1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cross wired jumper cables.....and messed my truck up.

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by Twindad04, Aug 1, 2022.

1. Aug 1, 2022 at 5:16 AM
    Twindad04

Twindad04 [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Rich
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tundra, V6 TWD
    Good morning, My name is Rich and this is my first time posting on this forum, so if I break a forum rule then please forgive me. I tried to search the threads, but nothing that met my needs came up. so here I am asking for help. Anyway, this weekend I went to jump start my Tundra (2003 V6, TWD) and accidentally connected the jumper cables backwards and, (so it seems) have really screwed up my truck (I've jump started at least a hundred cars in my life and have never done such an idiotic thing before). Anyway, because the battery was completely dead I didn't get the typical arcing you get when making a wrong connection, so I didn't notice what I had done and then proceeded to crank the engine. It turned over but obviously didn't start. I then checked and realized my mistake. After connecting the the cables correctly the engine started but the dash was now completely dead. While trouble shooting, I discovered that the 100A main fuse was blown along with about three other fuses. Stupidly, I did not make a note of which fuses were blown, anyway I replaced all the blown fuses and replaced the battery. The engine will now start and idle just fine, however when I try to give it gas it will not accelerate until I have depressed the pedal about an inch or so, th