1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Electric brake controller

Discussion in 'Towing & Hauling' started by Singledadjames, Jul 2, 2017.

  1. Jul 2, 2017 at 10:04 AM
    #1
    Singledadjames

    Singledadjames [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Member:
    #8373
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra
    my 2016 came with a tow package, but I am having to install a electric brake controller. I have watched that the controller is easy to install. I have installed the controller and found the wiring up behind the dash and hooked it up, but apparently there is no power, as the controller does not light up. I am figuring it's a blow fuse or I have to hook up something else.

    Anyone else have a problem installing an electric brake controller? Any and all assistance would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. Jul 2, 2017 at 10:10 AM
    #2
    BlueFalconActual

    BlueFalconActual Field Day Inspector Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Member:
    #3495
    Messages:
    1,628
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    29 Palms, CA
    Vehicle:
    Tundra-less
    Welcome to the forum.
    Did you remove the factory controller? All of the 2016s that have the tow package came with a controller (for the 5.7's at least).
     
  3. Jul 2, 2017 at 10:19 AM
    #3
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    4,972
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    [YODAGAN]
    2015 Inferno Ex-Pro
    Which controller are you trying to install? I have a 2015 and even though they did not come with brake controllers till '16 I have the harness behind the dash. I have a p3 hooked up and works great.
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  4. Jul 2, 2017 at 10:35 AM
    #4
    Singledadjames

    Singledadjames [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Member:
    #8373
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra
    Mine has the smaller V-8 and it did not come with a factory controller. The wiring harness is behind the dash and I found it. The controller I bought came with a pigtail to plug right into the Tundra which it did. Just not getting anything on the controller. I have talked with the controller people as we troubled shooted. Using a meter, just not getting power to the wiring harness behind the dash that I plug the controller into.
     
  5. Jul 2, 2017 at 10:50 AM
    #5
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    4,972
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    [YODAGAN]
    2015 Inferno Ex-Pro
    Yeah I would check the fuse
     
    BlueFalconActual likes this.
  6. Jul 2, 2017 at 11:01 AM
    #6
    joonbug

    joonbug bacon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    16,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    NorCal - Dublin
    Vehicle:
    2020 Limited DoubleCab
    Smaller V8?
     
  7. Jul 2, 2017 at 11:06 AM
    #7
    BlueFalconActual

    BlueFalconActual Field Day Inspector Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Member:
    #3495
    Messages:
    1,628
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    29 Palms, CA
    Vehicle:
    Tundra-less
    I think he's talking about the 4.6
     
  8. Jul 2, 2017 at 1:42 PM
    #8
    landphil

    landphil What do maple trees put on their pancakes?

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Member:
    #4814
    Messages:
    3,728
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    ‘08 TRD doublecab
    You likely have to install the fuse(s) in the fuse box under the hood, both for the brake controller, and your trailer charge power. I assume your truck is factory wired with the 7 pin connector.
     
  9. Jul 3, 2017 at 7:53 AM
    #9
    Singledadjames

    Singledadjames [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Member:
    #8373
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra
    Yes, my Tundra came with tow package and the 7 pin connector. Now to try and find what slots the fuses go in
     

Products Discussed in

To Top