1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Check engine light

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014+)' started by Medic, Apr 4, 2016.

  1. Apr 4, 2016 at 10:05 PM
    #1
    Medic

    Medic [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Member:
    #524
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Alpine TRD
    Just had a check engine light come on in my 2016 Tundra. Have tried disconnecting the battery to do a reset with no change. Going to call the dealership tomorrow and book an appointment. Question is should I disconnect my Hypertech before taking the truck to the dealership?
     
  2. Apr 4, 2016 at 10:06 PM
    #2
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,827
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    What's the code read? Can you get it scanned first?
     
  3. Apr 4, 2016 at 10:10 PM
    #3
    Medic

    Medic [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Member:
    #524
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Alpine TRD
    I don't have a code reader. Not sure if anyone close has one either.
     
  4. Apr 4, 2016 at 10:13 PM
    #4
    Medic

    Medic [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Member:
    #524
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Alpine TRD
    Truck through a check engine light when I installed the hypertech but I was able to clear it but disconnecting the battery. Haven't had any problems for approx 2000 kms.
     
  5. Apr 5, 2016 at 8:31 AM
    #5
    bobeast

    bobeast really old member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Member:
    #960
    Messages:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Hollister, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC
    - Bull Bar, - HID Bunny Burners - AMP retractable running boards, - Headlight leveling retrofit - P1 Brake Controller - 60% rear seat delete - relocation of Sub to rear wall. - 3/1 leveling kit - Firestone Air bags - on-board compressor with auto-leveling, - Dual Undercover Swing Boxes. - P285/65/R20 (34.6") BFG TA KO2's - TRD Front skid plate - Pop & Lock Tailgate lock (soon) - Remote Tailgate mod (soon) - LED Headlights (soon) - Nav Bypass - iPhone integration - Serius/XM retrofit
    I would suggest disconnecting the Hypertech if for no other reason than to deny the stealership an excuse to blame you.
     
  6. Apr 5, 2016 at 8:47 AM
    #6
    Medic

    Medic [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Member:
    #524
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Alpine TRD
    After my night shift, the engine light is out. Stopped by a local garage and the only code we could find is a permanent mass air flow problem. I am assuming it is from the install of the hypertech. Anyone know if you can delete permanent codes?
     
  7. Apr 5, 2016 at 8:49 AM
    #7
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,827
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    @csuviper didn't u have a similar CEL with the HT?
     
  8. Apr 5, 2016 at 10:38 AM
    #8
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,788
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
To Top