1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Alignment on the Pro need skid plate removal?

Discussion in '3rd Gen TRD Pro (2014-2021)' started by Stuffs, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. Nov 15, 2017 at 9:53 AM
    #1
    Stuffs

    Stuffs [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Member:
    #10069
    Messages:
    69
    Gender:
    Male
    Does anyone know if you have to remove the TRD skid plate to do an alignment? Thanks
     
  2. Nov 15, 2017 at 10:21 AM
    #2
    Eclipsed & Floating

    Eclipsed & Floating Over it.........

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Member:
    #6454
    Messages:
    12,543
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m right where I need to be
    Vehicle:
    Voluptuous Whitey
    Shouldn't have to, but I guess it might depend on which skid plate you have...maybe
     
  3. Nov 15, 2017 at 10:36 AM
    #3
    Stuffs

    Stuffs [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Member:
    #10069
    Messages:
    69
    Gender:
    Male
    I notice both TRD Pro and the TRD Off Road (stamped steel) blocks the front alignment cam a little bit, enough where you can't fit fit a socket or airgun to it. But not sure if thats needed for an alignment or if they use like a long box end of some sort.
     
    Eclipsed & Floating likes this.
  4. Nov 15, 2017 at 10:39 AM
    #4
    Eclipsed & Floating

    Eclipsed & Floating Over it.........

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Member:
    #6454
    Messages:
    12,543
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m right where I need to be
    Vehicle:
    Voluptuous Whitey
    Couldn't tell ya, but mine weren't removed during my alignments. That's why I mentioned "it depends"
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  5. Nov 15, 2017 at 10:44 AM
    #5
    Stuffs

    Stuffs [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Member:
    #10069
    Messages:
    69
    Gender:
    Male
    What kind of skid plate do you have?
     
  6. Nov 15, 2017 at 10:57 AM
    #6
    Eclipsed & Floating

    Eclipsed & Floating Over it.........

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Member:
    #6454
    Messages:
    12,543
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m right where I need to be
    Vehicle:
    Voluptuous Whitey
    RCI
     
    TheBeast likes this.
  7. Nov 15, 2017 at 11:08 AM
    #7
    gosolo

    gosolo “The .com stands for communist”, Dale Gribble

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Member:
    #2064
    Messages:
    4,705
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    NW Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC Super Fine Super White Pro
    2"CB shackles, bushings and 1 shim, lockerdown console vault, rear folding seat back mod, snugtop shell with opening side windows, 46g fuel tank, SDHQ sliders and hidden winch, Decked Drawers, Alcan leaf springs and got rid of the interior chrome
    I had an alignment on mine and there was no problem with the skid plate staying on the pro.
     
    NewImprovedRon and Stuffs [OP] like this.
  8. Nov 15, 2017 at 11:21 AM
    #8
    Stuffs

    Stuffs [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Member:
    #10069
    Messages:
    69
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks, thats definitely good info since I can't seem to find anything on that on the web.

    The rear two lock nuts on the TRD Pro plates are "non-reuseable" according to Toyota (costs $85 for the hardware kit) so having to remove the plate for an alignment is just unnecessarily expensive.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top