1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Do I need a Line Out Converter?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Blankcheese, Aug 8, 2016.

  1. Aug 8, 2016 at 4:18 AM
    #1
    Blankcheese

    Blankcheese [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Member:
    #3579
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Vehicle:
    '16 SR5 DC 4WD
    The RF Punch Amps seem to have speaker level inputs. Does this mean I can keep the stock non-JBL head unit and run the speaker outs into it? If I don't need to install a LOC that would save time/money and space under the seats
     
  2. Aug 8, 2016 at 4:38 AM
    #2
    MotoTundra

    MotoTundra The Ocho

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #8
    Messages:
    3,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14' Black TRD CM
    TRS Mini D2S Retrofit on TRD Pro Headlights (Apollo 2.0 Shrouds, 35w XB Ballasts, 5500k Bulbs) TRD Pro Grill BakFlip VP Tonneau w/BakBox Dipped wheels & bumpers Undercover Swingcase SunTek Paint Protection film Yellow Lamin-X Fog Overlays Tint Bedmat
  3. Aug 8, 2016 at 7:03 AM
    #3
    Blankcheese

    Blankcheese [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Member:
    #3579
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Vehicle:
    '16 SR5 DC 4WD
    I'm wondering if this would defeat the low-volume, white noise amplification problem that I thought was associated with LOCs?
     
  4. Aug 8, 2016 at 10:49 AM
    #4
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    3,205
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    If you have any noise anywhere it will be amplified,,, unless you have a filter cut off say from 60hz up to 120hz for example... to be honest the stock outputs on factory radios have dirty outputs in all ranges.
     
  5. Aug 8, 2016 at 3:24 PM
    #5
    Blankcheese

    Blankcheese [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Member:
    #3579
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny
    Vehicle:
    '16 SR5 DC 4WD
    Yeah change of plans I'm putting in a head unit
     
    Kilos and MotoTundra like this.
  6. Dec 27, 2016 at 8:08 AM
    #6
    Kilos

    Kilos Peaceful warrior

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Member:
    #4952
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brett
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Pro Barcelona Red
    Nitto Terra Grappler G2 275/70 Precision LED interior lights (6000k) GTR reverse LEDs 20% acrylic tint (heat resistant) Inyati spray in bedliner Black TRD Pro bed inserts Leather wrapped steering wheel AJT Designs TRD shift knob AJT key fob Morimoto LED fog lights Full JL Audio sound system upgrade (stock HU) TRD sway bar
    What head unit did you go with? Any pics available?
     
  7. Dec 27, 2016 at 8:42 AM
    #7
    GNTundra

    GNTundra Troll Sniper

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Member:
    #4536
    Messages:
    7,674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gino
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2013 CrewMax SR5 Louisiana Edition
    Procomp Stage 2 6" 20x12 Fuel Mavericks 35x12.50x20 Nittos
    Nothing is gonna beat the quality and sound of an aftermarket unit! As for the factory headunit I haven't had any problems at any volume! If you go with the stock unit just be aware of the way you set your gains! Set too high and you'll hear all types of garbage!
    :thumbsup:
     
    Kilos likes this.
To Top