1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Brake Controller Installation

Discussion in 'Towing & Hauling' started by hikerdonovan, Apr 7, 2017.

  1. Apr 7, 2017 at 4:32 AM
    #1
    hikerdonovan

    hikerdonovan [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Member:
    #7120
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2015
    P3 Brake Controller
    I just finished installing a brake controller on my 2015 1794. It was simple, but since the instructions were not specific to any vehicle, this post might be helpful if you are about to install a controller.

    I bought a Tekonsha P3 and I also bought a wiring harness from etrailer. They shipped both to me via 2 day UPS for just 8.29 so all in I paid 152.43.

    I don't especially care for the shiny cheap screws. It would be sharper if it came with black panhead screws so it blended in better. But I leave tomorrow with a trailer and am glad I was able to get it up and running.


    IMG_4751.jpg
    This part of the dash just pops out and it's a whole lot easier than unbolting the whole dash.


    IMG_4753.jpg

    I decided this was the most practical place to put the controller.


    IMG_4754.jpg

    The most challenging part was figuring out how to tighten this screw.

    IMG_4755.jpg
    All Done! Took about an hour.
     
  2. Apr 7, 2017 at 11:49 AM
    #2
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    4,972
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    [YODAGAN]
    2015 Inferno Ex-Pro
  3. Apr 7, 2017 at 12:48 PM
    #3
    FirstGenTundra

    FirstGenTundra R2R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Member:
    #2715
    Messages:
    764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2014 Toyota Tundra TRD
    Just bought this same setup. ESP component should be here tomorrow.
     
  4. Apr 14, 2017 at 10:16 PM
    #4
    TundraDan723

    TundraDan723 Toyota Fan!

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Member:
    #6838
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 Blue Tundra TRD 4X4 DC 5.7L
    Airbags, leveling kit, Line-X bed liner, under seat storage
    Would love to see pictures of the ESP after install!
     
  5. Apr 15, 2017 at 2:40 AM
    #5
    FirstGenTundra

    FirstGenTundra R2R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Member:
    #2715
    Messages:
    764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2014 Toyota Tundra TRD
    Check Tundra's live, I have an installed picture there. Might have to jump back a few pages.
     
  6. Apr 15, 2017 at 7:51 AM
    #6
    johnxmccoy

    johnxmccoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Member:
    #2535
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Grove City, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2019 Crew Max
    So I pulled my TT for the first time with my 17 CM. I have my P3 left over from my 13 CM.
    Should I be able to just plug and play and instead of a mounting am.i able to lay it on my console and remove when not in use?
    Thanks.
     
  7. Apr 15, 2017 at 11:47 AM
    #7
    FirstGenTundra

    FirstGenTundra R2R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Member:
    #2715
    Messages:
    764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2014 Toyota Tundra TRD
    I'm not one 100% sure what your asking here but the P3 can be disconnected and removed at the controller if you just screw the mount into the lower dash. I do know that the P3 controller needs to be mounted in the direction of travel as it has an internal inertia sensor. Hope this helps.
     
  8. Apr 15, 2017 at 2:23 PM
    #8
    johnxmccoy

    johnxmccoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Member:
    #2535
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Grove City, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2019 Crew Max
    I did not want to secure it to the truck. I want to disconnect the factory controller, plug in mine and when not towing unplug and take out. Then when using the P3 just lay it flat on the middle of the dash. Also, will it plug right in where the factory controller connects? I hope this makes more sense.
    Thanks.
     
  9. Apr 16, 2017 at 4:46 AM
    #9
    hikerdonovan

    hikerdonovan [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Member:
    #7120
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2015
    P3 Brake Controller
  10. Apr 16, 2017 at 4:55 AM
    #10
    johnxmccoy

    johnxmccoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Member:
    #2535
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Grove City, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2019 Crew Max
    Thanks.
    It looks like I could lay it on my dash as long as it stays still and flat.
    Now, will it plug right up where the factory controller connects using the same plug from a 13?
     
  11. Apr 16, 2017 at 5:39 AM
    #11
    hikerdonovan

    hikerdonovan [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Member:
    #7120
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2015
    P3 Brake Controller
    I think it must be mounted because when you hit the brakes the internal sensor adjusts the trailer brakes accordingly. If you had to stop hard and the controller where to slide forward, you may end up without brakes on the trailer, or perhaps they could be applied with too much force. It has the potential if your load where heavy enough and you were in a turn to get you in real trouble.

    If you have ever had the helpless feeling of nearly rolling over or sliding on ice, you know what it will feel like if the brake controller is not operating properly. I wouldn't redneck this thing but instead would make sure it is setup exactly the way it is supposed to be.

    The P3 is billed as being perfect for your situation in that you can program it for multiple vehicles. You just need a mount and wiring harness for each vehicle.

    Sorry, I can't speak to the compatibility with your existing harness. I would call or go online to etrailer and find out if the same harness they sell works on both the 13 and the 17. If it requires 2 different harnesses then you know it won't work...just my guess though so take that with a grain of salt.

    Surely the aftermarket brake controller and the Toyota plug utilize the same plug...
     
  12. Apr 16, 2017 at 7:44 AM
    #12
    johnxmccoy

    johnxmccoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Member:
    #2535
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Grove City, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2019 Crew Max
    Thanks for the detailed information. I did check online and the wiring harness isn't compatible.
    I will try working with my factory controller a little more.
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  13. Apr 16, 2017 at 7:56 AM
    #13
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    4,972
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    [YODAGAN]
    2015 Inferno Ex-Pro
  14. Apr 16, 2017 at 8:40 PM
    #14
    FirstGenTundra

    FirstGenTundra R2R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Member:
    #2715
    Messages:
    764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2014 Toyota Tundra TRD
    The controller works good, tow a 30' 9200lb trailer for my church and I don't get pushed to hard when stopping. I'm still fine tuning the settings.
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  15. Apr 18, 2017 at 2:04 PM
    #15
    boardude

    boardude I am Batman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1353
    Messages:
    4,972
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kris
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    [YODAGAN]
    2015 Inferno Ex-Pro
    Boom
    52a00864408d2093edd85e149a659433_9796dff4d6009586e19f65ec0e2d031d8e053f4c.jpg
     
  16. May 14, 2017 at 2:12 AM
    #16
    Gman

    Gman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Member:
    #7394
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Toyota tundra crewmax
    What keeps it in place and not fall out could you show a picture of the back.
     
  17. May 14, 2017 at 6:43 PM
    #17
    FirstGenTundra

    FirstGenTundra R2R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Member:
    #2715
    Messages:
    764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2014 Toyota Tundra TRD
    It's a very tight fit and the mounting screws on the controller keep it secure. It's a permanent mount.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top