1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Disable TPMS

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by 650h1, Dec 9, 2014.

  1. Dec 9, 2014 at 6:55 PM
    #1
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    hey guys, just figured I'd let everyone know how to disable your TPMS system, effectively shutting that stupid light off forever. If you look under the glovebox, the TPMS computer is right there, with a plug of wires coming out. You want to cut the light green wire, and splice the part coming from the ECM into the yellow wire. To be clear, you need to keep the yellow wire in tact, as in not cutting it, and scotch lock the light green wire into it. This puts 5 Ohms on the TPMS system and makes the truck think everything is fine. I did it to mine and have had it for about a week with no issues. The problem is that, not only is the TPMS a stupid invention that's pointless, it costs a shitload of money to have new sensors added to your truck. The dealership needs to get the ID numbers off each new individual sensor, and add them to the ECM for the truck to recognize them. In English, if you buy a set of take off wheels and tires off of craigslist like I did, the new sensors won't automatically re-adjust to your truck, you have pay the dealer to add them. It's totally stupid, and a rip off, and anyone who can see knows if their tire pressures are low. Plus, for guys in the cold, that light would come on every morning anyways until you start driving and heat up the pressure in your tires... Dumb. Credit goes to bstevens on tundrasolutions, and as per normal, I'm not responsible if you fuck your truck up, or do this mod and blow a tire but don't have the light to tell you your tires blown, and your truck crashes. Attached are some pics from bstevens, I didn't use the Zener diodes, you don't really need them unless you're anal like that, they're cheap and its your money, not mine. I did not use them, and everything's fine...

    image.jpg image.jpg
     
    FarmallAcres likes this.
  2. Dec 9, 2014 at 7:21 PM
    #2
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Not really sure how it could be enforced, but it's illegal to disable the tpms. No judgement on your part, but just so others know.
     
  3. Dec 9, 2014 at 7:53 PM
    #3
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    No it isn't. It's not even an inspectable item. Here is a copy of the Motor Vehicle Safety Act, which created the National Highwaay Traffic Safety Administration. Page 557, second column, "Making Safety Devices Inoperative."

    http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE...ODE-2011-title49-subtitleVI-partA-chap301.pdf


    A manufacturer, distributor, dealer, or motor vehicle repair business may not knowingly make inoperative any part of a de- vice or element of design installed on or in a motor vehicle or motor vehicle equipment in compliance with an applicable motor vehicle safety standard prescribed under this chapter unless the manufacturer, distributor, dealer, or repair business reasonably believes the vehicle or equipment will not be used (except for testing or a similar purpose during maintenance or re- pair) when the device or element is inoperative.

    Vehicle owners can do whatever they want, as long as their vehicles adhere to state safety inspection requirements, in which TPMS is not a requirement.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014
  4. Dec 9, 2014 at 8:20 PM
    #4
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    So only for a business to do it. Gotcha
     
  5. Dec 9, 2014 at 8:22 PM
    #5
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    And if that business believes the system won't be used, it's ok to 86 it... TPMS is almost never ever used by even women who don't know what that light means...
     
  6. Dec 10, 2014 at 5:39 PM
    #6
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Why don't you just keep the stock TPMS sensors in aftermarket wheels and keep tire pressure accurate?

    :)
     
  7. Dec 10, 2014 at 6:38 PM
    #7
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    My light came on the other day... flipped my compressor on in the garage and aired up. Dang light did its job! But to be fair I knew it was going to come on since its getting cold.
     
  8. Dec 10, 2014 at 8:14 PM
    #8
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    Here's the exact issue. I bought a complete set of rock warrior wheels and tires - take offs from a 2013, practically brand new. They CAME WITH TPMS sensors. I put said wheels and tires on my truck. Drove 40 miles, TPMS light came on. I thought to myself, you can just push the button to reset the system and have it recognize new sensors... NOPE. you have to go to the dealership, pay them to get the ID numbers off of each new sensor, and then add those ID numbers to the trucks ECM for it to recognize them. That's completely fucking stupid, and a total waste of money. It's also a huge waste of over 100 bucks to break down the stock tires, break down the new set, swap TPMS sensors, then get the new set and old set remounted and balanced. Also, the sensors from the 17" RW wheels will not fit the 18" wheels, nor will the sensors from the 18" wheels fit the 17" RW wheels. I know you like being a dink on these forums, but you would never pay to do that, nor would anyone else, so your recommendation is exactly what people should NOT do. This is a simple, essentially free fix to erase a pointless light from your dashboard, if you don't want to do it that's cool, I posted this for others who would like to do it, and save themselves money and a headache...
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014
  9. Dec 10, 2014 at 10:06 PM
    #9
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    I wasn't being a dink. It was a question and kinda sarcastic with the comment of keeping pressure accurate. I didn't know the TPMS are different between wheel sizes. Openings are the same but obviously something there I didn't know. Also didn't know your situation. Now you clarified which is why I was asking as a question.

    On my Tacoma when changing wheels and tires, I did have the stock TPMS sensors swapped out to the new setup. I don't recall the added cost to do this swap. Another option to keep the TPMS (if they fit new wheel).

    I like the TPMS feature to know when I have a nail in the tire. Slow leaks are undetectable for a long time until the tire becomes visually low or you check pressure regularly. This helped recently with a nail in the tire.

    Thank you for this mod. Yes it is very helpful for those that can't keep their TPMS for whatever reason. I was not downgrading your hard work and awesome mod.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014
  10. Dec 10, 2014 at 10:18 PM
    #10
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,785
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    had to look up "DINK"....never heard that term before....Urbandictionary for DINK "dual income, no kids" :confused:
     
  11. Dec 10, 2014 at 10:30 PM
    #11
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Well I have a son. :)
     
  12. Dec 10, 2014 at 10:44 PM
    #12
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Cleared up some things above
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014
  13. Dec 11, 2014 at 4:50 AM
    #13
    ODSteve

    ODSteve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Member:
    #360
    Messages:
    654
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Vehicle:
    2012 Thundra SR5 TRD CrewMax
    K&N Filter, Low Profile tool box.
    Dual income haha
     
  14. Dec 11, 2014 at 5:27 AM
    #14
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    Ok delete the thread if you are just going to keep shitting on it, idk what else to say. I really wasnt looking for your criticism, just looking to post a helpful mod for people who DONT want to waste the money on something that doesn't provide any benefit. It's fine that you want to waste your money, but there are people who probably dont want to waste theirs.
     
  15. Dec 11, 2014 at 7:23 AM
    #15
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    2,114
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Damn dude, everyone on this site is pretty friendly... We are just in here talking. Good job on showing everyone how to disable the tpms. Nobody's pooping where you eat so just relax a little. We are all friends and appreciate you went to the trouble of posting this...
     
  16. Dec 11, 2014 at 7:25 AM
    #16
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,785
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Agree to disagree. Both methods work here. It's up to the vehicle operator to decide what route.
     
    650h1 and Bob like this.
  17. Apr 27, 2015 at 2:47 PM
    #17
    davelink

    davelink New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1235
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    This works, no need to cut anything, actually i did cut the light green wire then jumped it across to the yellow wire and the tpms light stayed on so don't cut it, it went out when i twisted the light green wire back together with the jumper installed, unless you want to install a delay timer relay like i did to make it appear that its working for inspection , just use a jumper wire from light green to yellow wire make sure it's the yellow wire that has voltage, mine has 2 yellow wires one with voltage one without , and plug it back in , now if you want to install a delayed timer relay $5 on ebay what happens with the relay installed is when you turn the key on the tpms light will come on then after the preset time (I set mine for 3 seconds ) the relay trips causing the voltage to transfer to the light green wire turning the light out .
     
    FarmallAcres likes this.
  18. Apr 27, 2015 at 6:59 PM
    #18
    bobeast

    bobeast really old member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Member:
    #960
    Messages:
    544
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Hollister, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC
    - Bull Bar, - HID Bunny Burners - AMP retractable running boards, - Headlight leveling retrofit - P1 Brake Controller - 60% rear seat delete - relocation of Sub to rear wall. - 3/1 leveling kit - Firestone Air bags - on-board compressor with auto-leveling, - Dual Undercover Swing Boxes. - P285/65/R20 (34.6") BFG TA KO2's - TRD Front skid plate - Pop & Lock Tailgate lock (soon) - Remote Tailgate mod (soon) - LED Headlights (soon) - Nav Bypass - iPhone integration - Serius/XM retrofit
    Forgive me for being a dink, but suggesting you simply keep your tires at the proper pressure seems like a perfectly reasonable suggestion. May I respectfully suggest you recalibrate your dink-meter? That said, thanks to the op for the tip. I'm sure it will help others facing the same situation you described.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2015
  19. Jun 4, 2015 at 2:41 PM
    #19
    07Fundra

    07Fundra New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Member:
    #1378
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra DC SR5 4WD LB
    Hi all, first want to say nice job by the OP to come up with great mod to bypass the TPMS.

    I'm seeking a little clarification though, the trouble I'm having is that the original procedure and this one by the OP here are slightly different and both are a little vague about which wires to use. Both used the light green wire and there's only one in this connector (J31) so no problem there. Both removed the wire from the connector in one form or another (cutting or removing female pin terminal from connector), again, this is clear enough. However bstevens used two resistors and a diode and connected to the yellow wire in terminal #7 judging by the pic. The second pic is pretty difficult to discern anything from and I"m not even sure which style (diode or not) it is depicting.

    That yellow wire in the first photo, pin #7, has 12volts on it. After the resistors are installed according to bstevens the voltage going to our light green wire should be approx 4.4V so the metering unit in the dash is satisfied. It seems the OP says hey you don't need the diodes but I'm wondering if he luckily used the other, lower voltage yellow wire.

    To be clear here, the problem is that there are TWO yellow wires on that connector. The other is in pin terminal #6 (opposite corner of pin #7) and that one has approx 5V as it's a reference signal. So to clarify, does the OP mean 5V and not "5 ohms" as he states? Can he share exactly which pins he tapped more clearly? Specifically, WHICH YELLOW WIRE at the tpms connector? I'm thinking it may be a bad idea to send 12V to the metering unit through the light green wire if what it really is looking for is some voltage between 0-5V (as reference voltages usually work).

    Thanks in advance for any light anyone might be able to shed on this matter. Below please see the pics of the diagrams in question for help in clarification. Sorry for any formatting errors I may have made in attaching them.

    tpms ecu connector J31.jpgtmps ecu diagram.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2015
    FarmallAcres and matluth like this.
  20. Jun 11, 2015 at 4:23 AM
    #20
    FarmallAcres

    FarmallAcres Farmall Acres

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Member:
    #1402
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doc
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2008 CrewMax
    I have the same problem and wondering exactly which yellow wire to tap. I copied the blurry photo at the beginning of the post, blew it up, and rotated so I could read the sticker. Appears to say the yellow wire 'to top right.' That makes sense since this is the 5V yellow wire as 07Fundra indicates. I am heading outside to try this fix. Will post results. If anyone can clarify otherwise please let us all know.
     
    matluth likes this.
  21. Jun 11, 2015 at 5:21 AM
    #21
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,489
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    Nice vintage Farmall if say so myself. I am temporarily ignoring by TPMS light for now until next tire change. Checking by hand.
     
  22. Jun 12, 2015 at 6:26 AM
    #22
    FarmallAcres

    FarmallAcres Farmall Acres

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Member:
    #1402
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doc
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2008 CrewMax
    I carefully stripped insulation from light green wire and yellow wire #6. Tapped across both and checked to be sure I have connection. TPMS light still on. Tried yellow wire #7. Still TPMS light on. DO NOT TRY THIS!! Now my ABS light is on as well as the air bag warning light. Tranny lock out also engaged. No idea what happened. All fuses ok. Guess I'm off to my Toy dealer. I'm betting an expensive experiment. By the way, my rig is a 2008 CrewMax. Not sure why this fix ended up a disaster for me. Be Careful!
     
    matluth likes this.
  23. Jun 12, 2015 at 7:37 AM
    #23
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,785
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Ouch.
     
  24. Jun 12, 2015 at 7:52 AM
    #24
    Wynnded

    Wynnded Wait, what?

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #379
    Messages:
    614
    Gender:
    Male
    Rockies
    Vehicle:
    2011 RCSB 5.7L AWD Tundra
    OEM Upgrades
    Credit, where credit is due....

    Tpms light!! Toyota has a problem.

    I did this mod before it was posted here based on the post I linked to. No issues.
     
  25. Jun 13, 2015 at 4:55 AM
    #25
    FarmallAcres

    FarmallAcres Farmall Acres

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Member:
    #1402
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doc
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2008 CrewMax
    My fix was to jump across the light green wire to the yellow wire as shown above in this thread. No idea why I ran into a problem. Toy dealership found a blown fuse, they said #9 fuse for ECM. Prior to taking truck to dealership I checked all fuses labeled with any marking associated with ABS, Break Check, air bags, TPMS, or anything to do with engine operation. All were OK. Not sure which fuse is #9. They are not numbered. I checked both the fuse box under the hood and beside driver side floorboard. After dealer replaced fuse, everything now works again. I put old tires back on with factory TPMS units. Cost me $112 to find out this would not work on my truck. If anyone has an idea please pass along. Also, if anyone knows which fuse is #9 please let me know. Would be nice to know for future reference instead of paying Toy for a fix!
     
  26. Jun 13, 2015 at 5:15 AM
    #26
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,489
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    It doesn't take much to open a can of worms.Especially with electronics and modifications being done differently for the same thing. The ECM is touchy enough as it is. Why fool with mother nature? I calibrate and repair all kinds of high end (very high end) electronic test equipment at work and I am good at it, yet I won't mess around bypassing/modding anything ever without clear and concise, and verified documentation.In my line of work it could be a career ending mistake at best.Safety of flight/life at worst. This mod appears to work for some and not others. And it's being done differently. Not a good sign. Needs more clarification. Is the latest revision or relevant wiring revision being used? this sould be a consideration and mentioned with all mods posted here. Of course one is taking a risk. Just have your wallet ready. Many mfrs, including Toyota are constantly changing/revising things. It's one thing to wire up fogs and such. Outsmarting the ECU is another. Trial and error can be cosly. Ask Jace. He has probably seen a few at Stevensons West.Toyota is good about hiding fuses. Maybe a relay went. Good luck. Sorry what happened. Let us know what they find. Maybe we can get everybody on the same page with this mod to prevent someone from di*king up their truck because of a annoying light.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
  27. Jun 13, 2015 at 7:10 AM
    #27
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,489
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    Even flash the version could play into it.
     
  28. Jun 13, 2015 at 7:56 AM
    #28
    Wynnded

    Wynnded Wait, what?

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #379
    Messages:
    614
    Gender:
    Male
    Rockies
    Vehicle:
    2011 RCSB 5.7L AWD Tundra
    OEM Upgrades
    For anyone wanting to try this anyway, the zener diode part number for Radio Shack is 276-0563. It's a IN4742A 12 volt.

    BTW, apologies to the OP for my lack of attention to detail and not seeing that he did in fact credit the chap that figured this out. Either way, at least now there's a link for anyone that wishes to consult the original posting.
     
  29. Jun 13, 2015 at 8:30 AM
    #29
    matluth

    matluth Fish On!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    6,489
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles Next: true dual exhaust, new UCA's.
    This particular mod appears to be a good one. There are a couple variations out there. I was referring to TPMS mods in general. Some are not following instructions and it works. Some are following the instructions and it works. Some have got this one to work without the 50 cent Zener. There has to be a reason. It may not be entirely "figured out". When it doesn't work it's catastrophic.( If you have to take it to the dealer after modding, then it's catastrophic). The more input from successful and unsuccessful attempts the better it is for all of us. It would be good to know= What year? What flash version? Did the wiring change if at all?, anything?
     
    Wynnded likes this.
  30. Jun 13, 2015 at 8:39 AM
    #30
    Wynnded

    Wynnded Wait, what?

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #379
    Messages:
    614
    Gender:
    Male
    Rockies
    Vehicle:
    2011 RCSB 5.7L AWD Tundra
    OEM Upgrades
    Agreed, I have to feel comfortable in my own mind when considering mods akin to this. I also tend to stick to ones that are based on the same or nearly the same model year as my own vehicle. In my wanderings, I haven't read of anyone mentioning software updates to the TPMS ECU, only engine ECUs. FWTW....
     
    matluth likes this.
To Top