, 2018 at 7:29 PM
    #8
    blackz151

    blackz151 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #17860
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nick
    Thanks! Ill mess around with I guess I really dont get it firmware on the remote start side is fine bypass nothing seems to work
     
  9. Aug 7, 2018 at 7:39 PM
    #9
    jakes40

    jakes40 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Member:
    #14968
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris Blowers
    Winchester, Va
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra limited
    Leveling kit
    Have you tried to default the unit download the bypass first then the remot start.
     
  10. Aug 7, 2018 at 8:44 PM
    #10
    blackz151

    blackz151 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #17860
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nick
    The issue is I cant get the firmware to load for the bypass. Every time I tell it to update it starts i see the blue light blink then it shows me that second screen no module detected. Ive tired different computers different usb ports nothing changes it disconnects at the same point ever time. But the remote start part updated no problems at all.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2018
  11. Aug 9, 2018 at 5:16 PM
    #11
    blackz151

    blackz151 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #17860
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nick
    Just for anyone else that runs into this issue. It was a bad unit. I got a replacement one and everything updated as it should have and is good to go
     
    Blueknights75 likes this.
  12. Aug 9, 2018 at 6:28 PM
    #12
    jakes40

    jakes40 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Member:
    #14968
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris Blowers
    Winchester, Va
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra limited
    Leveling kit
    Sucks you had the problem. But glad you got it straightened out.
     
  13. Jan 31, 2019 at 4:33 PM
    #13
    notmyrealuser

    notmyrealuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Member:
    #25243
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    So i have this exact set of symptoms on my 2011 Tundra, Evo-One. It has worked great for a couple years and now intermittently I will: remote start->Unlock with the fob, open door->key in ignition and turnn to acc-> press brake to take over and the starter engages and grinds. It's not every time but half the time approximately.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top