1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Entune rebooting

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by BlueBottle, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. Oct 16, 2016 at 6:06 PM
    #1
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    323
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    my entune w navi on my 16 keeps rebooting itself when my phone (iphone 6s) is connected via Bluetooth. I believe I'm ok the newest update from a few weeks ago. It never has done this. Nothing has changed on my phone. If I disconnect BT it doesn't reset!

    Anyone has the same problem? I don't want to go to dealer and they will just give me the run around.
     
  2. Oct 16, 2016 at 6:16 PM
    #2
    Fireace

    Fireace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4681
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2014 Crewmax Limited
    AFE Momentum Gt Pro
    Yea the new update is doing the same with my 14. Last time it told me to update entune I had the same issue. The dealership actually uploaded the update for me. I think sometimes the update doesn't work or something
     
  3. Oct 16, 2016 at 6:41 PM
    #3
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    323
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    So you never got it fixed? Mine is rebooting every minute when BT is connected !
     
  4. Oct 16, 2016 at 6:53 PM
    #4
    Fireace

    Fireace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4681
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2014 Crewmax Limited
    AFE Momentum Gt Pro
    The last big update was last December or somewhere around there. It was rebooting and so I took it in and they installed the update and it worked. The latest update is doing the same thing so I may take it in again. It's annoying. I have a 6s plus so our phones are the same operating system.
     
  5. Oct 16, 2016 at 7:52 PM
    #5
    MotoTundra

    MotoTundra Adrenaline Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #8
    Messages:
    2,444
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14' Black TRD CM
    TRS Mini D2S Retrofit on TRD Pro Headlights (Apollo 2.0 Shrouds, 35w XB Ballasts, 5500k Bulbs) TRD Pro Grill BakFlip VP Tonneau w/BakBox Dipped wheels & bumpers Undercover Swingcase SunTek Paint Protection film Yellow Lamin-X Fog Overlays Tint Bedmat
    Sounds like a pain. Hopefully the dealer can help if you decide to give it a shot.
     
  6. Oct 16, 2016 at 8:46 PM
    #6
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    323
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    I deleted the Entune app from my phone and it seems to have stopped rebooting!
    I think i will end up removing this Entune crap and installing a double din aftermarket radio eventually!
    :annoyed:
     
  7. Oct 16, 2016 at 8:50 PM
    #7
    MotoTundra

    MotoTundra Adrenaline Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #8
    Messages:
    2,444
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14' Black TRD CM
    TRS Mini D2S Retrofit on TRD Pro Headlights (Apollo 2.0 Shrouds, 35w XB Ballasts, 5500k Bulbs) TRD Pro Grill BakFlip VP Tonneau w/BakBox Dipped wheels & bumpers Undercover Swingcase SunTek Paint Protection film Yellow Lamin-X Fog Overlays Tint Bedmat
    Make sure you sell your stock HU, I have heard the Nav is plug and play on other entune Tundras.
     
    BlueBottle likes this.
  8. Oct 20, 2016 at 10:02 AM
    #8
    fnubersr

    fnubersr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4931
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Platinum Ed 2015
    Gray, none
    I have the same thing happening with my 2015, only I'm using an Android phone. I'll contact dealer and see if they have a solution
     
  9. Oct 20, 2016 at 10:03 AM
    #9
    Fireace

    Fireace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4681
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2014 Crewmax Limited
    AFE Momentum Gt Pro
    Weirdly enough I haven't had any issues the past few days. I didn't do anything. It may just take time for the update to sync with the phone or something.
     
  10. Oct 26, 2016 at 8:28 AM
    #10
    Tiger Tanker

    Tiger Tanker Tyranny doesn't leap, it creeps

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4929
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Tacoma WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Platinum Edition Tundra
    none so far
    I had this happen to me on the way to work. It rebooted over and over the entire way to work.

    So, anyone know what the answer is?
     
  11. Oct 26, 2016 at 8:44 AM
    #11
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,928
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Should be solved by an update. If not, Toyota will need to replace the unit.
     
  12. Oct 26, 2016 at 8:50 AM
    #12
    Tiger Tanker

    Tiger Tanker Tyranny doesn't leap, it creeps

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4929
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Tacoma WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Platinum Edition Tundra
    none so far
    I wonder if removing the app, reinstalling it might help. The recent entune update may have incompatible issues by an overlayer of software. Essentially, I'm suggesting "kick it"....
     
  13. Oct 26, 2016 at 11:32 AM
    #13
    Fireace

    Fireace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4681
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2014 Crewmax Limited
    AFE Momentum Gt Pro
    Well mine did that for one day then I haven't had a problem since. I didn't do anything but turn my Bluetooth off for the day so it wouldn't sync. After that one day it has worked perfectly. I think it just takes a while for everything to sync up
     
  14. Oct 26, 2016 at 12:30 PM
    #14
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    323
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    This! I deleted my entune app and have not reinstalled it. I also re paired my phone to the entune. Ever since I have not had an issue. I will see once I reinstall the app if the problem returns. It is definitely related to the phone - entune Bluetooth syncing.
     
    Tiger Tanker likes this.
  15. Oct 26, 2016 at 12:32 PM
    #15
    Tiger Tanker

    Tiger Tanker Tyranny doesn't leap, it creeps

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4929
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Tacoma WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Platinum Edition Tundra
    none so far
    So, why do I need or benefit from having the "entune" app on my phone? If I can synch regardless, what's the point of having it on my phone?
     
    RowdyRon likes this.
  16. Oct 26, 2016 at 12:34 PM
    #16
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    323
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    From what I understand, it syncs preferences like stations etc to your phone. I don't really care for that so I'm not expecting to reinstall mine.

    If you find more purpose other than that please let me know.
     
  17. Oct 26, 2016 at 12:52 PM
    #17
    Fireace

    Fireace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4681
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2014 Crewmax Limited
    AFE Momentum Gt Pro
    Yea it seems redundant because things like pandora works fine when the phone is paired. But when you try to use it through entune it never works right. I am almost thinking entune is a waste of space on my phone and really just unnecessary
     
    BlueBottle likes this.
  18. Oct 26, 2016 at 1:01 PM
    #18
    Tiger Tanker

    Tiger Tanker Tyranny doesn't leap, it creeps

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Member:
    #4929
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Tacoma WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Platinum Edition Tundra
    none so far
    My salesman must have chatted up this entune thing 3-4 times. I suspect there is an incentive for them to get it on your phone, and that Toyota can track your actions and stuff only if it is on your phone. While that may sound conspiracy and kooky, it probably isn't far off the mark.
     
    BlueBottle likes this.
  19. Oct 26, 2016 at 1:32 PM
    #19
    Fireace

    Fireace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4681
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2014 Crewmax Limited
    AFE Momentum Gt Pro
    No unfortunately in this era it's not as crazy as it sounds :anonymous:
     
  20. Oct 27, 2016 at 1:01 AM
    #20
    sp.riley

    sp.riley New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Member:
    #5001
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra
    I have the same issue. I have a 2015 Tundra and have a iPhone 6+. I have done some troubleshooting and found that when I am connected via Bluetooth I am fine. But when I am connected via Bluetooth and run the Entune app on my phone then the stereo reboots repeatedly. Toyota needs to update their Entune App for iPhone so it doesnt cause reboots.
     
    BlueBottle likes this.
  21. Dec 3, 2016 at 10:51 AM
    #21
    jeffw6236

    jeffw6236 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Member:
    #5090
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2016 Black SR5 Crewmax
    I had the problem today with my Entune system rebooting 3 times within 10 minutes. Twice when I was on a phone call. I've never had an issue before today. I don't think there have been any updates to Entune or iOS in a while.

    Is it the app causing this?
     
  22. Dec 3, 2016 at 4:29 PM
    #22
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    323
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    Problem never returned after I delete the app.
     
  23. Dec 3, 2016 at 4:39 PM
    #23
    TruckinIt

    TruckinIt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Member:
    #5188
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Las Vegas, NV
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CM Limited TRD Off Road 4x4
    MagnaFlow, K&N CAI, 10" Rockford Fosgate w/ 1k watt amp, Plastidipped door handles, front bumper end caps, factory nerf bars and wheels, TRD Pro grill, interior LED's, exterior LED's w/ more to come.....
    I haven't had reboots BUT my phone was having a hard time connecting to the HU today. All I did was turn off BT and turn it back on. I'll have to get in the truck and troubleshoot this one.
     
  24. Dec 4, 2016 at 7:10 AM
    #24
    jeffw6236

    jeffw6236 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Member:
    #5090
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2016 Black SR5 Crewmax
    Thanks. I tried that. Only been a day but no issues since. I also noticed that BT was connecting to my personal phone for phone and my work phone for audio. Too much goin on there I think.
     
To Top