1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Check engine light

Discussion in 'General Tundra Discussion' started by ODSteve, Sep 23, 2014.

  1. Jan 5, 2015 at 8:18 PM
    #31
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    17,101
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Sport CM 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    I have had the hypertech installed since 6/12/14 without a problem. Don't think that is it. I assume that the hypertech programming cant change unless its failed. If it failed i think there would be symptoms other than a MAF trouble code.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2015
  2. Jan 6, 2015 at 11:41 AM
    #32
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    3,660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    After reading the hypertech website the firmware is rewriteable for the curves via usb connection. so firmware can get screwed up when loading it. It only takes one line or one number out of place to mess it up. I would rewrite the hypertech again to rule out a upload glitch. the way there software is done it doesnt check the checksums so the possible is there since it has got cold on you.

    Unless the hypertech has a cold solder joint somewhere. that would only show up when it cold...

    Keep us up to date on this.. running some ideas off the top of my head that might help..
     
    T-Rex266 likes this.
  3. Jan 7, 2015 at 3:49 PM
    #33
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    17,101
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Sport CM 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2015
  4. Jan 7, 2015 at 4:26 PM
    #34
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    3,660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Is the cel coming on when the scangauge reports the fault?
     
  5. Jan 7, 2015 at 4:47 PM
    #35
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    17,101
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Sport CM 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    No not the last two times
     
  6. Jan 7, 2015 at 5:03 PM
    #36
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    3,660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Ok the ecm is stored the code its not a problem to the ecm yet why no cel.... To me looks like you have some sort of drop out either in the maf or in the hypertech..

    Scangauge is not fast enough to catch the drop out only a lab scope can get the drop out.

    I would try to disconnect the hypertech( if you can) and see if the code hits up again.. rule out the hyper tech in or out of the problem..
     
  7. Jan 7, 2015 at 8:20 PM
    #37
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    17,101
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Sport CM 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Hypertech :(
    Removed and drove 75-80 and no code. Crap.
     
  8. Jan 7, 2015 at 8:31 PM
    #38
    T-Rex266

    T-Rex266 Independentoffroad who? That's cute. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    54,897
    Gender:
    Male
    Bummer...have you googled this to see if there's a simple solution such as a firmware update?
     
  9. Jan 7, 2015 at 9:28 PM
    #39
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    17,101
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Sport CM 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
  10. Jan 7, 2015 at 9:29 PM
    #40
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    17,101
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Sport CM 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Haven't been home yet to try.

    Thank you everyone for helping troubleshoot. I'll have to do some research and prob call Hypertech tomorrow as well.
     
  11. Jan 8, 2015 at 11:55 AM
    #41
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck Dumbest Username

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    3,563
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Damn...
     
  12. Jan 8, 2015 at 8:42 PM
    #42
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    3,660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Hypertech might have a work around no hope is lost... looks like we found the problem..
     

Products Discussed in

To Top